Posting your rating...
El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum is crafted from 15 to 25 year old rums that are then blended and married together in bourbon oak casks. Prior to blending the original batches are distilled using 4 unique stills - the Enmore and Diamond Coffey stills, the Port Mourant double wooden pot still, and the Versailles single wooden pot still.

The bottle of El Dorado Special Reserve 15-year was inspired by the the old hand-blown flasks used by sugar planters on the banks of the Demerara river.

Rate El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


723 El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Rangwath from Czech Republic with 15 ratings

I prefer sweeter rums, but this is a nice change. It's sharp a little and quite tasty.

Posted over 5 years ago by Peter from Hungary with 91 ratings

The El Dorado family is one of my favourites,after sipping a bottle of a 12yrs old,my wife made me a present.Well,the bottle didn't last long. Very sweet but keeps you warming for minutes. I never experienced this warmth. Nowadays,after trying a lot of rums,i tend to the Guatamala-Peru style of rums,but Guyana is El Dorado to me. A great Demerara rum,you need to try it

Posted over 7 years ago by Michael from United States with 18 ratings

This is what I serve first to friends who haven't experienced 'good rum.' It sets a high bar and rarely fails to please. Many will find it slightly on the sweet side, but not as much as, say Diplomatico. The flavor is highly complex and alluring.

From a value point of view, at about $40 USD/bottle, I don't think you can do better. Focusing on the El Dorado line, the slightly less expensive 12 year bottle isn't as good as the even-less expensive 8year, so it's skippable. The more expensive 21-year bottle is noticeably smoother but questionably more enjoyable to drink. My cabinet always includes a bottle of ED8 for 'everyday' rum, 15 for entertaining, and EHP for special occasions.

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Was looking forward to tasting this for some time and was not disappointed. El Dorado 15 starts with a sweet and fruity taste that is followed by a karate chop of funky oak and cognac flavor. I'm not a huge fan of cognac but the change in flavor direction makes me like ED15. A small piece of ice or splash of water makes this rum very enjoyable. Being that I prefer drinking my rum neat, the fact that I have to add water to improve the flavor drops the rating to an 8. At $40 USD (01/2016) per bottle, I will put ED15 on the repeat list.

Posted over 6 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

I can instantly smell brown sugar, dark fruit (prunes and dates), vanilla, a little spice and what can only be described as liquorice. To taste, the liquorice shows itself along with a dark treacle which provides a little bitterness. Dark fruit is present and I can taste the dates and prunes which add a chewy toffee flavour and feel. I can taste a slight orange flavour and then the liquorice returns to round out quite a dry finish. The finish is not too long but does leave your mouth with an almost leathery and tobacco warmth. Winner

Posted over 3 years ago by Joe Doaks from United States with 3 ratings

Ok, this is very good rum, I just prefer the 12-year, which, I am given to believe, is not just a younger version of this, but a different rum. The 15-year offers hints of raisins and dark fruit flavors that (I think) indicate a sherry cask somewhere in its history. Many folks prefer this and good for them, but I find the underlying wine-y flavors less preferable than the more oak-y 12-year version.

Posted over 4 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

El Dorado 15 comes in a classical bottle and the rum is delivered in a simple paper carton (picture).

When you smell the El Dorado 15 you find a very sweet and mild aroma. No sticky alcohol, just sweet aromas of orange, plums and a touch of vanilla. You also get a little bit of smoke and barrel.

I the mouth the El Dorado 15 is surprisingly spicy with sweet fruit and a little hint of vanilla. You also get a little bit of smoke and barrel, but just a little bit. This rum is very well balanced. El Dorado 15 has quite high alcoholic content (43%) but you don´t sense that at all.

This rum has to rest a few minutes before you drink it. A lot of flavors shows up after 15 minutes or so. A nice formula is to always let the rum rest for as many year old it is. 15 years old rum have to rest for 15 minutes in the glass.

The aftertaste is long, peppery (in a good way) and sweet.

This rum is a very nice and highly recommended sipper.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 382 ratings

Lovely and warm feeling when I drink this... Incredible balance and taste... On the rocks is the only way to drink this smooth delightful rum

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris from Canada with 21 ratings

i like this as both a mixer and a sipper. Versatility makes it a must stock for me.

Posted over 3 years ago by SP3000 from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

This is a decent Rum and I can see how many will like this. It is sweet but still has some character and spice. All in all well rounded. However it doesn't blow me away. It does exactly what a Rum in this price class should do and I think this is why it has become such a stable for many. My personal taste is towards Rums that are less sweet but all in all a recommended Rum.

Edit: My tastebuds seem to transform each day. I've warmed up to this a lot more and now give it an 8 instead of a 7. Despite the rum being on the sweet side, I don't find its sweetness overwhelming, it's a rich and complex tasting Rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Marcel from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Opened the bottle today and I am very impressed. Just the nose is already great. No alcoholic smell at all. When tasting, it starts with the sweetness of rum without the feeling that sugars have been added. This followed by a hint of oak and cognac - finished by the good warm feeling delivered by the alcohol. Love it!

Posted over 3 years ago by Joe Scarrott from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Got this as a Christmas present and was not disappointed! Delicious rum straight up, looking forward to trying it in an old fashioned.

Posted over 3 years ago by Carlos from Canada with 36 ratings

This is a great rum. Dark and fruity. Smooth. Full of flavours. Great aromas. A delicious sipping rum. The best in this price range. A few cubes if ice and feel the warmth flow through you. One of my favorites

Posted over 4 years ago by Mike from United States with 10 ratings

...at least in my opinion. I gave the 12 year a 9 out of 10 only because I had not tried the 15 year special reserve yet and man I was right. This one gets the full 10 out of 10 in my book. This rum is more mellow than the 12 year. A little less sweet however the flavors in this rum is more pronounced. You can really taste the hints of vanilla, almonds, oaky and fruits. This rum will coat your tongue like silk and does not give you any burn. Simply amazing to drink neat, on the rocks, simple coke an rum or other mixed drinks.

