Posting your rating...
El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum is crafted from 15 to 25 year old rums that are then blended and married together in bourbon oak casks. Prior to blending the original batches are distilled using 4 unique stills - the Enmore and Diamond Coffey stills, the Port Mourant double wooden pot still, and the Versailles single wooden pot still.

The bottle of El Dorado Special Reserve 15-year was inspired by the the old hand-blown flasks used by sugar planters on the banks of the Demerara river.

Rate El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


723 El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

El Dorado 15 year has a good flavor profile but quite a strong after burn. The most surprising fact to me was the fact that 12 year is smoother than this 15 year old rum. Best memory is from the Demerara Distilleries between Georgetown and Cheddi Jagan Airport in Guyana when I visited their rum distillery and enjoyed their entire line up in its own surroundings.

Posted over 5 years ago by Mike Anthony from Canada with 8 ratings

I really don't care about the colour. I could drink it straight in the dark and it would still be amazing. I have sailed all over the world and tried different rums in 79 countries, and never have I found anything comparable to ED 15. It is a smooth, mellow drink with a great finish. I'm not much of a rum expert as far as identifying flavour nuances, but I do know what pleases me and this is it. I personally keep it in my freezer and drink it straight in a chilled glass. No ice.

Posted over 5 years ago by clint from Canada with 4 ratings

Middleman you ask? Well the 3 aged rums from Demerara are undoubtedly fantastic sipping rums, but the 15yr is my favourite. I like to compare it more to its older brother with the sweetness and wood flavours. The nose of current, and mincemeat. I let it sit and open up. The aromas of fennel, walnut, and clove come to profile. Take your time with this rum and you will truly enjoy it!

Posted over 5 years ago by Jesse Adams from United States with 8 ratings

Very smooth sipping rum. I enjoy it on the rocks and sometimes with a splash of Pepsi.

Posted over 5 years ago by Kent Henriksson from Sweden with 17 ratings

My precious! This is the best rum in my bar. Thick sugarcane aroma not to sweet. Flavors of chocolate, vanilla and dark fruits. Yummie!

Posted over 5 years ago by Matt Coast from Finland with 30 ratings

This was a first quality rum what I ever tasted! And it was love for a first sip!
Lot´s of flavours and beutifull long aftertaste! Too bad that they all are sold years ago here in Finland.

Posted over 5 years ago by James Young from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

Very smooth and more complex than the 12, I always have a bottle in my collection. A must for rum drinkers!

Posted over 5 years ago by Gary from Canada with 24 ratings

This is an old stand-by for me. Delicious either neat, with ice, or mixed with coke, this is a fantastic rum. Bursting with flavours and smooth to boot!

Posted almost 6 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

I will just say this is very similar to the 12 yr in that it is a robust rum that is highly sweetened with added sugar, to the tune of 30 g/ltr. This is not nearly as much as the 12 yr which is 45 g/ltr but it it still near the top of the scale according to the Swedish and Finnish lists I have seen.

At least this is a rum that is not overwhelmed by the added sugar, as are some I have had.

Posted about 6 years ago by Gerald from Austria with 21 ratings

the 12 year old one is less sharper , more taste , and cheaper for me.
Nose: little bit sweet ,alcoholic. light sharp, spicy ,oak, fruity , caramel, smoke , wood
Taste: little bit sweet ,alcoholic. light sharp, spicy ,dark fruit , caramel,vanilla , smoke , wood

Posted over 7 years ago by Mike McPhee from Canada with 13 ratings

Similar to the 12 year old as it can be enjoyed on the rocks or mixed. It adds a variety of flavours to cola & truly enhances it. With the dark colours & attractive aroma it is one every rum connoisseur should have on hand.

Posted over 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

I bought a bottle of this as my introduction to El Dorado. I really like to sip it. The 21 YO is in it's own class, but you will not be disappointed with the 15.

Posted over 7 years ago by Steve Drda from United States with 6 ratings

Deep amber, mahoganey in color. medium legs that slowly drop. Nose is fruitcake & tobacco with a hint of charred oak. taste is orange peel and spice with a nice finish that includes a little leathery tobacco note. This was the rum that "hooked" me and the rum that all others will forever be forced to live up to.

Posted 3 days ago by Edie220826 from Czech Republic with 4 ratings

Rum smells very nice. unfortunately for me in the end it also has a strong odor of alcohol.
the taste is pronounced, I would say woody and with a hint of cognac. for people who don't mind strong alcohol, make no mistake.
but for me it is much tastier and I will enjoy it more with a rock of ice.
then it stands out more and Is not so harsh.

Posted 3 days ago by JosephCharles from Canada with 6 ratings

Au nez, senteurs de café noir, orange confite, chocolat noir et vanille.
Le palais magnifiquement rond avec énormément de saveurs : fruit tropicaux grillés avec des épices douces.
La finale est soyeuse et moyennement corsée.

Posted 4 days ago by tmsharp from Puerto Rico with 11 ratings

Awesome. Almost too much to handle. Worth the price for a special occasion.

Posted 12 days ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 72 ratings

Zatímco mladší brácha mě věru nijak nedojal, tohle je úplně sklenka rumu! Vůně nic moc (pro můj vkus příliš štiplavá), ale ta chuť! Ne každý panák, ale každý lok chutná jinak (a všechny uspokojivě), takže v jediné flašce máte vlastně nějakou stovku různých rumů. A to se i za tu nekřesťanskou tisícovku celkem vyplatí.
Přesto ale můj favorit z toho určitě nebude, jelikož už znám pár lahví za stejné nebo menší peníze, které mi chutnají podstatně líp. Ale dvanáctileté El Dorado byl první karibský rum, který jsem si kdysi koupil, tak jsem toutéž značkou chtěl s rumovými experimenty i skončit - i když znáte tahle předsevzetí...

Posted 19 days ago by SveinMagnus from Norway with 21 ratings

The El Dorado 15-year old is a clear favorite among the regular El Dorados. It has a deep spicy dark caramel flavour and is both more balanced and more complex than the others. A very good rum!

Posted 21 days ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

I had some of this around a fire last night we were comparing this one and zacapa 23. I preferred the zacapa but everyone else liked this one. It’s good and has a great oaky flavour but has that alcohol bite the zacapa 23 doesn’t.

Posted 21 days ago by HotSpicyDisco (PREMIUM) from United States with 14 ratings

I keep coming back to this as my favorite sipping Guyana. It doesn't break the bank and has some of the richest flavors of any rum I have tasted.

It's the only rum I can get my bourbon snob friends to appreciate.

Posted 28 days ago by Michael Loggies from Netherlands with 50 ratings

First moment of taste is very sweet, followed by Vanilla/Oak.

Posted about 1 month ago by Stephan from Canada with 14 ratings

This is good rum. A more refined version of the 12-year. 8/10

Posted about 1 month ago by pghiran from Romania with 4 ratings

The best I've ever had until this point, and the rum that made me want to actually try more. After tasting this one, I'm definitely keen on trying the 21-year old version. Your mouth gets filled by a strong sweet flavor but not too sweet, just the right balance.

Posted about 1 month ago by Midway from Sweden with 7 ratings

Really like this one, it’s a rather sweet rum but it’s partly offset by the 43% alcoholic strength. I tend to keep a bottle of this one or it’s less pricey sibling (12y)

Posted about 1 month ago by nicolaigrubbe@gmail.com from Denmark with 16 ratings

Very taste, great aftertaste. Not too sweet or not too strong.