Posting your rating...
El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum is crafted from 15 to 25 year old rums that are then blended and married together in bourbon oak casks. Prior to blending the original batches are distilled using 4 unique stills - the Enmore and Diamond Coffey stills, the Port Mourant double wooden pot still, and the Versailles single wooden pot still.

The bottle of El Dorado Special Reserve 15-year was inspired by the the old hand-blown flasks used by sugar planters on the banks of the Demerara river.

8.0/10
810 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
1
16
39
126
334
228
62

Rate El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

810 El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Shipmonster from French Polynesia with 13 ratings

It's great for the price. I find that letting this breath in the glass will help increase flavor notes and lower alcohol-y smell. It's not a pour and sip.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Jonas Nielsen from Denmark with 8 ratings

God rom, men er mere til El Dorado 12-Years

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Hrpalle from Denmark with 19 ratings

Denne rom ligger langt fra det man for i deres 12 års. Det er slet ikke til at sammenligne og der er meget få ligheder.

Jeg er vild med deres 12 års og den er fast inventar på min hylde.
Denne rom fører dog noget mere og andet med sig. Den har flere nuancer og der er mere bid i den. Knap så sød, men rigtig spændende at sidde og undersøge. Den er helt klart et besøg værd. Men forvent noget helt andet end deres 12 års.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Bigdaddy from Denmark with 6 ratings

Denne er El Dorados mest vindende rom, syntes den virker mere sød som 12eren og mere afrundet. Er blevet en af favoritterne.

Vanilje, lakrids, tobak, farin

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by jørgen from Denmark with 26 ratings

Efter 12 måtte man jo prøve 15. Igen ikke den helt store oplevelse for mig men den har en god dybde og er heller ikke i den rigtig søde ende.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Captain Luke from United States with 4 ratings

Richer in taste than the already quite good 12 years old El Dorado, the pricier 15 years old is in a class of its own as the sipping rum of choice. This rum has recently become my reference! Although there is a vast number of rums that I don't know ...yet!

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by DonRon from Germany with 14 ratings

The El Dorado 15y is a decent sipping rum, It's well balanced, not to sweet nor to dry. If you are looking for a nice and fair priced demerara rum you'll be very happy with this one. But if you're looking for a "special" rum giving the extra "kick" you'll need to take ED 21y or 25y. Don't get me wrong: I'd take a sip of ED 15y no questions asked, but there are more thrilling competitors on the market -even- at similar prices.

Anyway: Thx RumRatings for my mini Eldorado 15y bottle! :)

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Karolis from Lithuania with 1 rating

Sweet, full of taste, dark amber colour, weak in smell

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

This is the best Demerara rum I have tasted to date. Very rich yet not sickly full of flavour and a rare rum which I can actually sip.

Great stuff

http://thefatrumpirate.wordpress.com/

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Perfect for drinking on the rocks. Strong start with a full flavorful middle. Not too much linger, so it keeps you wanting more. A bit of a one-note, but well-balanced. So glad I got to try a glass.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by forrest loftis from United States with 13 ratings

My favorite store ordered this for me. I was in Guyana years ago and had the pleasure of tasting all their rums at that time, the 1960's. Some very good, some so so. This 15 year has a sharp after burn when swallowed. Since I only enjoy sipping rums, the burn was surprising. In it's defense, it is delicious cut with two fingers of water and lime twist. But why pay the 50.00 price and not enjoy it straight up. Give it 7.