Posting your rating...
El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum is crafted from 15 to 25 year old rums that are then blended and married together in bourbon oak casks. Prior to blending the original batches are distilled using 4 unique stills - the Enmore and Diamond Coffey stills, the Port Mourant double wooden pot still, and the Versailles single wooden pot still.

The bottle of El Dorado Special Reserve 15-year was inspired by the the old hand-blown flasks used by sugar planters on the banks of the Demerara river.

8.1/10 (759 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
14
35
121
305
219
61

Rate El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


759 El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

This is a way over priced rum, whiskey, rum, whiskey...let's just call it a rum that wants to be a whiskey but also has sugar added to try to make it taste more like rum than whiskey.

This is a busy little spirit with a variety of heavy fruit flavors which leads me to my next point: It goes well with a frozen drink or with Coke but its not a sipper. And, $50 a bottle for a mixer is just pain silly!

Yes, I'm biased in my review. I just don't think El Dorado makes a real premium rum and the added sugar to an agricole is shameful. Still, this is a good mixer that would be more appropriately priced in the low $30 range (NY prices).

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Peter from Hungary with 91 ratings

The El Dorado family is one of my favourites,after sipping a bottle of a 12yrs old,my wife made me a present.Well,the bottle didn't last long. Very sweet but keeps you warming for minutes. I never experienced this warmth. Nowadays,after trying a lot of rums,i tend to the Guatamala-Peru style of rums,but Guyana is El Dorado to me. A great Demerara rum,you need to try it

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Michael from United States with 18 ratings

This is what I serve first to friends who haven't experienced 'good rum.' It sets a high bar and rarely fails to please. Many will find it slightly on the sweet side, but not as much as, say Diplomatico. The flavor is highly complex and alluring.

From a value point of view, at about $40 USD/bottle, I don't think you can do better. Focusing on the El Dorado line, the slightly less expensive 12 year bottle isn't as good as the even-less expensive 8year, so it's skippable. The more expensive 21-year bottle is noticeably smoother but questionably more enjoyable to drink. My cabinet always includes a bottle of ED8 for 'everyday' rum, 15 for entertaining, and EHP for special occasions.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Was looking forward to tasting this for some time and was not disappointed. El Dorado 15 starts with a sweet and fruity taste that is followed by a karate chop of funky oak and cognac flavor. I'm not a huge fan of cognac but the change in flavor direction makes me like ED15. A small piece of ice or splash of water makes this rum very enjoyable. Being that I prefer drinking my rum neat, the fact that I have to add water to improve the flavor drops the rating to an 8. At $40 USD (01/2016) per bottle, I will put ED15 on the repeat list.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

El Dorado 15 comes in a classical bottle and the rum is delivered in a simple paper carton (picture).

When you smell the El Dorado 15 you find a very sweet and mild aroma. No sticky alcohol, just sweet aromas of orange, plums and a touch of vanilla. You also get a little bit of smoke and barrel.

I the mouth the El Dorado 15 is surprisingly spicy with sweet fruit and a little hint of vanilla. You also get a little bit of smoke and barrel, but just a little bit. This rum is very well balanced. El Dorado 15 has quite high alcoholic content (43%) but you don´t sense that at all.

This rum has to rest a few minutes before you drink it. A lot of flavors shows up after 15 minutes or so. A nice formula is to always let the rum rest for as many year old it is. 15 years old rum have to rest for 15 minutes in the glass.

The aftertaste is long, peppery (in a good way) and sweet.

This rum is a very nice and highly recommended sipper.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

I can instantly smell brown sugar, dark fruit (prunes and dates), vanilla, a little spice and what can only be described as liquorice. To taste, the liquorice shows itself along with a dark treacle which provides a little bitterness. Dark fruit is present and I can taste the dates and prunes which add a chewy toffee flavour and feel. I can taste a slight orange flavour and then the liquorice returns to round out quite a dry finish. The finish is not too long but does leave your mouth with an almost leathery and tobacco warmth. Winner

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Joe Doaks from United States with 3 ratings

Ok, this is very good rum, I just prefer the 12-year, which, I am given to believe, is not just a younger version of this, but a different rum. The 15-year offers hints of raisins and dark fruit flavors that (I think) indicate a sherry cask somewhere in its history. Many folks prefer this and good for them, but I find the underlying wine-y flavors less preferable than the more oak-y 12-year version.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 427 ratings

Lovely and warm feeling when I drink this... Incredible balance and taste... On the rocks is the only way to drink this smooth delightful rum

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Chris from Canada with 21 ratings

i like this as both a mixer and a sipper. Versatility makes it a must stock for me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alkohol: 43 %
Původ: Guyana
Aroma: Vůně je vyzrálá, hutná, uhlazeně dubová, se skořicí, dřevitou kořenitostí, pomerančovou marmeládou, k tomu se přidávají i čokoládové pralinky a chvilkami i mentolové aroma (mentolové čokoládové bonbóny). (88 b)
Chuť: Chuťově velmi bohatá a přišla mi i dost proměnlivá, při každém napití jako bych výrazněji vnímal vždy jinou složku. Při prvním ochutnání mi přišlo, že je dost ostrá, podruhé uhlazeně dřevitá, potřetí kořenitá, pak pro změnu čokoládová. Chutí mi připomínala dokonce i nasládle čokoládovější whisky, v dochuti pak zase brandy. Dá se v ní stále něco nového objevovat. (92 b)
Shrnutí: Tak na patnáctiletou verzi jsem se po ochutnání 12y velmi těšil, a zanechala ve mně velmi dobrý dojem, moc dobrý rum, který svou barvitostí ani chvilku nenudí. Moc jsem si pochutnal.
Body: 90

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by SP3000 from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

This is a decent Rum and I can see how many will like this. It is sweet but still has some character and spice. All in all well rounded. However it doesn't blow me away. It does exactly what a Rum in this price class should do and I think this is why it has become such a stable for many. My personal taste is towards Rums that are less sweet but all in all a recommended Rum.

Edit: My tastebuds seem to transform each day. I've warmed up to this a lot more and now give it an 8 instead of a 7. Despite the rum being on the sweet side, I don't find its sweetness overwhelming, it's a rich and complex tasting Rum.