However I will say. This is a really fine rum. I would rather use the El Dorado 8 year or maybe 12 year for mixing. Leave this one for special settings and drinking neat or on the rocks.

Posted over 5 years ago by Ludo Marley from Netherlands with 41 ratings

El Dorado 15 Year is een wereldwijd geliefde rum die bekend staat om zijn volle en rijke palet die barst van de tropische smaken en kruidige tonen, zowel op de neus als op het palet. Beschreven als een aantrekkelijke, rijke koper tint. Een complexe neus van banketbakker suiker, bananen en cederhout. Een zijdezachte binnenkomst leidt tot een matig full-bodied gehemelte van levendige, maar toch verfijnd droge caramel en gedroogde tropische fruitsmaken geschoord door warme alcohol en eiken kruiden. Dit premium product is een mix van speciaal geselecteerde oude rum. Sommigen zijn zelfs 25 jaar oud en zijn gerijpt in eiken vaten.

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 43 %
Původ: Guyana
Aroma: Vůně je vyzrálá, hutná, uhlazeně dubová, se skořicí, dřevitou kořenitostí, pomerančovou marmeládou, k tomu se přidávají i čokoládové pralinky a chvilkami i mentolové aroma (mentolové čokoládové bonbóny). (88 b)
Chuť: Chuťově velmi bohatá a přišla mi i dost proměnlivá, při každém napití jako bych výrazněji vnímal vždy jinou složku. Při prvním ochutnání mi přišlo, že je dost ostrá, podruhé uhlazeně dřevitá, potřetí kořenitá, pak pro změnu čokoládová. Chutí mi připomínala dokonce i nasládle čokoládovější whisky, v dochuti pak zase brandy. Dá se v ní stále něco nového objevovat. (92 b)
Shrnutí: Tak na patnáctiletou verzi jsem se po ochutnání 12y velmi těšil, a zanechala ve mně velmi dobrý dojem, moc dobrý rum, který svou barvitostí ani chvilku nenudí. Moc jsem si pochutnal.
Body: 90

Posted over 7 years ago by Remy Chevalier from United States with 34 ratings

As promised, Rum Ratings send me a nip of this rum in the mail for joining the site and writing reviews. It's not bad, although I suspect it's probably harder to tell drinking it from a miniature bottle. It's smooth, good taste, but to be honest it's not going to take me away from my favorites. I'd like to try other vintage from El Dorado, as they strike me as the genuine article. Hope I don't get lynched here...

Posted almost 3 years ago by Kyle from United States with 18 ratings

This rum when you get a good bottle is fantastic. It honestly deserves a 9. However, I've purchased 4 to 5 bottles of it and you can tell a difference in taste from bottle to bottle. This is obvious with it being aged 15 years that there will be some differences, but some of the bottles almost have a chemical taste to them. Not sure what does this, if it is in their aging process or what. If you take the gamble and get a good bottle you will no doubt enjoy it. One of the finest rums at it's price point.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Nicht ganz der Weltbeste, aber nah dran.
Herrlich samtig weicher Körper, nicht so süss wie der 12 Y.
Alle Rumaromen schön ausgewogen, ein wahrer Genuss
zu jeder Zeit an jedem Ort.
Jede weitere Beschreibung überflüssig, trinken !

Not quite the world's best, but close.
Wonderful velvety soft body, not as sweet as the 12 Y.
All rum flavors nicely balanced, a real treat
at any time in any place.
Any further description unnecessary, drink it !

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

This is a way over priced rum, whiskey, rum, whiskey...let's just call it a rum that wants to be a whiskey but also has sugar added to try to make it taste more like rum than whiskey.

This is a busy little spirit with a variety of heavy fruit flavors which leads me to my next point: It goes well with a frozen drink or with Coke but its not a sipper. And, $50 a bottle for a mixer is just pain silly!

Yes, I'm biased in my review. I just don't think El Dorado makes a real premium rum and the added sugar to an agricole is shameful. Still, this is a good mixer that would be more appropriately priced in the low $30 range (NY prices).

Posted about 5 years ago by Fred from France with 13 ratings

Voici un rhum d'une très grande qualité, qui m'a vraiment enthousiasmé! Le nez promet des arômes que la bouche confirme: une délicieuse douceur vanillée, des notes de noix, de dates et de fruits secs. La longueur en bouche est très bonne, laissant au palais tout le temps d'apprécier la complexité des arômes délivrés. C'est vraiment l'exemple-type de rhum vieux parfaitement équilibré et balancé! Une réussite totale!

Posted over 5 years ago by TomL219 from United States with 4 ratings

Nice rum to have straight up. Nice balanced flavors

Posted over 5 years ago by Braeckman from Belgium with 10 ratings

dans la lignée du 12 mais plus sur l alcool.(évidemment ) les mêmes arômes . Un grand plaisir à goûter .toujours cette sensation de douceur, d épices . Facile à boire .

Posted over 5 years ago by Justin Paquette from United States with 3 ratings

I am relatively new to higher quality rums but this one blew all my other forays out of the water. I would attempt to describe it but my palate is still somewhat lacking.

Posted over 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

It has the distictive ED fingerprint with molasse sweetness, citrus undertones, leathery tobacco notes and robust body. It's very smooth but distinguises it self from the ED 12 and 21 with a long charred oak, almost whiskey like afterburn. Very interesting rum.