Posting your rating...
El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum is crafted from 15 to 25 year old rums that are then blended and married together in bourbon oak casks. Prior to blending the original batches are distilled using 4 unique stills - the Enmore and Diamond Coffey stills, the Port Mourant double wooden pot still, and the Versailles single wooden pot still.

The bottle of El Dorado Special Reserve 15-year was inspired by the the old hand-blown flasks used by sugar planters on the banks of the Demerara river.

8.1/10 (774 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
15
37
122
312
221
63

Rate El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


774 El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by chris ambler from United States with 23 ratings

the 12 is tasty but this is much smoother. Enjoyed sipping with whiskey stones. Slight aromas of stone fruits and burnt sugars. Alcohol warming lingers and finishes rather sweet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by CaptainTribble from United States with 6 ratings

Spicy and sweet. Best rum I've had in this price range. Incredibly smooth and balanced in flavors. No single flavor overpowered the rest. I always make sure to have this one on hand.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by rhumjesus from Canada with 31 ratings

This one has a thick molasses/caramel nose right out of the gate. You can tell this one is going to be a good Demerara right away.

Flavor is rich cocoa, brown sugar notes. smooth afterburn, nothing too harsh.

A deep color, yet not as dark as some decent and cheaper Demeraras.

I've bought this one at least twice now, it makes a good rich flavoured painkiller. (pussers don't be trying to sue me..)

This one is a bit pricier than I'd like it to be, but it's still a good choice if you are looking for a quality Demerara.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Patrick D from Sweden with 14 ratings

A quite good rum. Nice flavour. Not to smooth. Pleasent aroma. Enjoyable.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Pdiddy613 from Canada with 1 rating

To try ED rums cause of my father's word, but finally decided to give then a try. First was the 15 special reserve, this is easily one of my fave sipping rums now. So easy in the throat hardly any burn , very similar to Papa's Pilar which is fantastic.

Nose is very sweet , hints of dark fruits like raisins and maybe some chocolate

If you let it breathe for about 15 minutes you will be impressed.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Haemonculi from United States with 48 ratings

Much better option than their 12 year this is worth the money for a nice glass neat or on a single cube.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Clavius from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Starší bratr rumu El Dorado 12, zřejmě ale jinak blendovaný a tak chuťově odlišný. Při srovnání je méně sladký, trošku dřevitější, dozvuk jemnější, celkově uhlazenější, více vyzrálý a vyvážený. Jelikož mám raději sladší rumy, přikláním se spíše k dvanáctiletému El Doradu, jinak je to ale vynikající rum.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Tcrum from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

I purchased this in a London bar, unaware of the cost I was about to be hit with. Whilst the mood was dampened, this rum lifted me to great joy. Fruit, vanilla, sugar amalgamated to give a stunning smooth experience.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 83 ratings

Probablemente en conjunto, de lo mejor que hay. Mas dulce que los jamaicanos, pero sin excederse. Con un bouquet extraordinario en la boca. Menos alcohólicos que muchos caribeños. Aunque el precio podría ser mas bajo, es uno de los rones mas “rones” que conozco, el balance es perfecto.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Luka from Croatia with 17 ratings

It’s as smooth and complex as Zacappa XO which costs much more.

There’s a slight burn which fades away very quickly and than this one opens with a ton of flavors. Sweetness in a form of toffife caramel burnt nuts and a ton more. Aftertaste lasts for a whole minute.

I liked the 12 years on a rocks but this one is to be enjoyed on it’s one.

This one is a must.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by skocan from Czech Republic with 22 ratings

Honestly i expect something little bit else after i had El dorado 12. This is more classical taste. El dorado 12 is rly different, personally i like 12 more.