Posting your rating...
El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum is crafted from 15 to 25 year old rums that are then blended and married together in bourbon oak casks. Prior to blending the original batches are distilled using 4 unique stills - the Enmore and Diamond Coffey stills, the Port Mourant double wooden pot still, and the Versailles single wooden pot still.

The bottle of El Dorado Special Reserve 15-year was inspired by the the old hand-blown flasks used by sugar planters on the banks of the Demerara river.

8.1/10 (796 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
16
39
124
322
228
63

Rate El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

796 El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Olli from Germany with 7 ratings

Tried the 12 YO first and liked it a lot.
With the 15 YO I expected another step forward, albeit from a high level.
The resemblance is obvious. But there are slight differences as well. The 12 yo is somewhat more fruity and taste considerably more like oranges. The 15 yo is less fruity but with more vanilla and a touch of sandalwood.
I cannot say which one is better, because they do come from the same stable. They are just different.
You can not go wrong with either one.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by johnrullan from Puerto Rico with 21 ratings

15 year aged dark rum that we enjoy the rich brown sugar and dark juices aromas. Sipping slowly to take in the smoothness is the secret to an enjoyable post prandial delight

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Miroslav from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Tento rum spĺňa všetky kritériá. Málo chýbalo do plného počtu. Výborný.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

When compared to the 12 & 21 yr, this was my least favorite by far. Boozy and harsh, IMO.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by anoinoz from Australia with 9 ratings

This rum is brilliant. Good enough to sip and enjoy, or to bring a special touch to cocktails. I compare rums to it. lovely drop.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jpotocki from Hungary with 26 ratings

I can say nothing specifically about the rum that has not been said. I agree wholly that its ubiquitous availability and reasonable (less and less so unfortunately) price point make it a planet in the rum universe. Fantastic as a misty day neat sipper or a put on the slippers and watch Better Call Saul with a slow one. But...put it in a Mai Tai!? You say sacrilege, I say maybe, but the ElDo 15-yr, Smith & Cross Navy Strength and Clément Créole Shrubb, Mai Tai is crushing the charts right now. Fresh squeezed limes, homemade almond syrup and you are off. Decadent? Yes! Worth it. Yes!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by JF Simoneau from Montserrat with 6 ratings

Vraiment une valeur sûre. Un très bon rapport qualité prix. Une belle couleur foncée, un corps riche, un gout soyeux et très long. Pour moi, la principale caractéristique de ce rhum est la profonde odeur de banane, comme si il était dégusté au cœur de la plantation !

A trully safe value. A very good value for money. A beautiful dark color, a rich body, a silky and very long taste. For me, the main characteristic of this rum is the deep banana smell, as if it were tasted in the heart of the plantation!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by drobz from Czech Republic with 34 ratings

O chlup lepsi nez 12 lety, ale rozdil neni az tak veliky.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by MartinK from Slovakia with 45 ratings

Starsi brat 12 rocnej verzie. Povedal by som, ze je mu dost podobny. Vona je podobna sladkasta, za melasou a hrozienkami, pri 15 rocnej verzii sa este pridava trochu drevitosti v chuti. Je to rum s vyraznou chutou a vonou, takto ma podla mna chutit pravy tmavy trstinovy rum. V cene 36€ je to dobra volba pre milovnikov sladsich rumov. Aby som nezabudol, obsah alkoholu je tu 42%, je to aj citit v chuti, ale nieje to rusive...

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by RobN from United States with 6 ratings

Excellent sipping rum. Brown sugar is the key flavor that I pick up. Little to no burn at the end. Highly recommended

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Stu from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

At the moment, this Rum just feels to have everything i like. Smooth but still has a punch to it, sweet but no too sweet and a great cocktail of aroma. A few drops in a big cognac glass and will bring you directly to the Carribean sea.