Posting your rating...
El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum is crafted from 15 to 25 year old rums that are then blended and married together in bourbon oak casks. Prior to blending the original batches are distilled using 4 unique stills - the Enmore and Diamond Coffey stills, the Port Mourant double wooden pot still, and the Versailles single wooden pot still.

The bottle of El Dorado Special Reserve 15-year was inspired by the the old hand-blown flasks used by sugar planters on the banks of the Demerara river.

8.1/10 (746 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
14
34
121
296
219
59

Rate El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


746 El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2643 ratings

El Dorado 15 year has a good flavor profile but quite a strong after burn. The most surprising fact to me was the fact that 12 year is smoother than this 15 year old rum. Best memory is from the Demerara Distilleries between Georgetown and Cheddi Jagan Airport in Guyana when I visited their rum distillery and enjoyed their entire line up in its own surroundings.

D6bee84bb82f81fa19c41edf1f05ab70.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ryan Rosebush (PREMIUM) from United States with 31 ratings

Extremely smooth & the perfect amount of sweetness. May be my favorite sipper in my bar. At $44, it’s well worth the price to me.

0de57ac21f333116cebc3485bb67d97a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 152 ratings

The 15 year old isn’t as sweet as 12 year old one. It’s a quite complex rum. It’s very well balanced and you can taste nuts, fruit and some vanilla.
In my opinion it’s a rum that set some kind of standard which you always can go back to when you rate rum. If you feel that a rum is better than the “15” it’s always worth buying.

743c43b8811433009491c4776775a4a8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 102 ratings

Čekal jsem od 15 leté verze El Dorada víc, není špatný, ale já osobně dávám přednost mladšímu bratříčkovi 12y, který je navíc levnější. První přičichnutí jsem si říkal, že mi nalili koňak. Vůně nebyla špatná, spíš jsem ji vůbec nečekal. Do chutě se vůně nepromítla. Na 43% musím napsat jemná, sladší ale málo výrazná oproti aroma. To mně asi zklamalo nejvíc.

F4e41af46b8e1483b9521b8d18e073d2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by jason from France with 4 ratings

Although it has its sweetness it is not overwhelmingly sticky sweet like the Diplomatico reserve. That's because this is a mature liquid "crafted from 15 to 25 year old rums" (Diplomatico reserve is a blend of rums some of which are aged up to 12 years - that does not make it a 12 year old rum). El Dorado SR 15's long years in oak casks give it a nice variety of flavors. It's at a very attractive price point for the quality of liquid.

66a14367f25f3419ca766b5f0873c116.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Anthony Lambert from Germany with 10 ratings

This rum has to be my favourite.A wonderful sipping rum that I buy again and again.

A464c7e42cb2445cf5acac4c1db1f5d1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by KevinGT from Puerto Rico with 17 ratings

Se percibe en el paladar como un ron con cuerpo y muy elegante. Balance óptimo

Eb96a751dad17ec5b74d61d753a92ee2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Bartosz112233 from Poland with 15 ratings

The bottle looks really nice and comes with a nice packaging. The smell is quite strong, sweet and fruity. After letting it breath for 15 minutes the taste becomes quite sweet, spicy and it lasts in mouth almost forever. I really enjoy drinking this rum. This rum is worth its price.

036920a60ae1d4e2c1a06f0a4be9ea68.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Cuisine from France with 20 ratings

Cela faisait longtemps que je voulais goûter les rhums Demerara
C'est chose faite avec ce 15 ans d'âge
Au nez on sent le caramel et la vanille. on pressent une certaine douceur.
En bouche, les arômes se confirment en allant sur le toffee.
Belle longueur en bouche qui permet de conserver les goûts et arômes longtemps

939fdc0ab5da1ef25647b92dc3477d5a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Hubert from Belgium with 9 ratings

Sur les conseils d’un site internet, j’ai acheté ce rhum et j’en suis super satisfait. Du coup j’ai voulu goûter le 21, il est au top également

D04f14d4d2410eadbc6aadf11c79e2a0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 34 ratings

As tasty as liquid gets, not just rum, I would be very surprised if there was a better tasting liquid on the planet.

It has to get marked down cos of all the added sugar, but I’ll almost allow it for something that tastes this nice.