Posting your rating...
El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum is crafted from 15 to 25 year old rums that are then blended and married together in bourbon oak casks. Prior to blending the original batches are distilled using 4 unique stills - the Enmore and Diamond Coffey stills, the Port Mourant double wooden pot still, and the Versailles single wooden pot still.

The bottle of El Dorado Special Reserve 15-year was inspired by the the old hand-blown flasks used by sugar planters on the banks of the Demerara river.

8.1/10 (734 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
14
33
121
293
212
58

Rate El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


734 El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2606 ratings

El Dorado 15 year has a good flavor profile but quite a strong after burn. The most surprising fact to me was the fact that 12 year is smoother than this 15 year old rum. Best memory is from the Demerara Distilleries between Georgetown and Cheddi Jagan Airport in Guyana when I visited their rum distillery and enjoyed their entire line up in its own surroundings.

1c011d23121421afa44f8511d60c527c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Jeff Grant from United States with 8 ratings

Had this as part if a flight including Appleton 12 year and Pyrat XO reserve 15 and found this to be the sweetest of the three, least influenced by oak. The description provided said "Dark coffee,candied orange,dark chocolate and vanilla"...all of which did a nice job of explaining what I was trying to distinguish when I smelled the drink. This was Bevens favorite of the three.

1f4570219d6d2d5eabff5d38f40d627b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Viktor from United States with 16 ratings

What a beautiful rum! This one has a sweet almost fruity aroma when you pour it. The tasting is full of different experiences for your mouth. It starts sweet then blends into vanilla and Carmel, finally finishing with oak and wine taste. The 15 year is the smooth that the 12 year doesn't have, and it has the depth that is missing from its younger brother as well. A must try even though it is a bit pricy.

Fbbc57a27103a94891671677e409f635.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Ari from Barbados with 15 ratings

This rum offers the full experience; excellent aroma, smooth rich taste, great mixer & sipper. Personally this is the first rum i've come across that I can sip, comfortably, on the rocks. Truly great, my rum of choice, and go to gift.

B3a6954aed916d090b6ecd4ca6896b3d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Tony from Sweden with 14 ratings

The colour is medium depth of gold. In nose it is nose packed with dark coffee, candied orange, almonds, dark chocolate, pepper and rich vanilla.
On the palate it has a beautifully rounded with a great spread of flavours across the mouth. Flavours of smoke and oaky spice, of course a consequence of 15 years aging process, as well as rich fruit develop slowly over time. The finish is long and smooth.

5c26b984c205edfefc831cd90c78a140.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Toast from United States with 39 ratings

Was able to grab this when the state shipped two bottles to the local wine and spirits shop as a special order and the guy who ordered it only wanted one. I think it's one of the last bottles in PA. Anyway, pours a deep mahogany color. A little alcohol on the nose but I also pick up dark fruit. At first taste I get a candied orange flavor along with some pepper and cinnamon. After a while that fades a bit and that dark fruit returns along with tobacco. Nice depth of flavor on this one. I expected it to be a bit sweeter based on many of the tasting notes I read but very nice nonetheless. Slight warming of the throats upon finish without the harsh burn. This bottle won't last long.

9ca31864c6507eca60f5ba21b074e8a8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Jacob Darrah from United States with 16 ratings

This is another one i would reserve to be drank by itself

4a97423d8d3615b5e7c024dac4cb341e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by NutterSipper from United States with 20 ratings

I love the el Dorado 12 year. The 15 year on the other hand seems like it was over done. Instead of rum to me it tastes closer to a cognac and if that is what you are expecting it would be a great cognac, but my expectation with rum is rum.

Ecc84b831f4ac023a8d85b586f667d59.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Visna from Slovakia with 6 ratings

Chuť, vôňa, dojem všetko za 9.
Doposiaľ najlepší rum čo som pil. Jeho chuť je presne pre mňa, trochu výraznejšia a drevitejsia ako el Dorado 12. Za mňa lepší rum. Ako Zacapa 23.

3b870433b83d9374c1f69dc3482bc08b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tim from United States with 7 ratings

Nose is sweet and licorice with cherry and molasses.
Lots of fruit and sweet on the tongue with cherry, vanilla, citrus, licorice and brown sugar.
Finishes smooth sweet then with a slight touch of dry.
This smells and tastes like a rum old fashioned.
I like this so much that I want to give this an 8, but it is a bit too sweet and lacks the depth of a 15 year old. Still a very good sipper.

5ee808222d5e82f74944814fc7ba2b35.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

This is the first rum that really got me started to look at rums more for sipping than as something used for mixing cocktails. And even though I've tasted many great rums over the years, this is the one that I always come back to when I'm wanting to taste something truly great. It's starts off sweet but soon adds a much more complex flavor profile as it lingers. Yeah, I know that there's some extra sugar added but I don't care as much about in this case. Plus, like almost all of the other El Dorado rums it's very affordable for what you're getting. It's truly special!