Posting your rating...
El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum is crafted from 15 to 25 year old rums that are then blended and married together in bourbon oak casks. Prior to blending the original batches are distilled using 4 unique stills - the Enmore and Diamond Coffey stills, the Port Mourant double wooden pot still, and the Versailles single wooden pot still.

The bottle of El Dorado Special Reserve 15-year was inspired by the the old hand-blown flasks used by sugar planters on the banks of the Demerara river.

8.1/10 (774 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
15
37
122
312
221
63

Rate El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


774 El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Rongo Tiki from United States with 20 ratings

I have to admit I was wanting a little more from this, but it is a solid sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

Yet, here, it is. Now having started this off negative, make no mistake: this is a good rum! It has everything that the El Dorado 12 does, but its a bit smoother, and with all the flavors more integrated together instead of having individual notes hit you one at a time. If you're not paying attention, it'll comes to you as a quite monotone drawl instead of a stream of brilliant whispers. Mind you, I personally prefer the rums that shout so loud you can hear coming from three blocks away, but I can appreciate what this one is doing! Man those metaphors got away from me...

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Lilius.P from Denmark with 23 ratings

But I prefer El Dorado 12-year, which in my opinion is a little sweeter, and much easier to drink.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Dimitris from Greece with 78 ratings

Taste 8+/10. Little sweetness somehow balance but no special character. Also finish with little whisky taste and some burn. The best of this drink is the aroma.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Daniel from Sweden with 1 rating

Got a taste of this while hanging out in a bar in the Caribbean. I took a bottle home with me—and the flavours followed. Excellent taste for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by C. F. from United States with 28 ratings

Excellent rum. Light and clean all around. Vanilla and floral notes.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Jiri from Czech Republic with 2 ratings

Výrazně sladší,než 12yo. Chuťově vyvážený. Stojí za ochutnání.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Peter from Canada with 11 ratings

This is good rum, but the 12 year is better IMHO. If you want the best bang for your buck pick up the 12 year old.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Joe from United States with 41 ratings

Very lush. A little pepper morphed into a deep rich mouth feel. A lot going on here. Tried it neat and with a drop of water. Both ways worked well.

Small img 5797

Posted 2 years ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 181 ratings

rozhodoval jsem se zda dát 9 nebo 8. nakonec zvítězila 8čka, ale je hodně vysoká.
překvapení po mém zklamání z 12tky.
sušené ovoce, ostřejší chuť, ale vyvážená sladkost
jantarová barva

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Martin Fink from United States with 10 ratings

As much as I like the Diplomatico, I think I prefer the 15 year El Dorado. The taste has only a mild sweetness with a wonderful spicy finish. It lies lately on the tongue but has a warm silkiness about it as it goes down. This is an excellent Rum for the novice or connoisseur.