Posting your rating...
El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum is crafted from 15 to 25 year old rums that are then blended and married together in bourbon oak casks. Prior to blending the original batches are distilled using 4 unique stills - the Enmore and Diamond Coffey stills, the Port Mourant double wooden pot still, and the Versailles single wooden pot still.

The bottle of El Dorado Special Reserve 15-year was inspired by the the old hand-blown flasks used by sugar planters on the banks of the Demerara river.

8.1/10 (774 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
15
37
122
312
221
63

Rate El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


774 El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Steve Drda from United States with 6 ratings

Deep amber, mahoganey in color. medium legs that slowly drop. Nose is fruitcake & tobacco with a hint of charred oak. taste is orange peel and spice with a nice finish that includes a little leathery tobacco note. This was the rum that "hooked" me and the rum that all others will forever be forced to live up to.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tom De Munter from Belgium with 2 ratings

De el dorado-rums vind ik allen lekker im drinken. De 15 year is uiteraard een groter genot om drinken dan de 12 year. Een niet te complexe rum en aan te raden aan velen.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Taster from Switzerland with 113 ratings

English style
Tastes slightly smoky, hints of tobacco and barrique.
Tasted this one as part of a rum tasting event, would need a few sips more for a more detailed comment.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by eddieo from United States with 95 ratings

Icious sipper. Classic aged Guayanan profile, not sweet but a brief fire at first and smooth the rest of the way down. Very enjoyable!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Oliver from Spain with 56 ratings

Its sweet but not as much as a elixir. Never tried anything with that barely noticeable alcohol presence. Stunning. You have to be carefull to not drink the bottle at once. Fruity, sweety, balanced, mild. Pure sipping pleasure.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Giovanni Bomoll from Italy with 37 ratings

Matured in bourbon barrels.

Taste of:
Caramel, Vanilla, Dry prune, Dark Chocolate, Smoke, Bourbon Cask...

Outstanding Rum, the Best of the 12-15-21 El Dorado Serie.....

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Caevernough from Netherlands with 8 ratings

Very tasteful. Good aroma's and not to much of a bite

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by petmarian from Slovakia with 4 ratings

I like the bottle and of course what's inside, it is an excellent rum with complexity and character. It's one of the best I have had and I really recommend this rum to everybody who likes rum.
On the nose after opening the bottle you can smell strong alcoholic note, but its fades very quickly and turns to vanilla, spiciness and oakiness. But it domain is the fruity sweetness and then you can smell cacao, coconut and marzipan aroma.
On the palate it is spicy with fruit sweetness and spiciness and oak from the cask.
The finish is middle long with spice and oak, but very pleasant.
Overall this rum well balanced pleasant to smell and sip. This is a very good buy for beginners and also for experienced rum drinkers. Really worth the money and I personally love it.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Razia from Netherlands with 12 ratings

I started with the good 12 year old. This quickly led me to tasting the 15 year old which is my rum of choice for a couple of months now. First sips are quite strong because of 43% alcohol but with this rum it never stops at one glass.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by AndReginald from Italy with 47 ratings

Tried this today and well it is very different from the 12 year. First of all I found it less sweet, although the test results says they have almost the same amount of added sugar. Then the smell of this one and the first sip are something that you can't forget after you have tasted it. It is really fruity, and of course have vanilla and orange peel. A must try.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by torgo from United States with 12 ratings

Among the smoothest, tastiest spirits I've ever had the pleasure of tasting. Very subdued alcohol burn on the nose and on the finish, you can tell this stuff is very well mellowed. Palate is delightfully sweetened, without overdoing it, and with silky, ever so smoky, ever so spicy hints. Suffice to say, I'm a fan of this rum and look forward to being able to work my way up the El Dorado ladder.