Posting your rating...
El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum is crafted from 15 to 25 year old rums that are then blended and married together in bourbon oak casks. Prior to blending the original batches are distilled using 4 unique stills - the Enmore and Diamond Coffey stills, the Port Mourant double wooden pot still, and the Versailles single wooden pot still.

The bottle of El Dorado Special Reserve 15-year was inspired by the the old hand-blown flasks used by sugar planters on the banks of the Demerara river.

8.1/10 (774 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
15
37
122
312
221
63

Rate El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


774 El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Steve Drda from United States with 6 ratings

Deep amber, mahoganey in color. medium legs that slowly drop. Nose is fruitcake & tobacco with a hint of charred oak. taste is orange peel and spice with a nice finish that includes a little leathery tobacco note. This was the rum that "hooked" me and the rum that all others will forever be forced to live up to.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

This probably the best rum available in the $40-$50 class. A go-to favorite for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

This is a way over priced rum, whiskey, rum, whiskey...let's just call it a rum that wants to be a whiskey but also has sugar added to try to make it taste more like rum than whiskey.

This is a busy little spirit with a variety of heavy fruit flavors which leads me to my next point: It goes well with a frozen drink or with Coke but its not a sipper. And, $50 a bottle for a mixer is just pain silly!

Yes, I'm biased in my review. I just don't think El Dorado makes a real premium rum and the added sugar to an agricole is shameful. Still, this is a good mixer that would be more appropriately priced in the low $30 range (NY prices).

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Fred from France with 13 ratings

Voici un rhum d'une très grande qualité, qui m'a vraiment enthousiasmé! Le nez promet des arômes que la bouche confirme: une délicieuse douceur vanillée, des notes de noix, de dates et de fruits secs. La longueur en bouche est très bonne, laissant au palais tout le temps d'apprécier la complexité des arômes délivrés. C'est vraiment l'exemple-type de rhum vieux parfaitement équilibré et balancé! Une réussite totale!

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by TomL219 from United States with 4 ratings

Nice rum to have straight up. Nice balanced flavors

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Braeckman from Belgium with 10 ratings

dans la lignée du 12 mais plus sur l alcool.(évidemment ) les mêmes arômes . Un grand plaisir à goûter .toujours cette sensation de douceur, d épices . Facile à boire .

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Justin Paquette from United States with 3 ratings

I am relatively new to higher quality rums but this one blew all my other forays out of the water. I would attempt to describe it but my palate is still somewhat lacking.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 241 ratings

It has the distictive ED fingerprint with molasse sweetness, citrus undertones, leathery tobacco notes and robust body. It's very smooth but distinguises it self from the ED 12 and 21 with a long charred oak, almost whiskey like afterburn. Very interesting rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by RhumsTeq from France with 32 ratings

I've just received a mini bottle of this rum from RumRatings, so that I had the chance of tasting it: I liked it indeed :) !

The colour is a copper red gold.
The aroma has notes of caramel and banana. There are some notes of wood also but fairly discreet.
Oak flavors are predominant on the palate but the rum remain sweet and very pleasant.
Edit April 25, 2014: Now that I've been able to compare this rum with its older brother 21 yo, I can say that this rum is my favorite one. Note raised to 10.

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by Erik Marum from United States with 35 ratings

This is always good and is such a great balance of flavor, texture, nose, and smoothness. Only reason it is not a 9 or 10 for me is that it is not quiet as smooth as I like. The flavors are excellent with strong notes of vanilla, dark cocoa, and a touch of bitter orange in there somewhere. It's subtle, but there and helps pull all the more dominant flavors together. Nice spice on the back of the tongue too with a longer than normal finish. It all blends together incredibly well.

Ffffff

Posted 16 days ago by randycous (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

Nice flavor and smooth. It’s on my repeat buy list