Posting your rating...
El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum is crafted from 15 to 25 year old rums that are then blended and married together in bourbon oak casks. Prior to blending the original batches are distilled using 4 unique stills - the Enmore and Diamond Coffey stills, the Port Mourant double wooden pot still, and the Versailles single wooden pot still.

The bottle of El Dorado Special Reserve 15-year was inspired by the the old hand-blown flasks used by sugar planters on the banks of the Demerara river.

8.0/10(806 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
16
39
125
331
228
63

Rate El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

806 El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Shipmonster from French Polynesia with 13 ratings

It's great for the price. I find that letting this breath in the glass will help increase flavor notes and lower alcohol-y smell. It's not a pour and sip.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Kyle from United States with 18 ratings

This rum when you get a good bottle is fantastic. It honestly deserves a 9. However, I've purchased 4 to 5 bottles of it and you can tell a difference in taste from bottle to bottle. This is obvious with it being aged 15 years that there will be some differences, but some of the bottles almost have a chemical taste to them. Not sure what does this, if it is in their aging process or what. If you take the gamble and get a good bottle you will no doubt enjoy it. One of the finest rums at it's price point.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 390 ratings

Nicht ganz der Weltbeste, aber nah dran.
Herrlich samtig weicher Körper, nicht so süss wie der 12 Y.
Alle Rumaromen schön ausgewogen, ein wahrer Genuss
zu jeder Zeit an jedem Ort.
Jede weitere Beschreibung überflüssig, trinken !

Not quite the world's best, but close.
Wonderful velvety soft body, not as sweet as the 12 Y.
All rum flavors nicely balanced, a real treat
at any time in any place.
Any further description unnecessary, drink it !

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Marcel from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Opened the bottle today and I am very impressed. Just the nose is already great. No alcoholic smell at all. When tasting, it starts with the sweetness of rum without the feeling that sugars have been added. This followed by a hint of oak and cognac - finished by the good warm feeling delivered by the alcohol. Love it!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

This probably the best rum available in the $40-$50 class. A go-to favorite for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

This is a way over priced rum, whiskey, rum, whiskey...let's just call it a rum that wants to be a whiskey but also has sugar added to try to make it taste more like rum than whiskey.

This is a busy little spirit with a variety of heavy fruit flavors which leads me to my next point: It goes well with a frozen drink or with Coke but its not a sipper. And, $50 a bottle for a mixer is just pain silly!

Yes, I'm biased in my review. I just don't think El Dorado makes a real premium rum and the added sugar to an agricole is shameful. Still, this is a good mixer that would be more appropriately priced in the low $30 range (NY prices).

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Fred from France with 13 ratings

Voici un rhum d'une très grande qualité, qui m'a vraiment enthousiasmé! Le nez promet des arômes que la bouche confirme: une délicieuse douceur vanillée, des notes de noix, de dates et de fruits secs. La longueur en bouche est très bonne, laissant au palais tout le temps d'apprécier la complexité des arômes délivrés. C'est vraiment l'exemple-type de rhum vieux parfaitement équilibré et balancé! Une réussite totale!

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by TomL219 from United States with 4 ratings

Nice rum to have straight up. Nice balanced flavors

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Braeckman from Belgium with 10 ratings

dans la lignée du 12 mais plus sur l alcool.(évidemment ) les mêmes arômes . Un grand plaisir à goûter .toujours cette sensation de douceur, d épices . Facile à boire .

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Justin Paquette from United States with 3 ratings

I am relatively new to higher quality rums but this one blew all my other forays out of the water. I would attempt to describe it but my palate is still somewhat lacking.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 246 ratings

It has the distictive ED fingerprint with molasse sweetness, citrus undertones, leathery tobacco notes and robust body. It's very smooth but distinguises it self from the ED 12 and 21 with a long charred oak, almost whiskey like afterburn. Very interesting rum.