Posting your rating...
El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum is crafted from 15 to 25 year old rums that are then blended and married together in bourbon oak casks. Prior to blending the original batches are distilled using 4 unique stills - the Enmore and Diamond Coffey stills, the Port Mourant double wooden pot still, and the Versailles single wooden pot still.

The bottle of El Dorado Special Reserve 15-year was inspired by the the old hand-blown flasks used by sugar planters on the banks of the Demerara river.

8.1/10 (796 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
16
39
124
322
228
63

Rate El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

796 El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Sam W from United States with 6 ratings

Found the 15 yr after a lot of searching and was, at first, impressed but not blown away. This has changed with each new tasting. Quickly this rum has surpassed all others for its smoothness and flavor. Yet to try the 12 or 21 yr but this is a truly impressive rum

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Hedlund from Sweden with 38 ratings

En helt suverän rom som exploderar med smaker i munnen

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

El Dorado has many kind, but this is El Dorado for me.
I think 8 year is better than 12 year, 15year is better tha 8year.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by KathyPG from Trinidad and Tobago with 4 ratings

This is my go-to rum, I have this all the time when I do imbibe. This is one of the smoothest great tasting rums which gives you the most subtle buzz. The flavor is of slight toffee and spice which makes it quite enjoyable to have neat, on the rocks or with some fresh coconut water.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by DinoTiki from United States with 3 ratings

On my 3rd bottle in 2 years; always good to have this on hand to sip by itself neat or add serious complexity to cocktails. Even my Dark and Stormys get a float of this (The Myers/Coruba will always win out but appreciate the added complexity it brings). Medium-dark caramel color and a huge nose of baked walnuts, caramel, toffee and really smooth mouth feel yet finishes with a touch of liveliness that keeps it fresh. Similar flavors but added banana leaf and vanilla for interest. The creamy way it goes down tampers any alcohol heat and helps the flavors linger. Love this!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Pinmann from United States with 14 ratings

The El Dorado 15 I had from a factory sealed bottle from a very reputable retailer tastes like whiskey not rum. Maybe there was a mistake at the factory but my bottle did not taste like rum. Makes a fair bourbon and coke but I am not a big bourbon drinker.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Maremosso74 from Italy with 3 ratings

Un rum tra i più appetibili sul mercato tra i VERI 15 anni, ad un prezzo più che conveniente.
discreta aggiunta di zucchero, colore scuro e profumi inebrianti. Buon corpo e liquorosità

Profumo: Melassa, miele, toffe, vaniglia e caramello e un finale liquoroso e corposo.
Sapore: Si sente molto il sapore di Melassa, per poi passare ai più complessi sentori di vaniglia, caramello e toffee. Un finale di caffé e cioccolato abbastanza pronunciati dove un leggero legno compare a chiudere il tutto.
Abbastanza liquoroso e molto avvolgente nel sapore e nei profumi. Moderata la persistenza alcolica e nessuna acidità.

Prezzo/qualità: a 35€ su Amazon durante i black friday è un TOP buy per chi cerca un rum prezioso e soddisfacente, da bere anche ogni volta che se ne ha voglia, senza parsimonia. Sopratutto un vero Rum 15 anni, anzi che spesso è ottenuto mixando rum anche più vecchi.
Da solo, in compagnia, ma purché in "sipping" a MAI mixato.
Un rum di eccellente livello ad un prezzo incredibile per le sue qualità, un top da tenere in cantinetta senza badare alle quantità, perché vola via in un attimo. E' stato il mio primo rum con il quale avventurarmi nel modno della bevanda dei corsari, e che inizio!
Fortunatamente entrato ormai da tempe nelle disponibilità Amazon spesso ad un prezzo REGALO.
VOTO 9 pieno

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by kmpiast from Poland with 41 ratings

Now this is tricky, coz somehow I have enjoyed 12yo more, I now this is one is less sweet so should have been better, but 12yo with its sweet but complex taste is destroying competition of other sugar rums within its price range, and on the other side this 15yo is very good but it could have done better for this extra money that you have to spend, and I'm afraid that there are better alternatives.

Final verdict: I will choose 12yo over this one

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by afa from Italy with 3 ratings

one of my favourite rum, i've never tried 21 years but if this is 15 years i can't wait!!!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jab from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

Not a bad choice. But there are so many better ones around. El Dorado are artificially sweetened btw

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by chris009 from Poland with 20 ratings

Very good rum, beter than 12 yo.
170 pln/ 0,7 scandlines ferry