Posting your rating...
El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum is crafted from 15 to 25 year old rums that are then blended and married together in bourbon oak casks. Prior to blending the original batches are distilled using 4 unique stills - the Enmore and Diamond Coffey stills, the Port Mourant double wooden pot still, and the Versailles single wooden pot still.

The bottle of El Dorado Special Reserve 15-year was inspired by the the old hand-blown flasks used by sugar planters on the banks of the Demerara river.

Rate El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


723 El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Sam W from United States with 6 ratings

Found the 15 yr after a lot of searching and was, at first, impressed but not blown away. This has changed with each new tasting. Quickly this rum has surpassed all others for its smoothness and flavor. Yet to try the 12 or 21 yr but this is a truly impressive rum

Posted over 4 years ago by Kie humphreys from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

A dark thick liquor with a sweet taste and strong in alcohol. The age really comes through and is a really good drink.

Posted over 4 years ago by Henric Boeng from Sweden with 4 ratings

Beautiful color and nose notes, good flavorful body whit a nice aroma and sweetness
A nice rum to have at home when you want the guests to get some good rum.. but you don´t want to serve the best you have in the cabinet

For me it´s not more than an eight, but still a good solid rum!

Posted over 4 years ago by Jurjen from Netherlands with 19 ratings

This rum is something else. I don't consider me a hotshot when it comes to sniffing, tasting and recognizing aromas, but hey, everyone has to start somewhere... so here is my two cents:

A bit of a strong, sweet nose and I think I'm recognizing brown sugar, vanilla and even some chocolate. These are also present in it's taste accompanied by some honey or syrup perhaps...

It's a pretty sweet rum, definitely something else. Sometimes literally as with every other sip you might get the idea you are tasting something else in there...

Posted over 4 years ago by Niels Kaas from Denmark with 43 ratings

Jeg kunne bedre lide 12 åringen - det er jeg vist ikke den eneste der siger - men udmærket rom. God fylde og eftersmag

Posted over 4 years ago by Hank from United States with 16 ratings

After seeing all the 9 & 10 ratings for this I had high hopes when I plunked down $45 for this. "Whoops there goes another rubber tree". So to me it's not in the same league as Zacapa or Centenario. It's good, somewhat smooth but also harsh. Better with water and a squeeze of lime than straight up. Cognac kind of burn that other, smoother sipping rums don't have.

Posted over 4 years ago by Rum un from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

Tasted this back to back with the 12 and the 21 and by far my least favourite.

Harsher than the 12 and almost a whisky taste. Not what I want from a rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dj Drinkalot from Norway with 4 ratings

Nice taste of cask. Lovely to sipp straight up.........................................

Posted over 4 years ago by Co Ka from Switzerland with 82 ratings

Kind of an everyday rum, nothing to discuss and simple joy.
Sometimes I smell a bit of gasolin, but I think thats my nose.

Posted over 4 years ago by LucMichaud from Canada with 20 ratings

Toujours aussi excellant! les rhum eldorado ici nous offres un rhum très fin et bien sucre...du bonbon!

Posted over 4 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Herkomst: Guyana
Distilleerderij: DDL
Abv: 40%
Fles: 70cl, kurk
Kleur: amber bruin

Zachte mierzoete rum waar je goed van opwarmt. Ik proef bruine suiker, rozijnen, drop en vooral de houtsmaken zijn prominent aanwezig.

Ook echt lekker met Cola.

Edit:
31/38 gr/liter suiker, punt er af.

Posted over 4 years ago by craig72 from Canada with 42 ratings

El~Dorado strikes again! Or should I say, hits again? Either way, this stuff is nice! With more of a burn, but not unpleasantly so, this rum's taste is not as sweet as neither the 12-year-old El~Dorado, nor its 21-year old brother... and that's just fine! I like to "mix it up" even if I'm drinking them all straight-up! ;)

Posted over 4 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

At the moment my preference leans towards the Demerara style rums so of course the El Dorado range is up there for me with this one standing out in both flavour and price point
Dark mahogany colour in the glass with smells of oak, vanilla & spice although not to sweet. Tasting caramel, spice and almost licorice syrupy texture. Medium / long finish with a warming spicy dry smoky oak finish.

Posted over 4 years ago by Geno from Canada with 30 ratings

easy to find, reasonably priced, nice straight up.

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Ce rhum est très bon. Il est très boisé avec une note de cannelle et vanille comme son frère de 12 ans. On peut faire la différence pour les amateurs mais c est très subtile. Pour le prix, le 15 ans ne vaut pas vraiment la peine. Je le classe néanmoins supérieur pour sa complexité.

Posted over 4 years ago by Erik Lööf from Sweden with 10 ratings

One of my favourites, dark rhum.Subtle , spicy flavor with barrel character , hints of brown sugar , dried fruit , banana, arrack , dark chocolate and vanilla.

Good with an cigar

Posted over 4 years ago by JÅJ from Sweden with 33 ratings

Den 12åriga är bättre..........
⭐️⭐️.…………..........,

Posted over 4 years ago by Rhum Man from United States with 8 ratings

This is the first aged rum I ever had. It's balanced & complex enough to sip without any adulteration. To me the initial flavor is sometimes caramel with tobacco notes. It's on the sweeter side, but that's probably a reflection of what other rums I've tried (given reviews of this and other rums). The finish and aftertaste are perfect. I've only just started the bottle, but have tried and enjoyed it various ways. My wife used some in a Christmas milk punch - kaboom. My current method of imbibe is from a tiny stem glass which came with an aged balsamic vinegar.

Posted over 4 years ago by JF boutin from Canada with 12 ratings

Excellent sip rum with a good amount of sugar but not in excess. We did a tasting of the 12,15, 21 years and the 12 years was just as good as this one even the 21 years , if not better.

Posted over 4 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 37 ratings

i found this at a liquor store while traveling. The reviews were stellar and so at just under $50 I looked forward to sampling. What a huge disappointment. The next day I tried it again. No doubt it's smooth enough but the bottom line is it tastes like a good bourbon has been mixed with a mild an unassuming rum. It's like a slightly sweet, mild bourbon. The rest of the bottle will probably sit there a while.

Posted over 4 years ago by Torben from Denmark with 1 rating

Enjoy this rum very much dry and elegant but s bit short In the mouth

Posted over 4 years ago by James Cove from United States with 7 ratings

One of the good "beginners" rums on a higher end side. Not too sweet, great flavor, only thing separating it from next level is the smoothness.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kurtiki from United States with 11 ratings

This is the gold standard for me. This is perfect in so many ways. I like it much better than the 21 year, even.

Posted over 4 years ago by steve rector from United States with 11 ratings

Great rum! Deep list of flavors that cross your palate but leave you with a lasting tobacco and dates. Not overly sweet, judt enough to satisfy your cravings. Dont skip this one!

Posted over 4 years ago by Staffan from Sweden with 26 ratings

Very nice and a little edgy rum. It has a fairly fruity scent to start with, rich and a little sweet. When tasting it I find a fairly dominant whiskey tone, or might it even be drawn towards cognac? I don't find the taste particularly sweet compared to other rums, rather a little bitter, but very pleasant, pretty much like I usually find whiskeys and brandy. Sweetness seems to come from vanilla and fruit tones, but I find the oak cask is the biggest influence on taste. Aroma is however sweet and has a clear sugar cane flavor to it. After taste is the same rich fruity flavor as in the scent. It grows on you. I might come back an raise the score later on.