Posting your rating...
El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Guyana | Aged | 43.0% ABV

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum is crafted from 15 to 25 year old rums that are then blended and married together in bourbon oak casks. Prior to blending the original batches are distilled using 4 unique stills - the Enmore and Diamond Coffey stills, the Port Mourant double wooden pot still, and the Versailles single wooden pot still.

The bottle of El Dorado Special Reserve 15-year was inspired by the the old hand-blown flasks used by sugar planters on the banks of the Demerara river.

8.0/10
832 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
2
1
17
42
128
347
229
63

Rate El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

832 El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Matt A from Canada with 12 ratings

Complex flavours cap off a wonderful sweet nose...comparable to the more expensive 21 yr

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by SP3000 from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

This is a decent Rum and I can see how many will like this. It is sweet but still has some character and spice. All in all well rounded. However it doesn't blow me away. It does exactly what a Rum in this price class should do and I think this is why it has become such a stable for many. My personal taste is towards Rums that are less sweet but all in all a recommended Rum.

Edit: My tastebuds seem to transform each day. I've warmed up to this a lot more and now give it an 8 instead of a 7. Despite the rum being on the sweet side, I don't find its sweetness overwhelming, it's a rich and complex tasting Rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Joe Scarrott from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Got this as a Christmas present and was not disappointed! Delicious rum straight up, looking forward to trying it in an old fashioned.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Carlos from Canada with 36 ratings

This is a great rum. Dark and fruity. Smooth. Full of flavours. Great aromas. A delicious sipping rum. The best in this price range. A few cubes if ice and feel the warmth flow through you. One of my favorites

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Mike from United States with 10 ratings

...at least in my opinion. I gave the 12 year a 9 out of 10 only because I had not tried the 15 year special reserve yet and man I was right. This one gets the full 10 out of 10 in my book. This rum is more mellow than the 12 year. A little less sweet however the flavors in this rum is more pronounced. You can really taste the hints of vanilla, almonds, oaky and fruits. This rum will coat your tongue like silk and does not give you any burn. Simply amazing to drink neat, on the rocks, simple coke an rum or other mixed drinks.

However I will say. This is a really fine rum. I would rather use the El Dorado 8 year or maybe 12 year for mixing. Leave this one for special settings and drinking neat or on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Ludo Marley from Netherlands with 41 ratings

El Dorado 15 Year is een wereldwijd geliefde rum die bekend staat om zijn volle en rijke palet die barst van de tropische smaken en kruidige tonen, zowel op de neus als op het palet. Beschreven als een aantrekkelijke, rijke koper tint. Een complexe neus van banketbakker suiker, bananen en cederhout. Een zijdezachte binnenkomst leidt tot een matig full-bodied gehemelte van levendige, maar toch verfijnd droge caramel en gedroogde tropische fruitsmaken geschoord door warme alcohol en eiken kruiden. Dit premium product is een mix van speciaal geselecteerde oude rum. Sommigen zijn zelfs 25 jaar oud en zijn gerijpt in eiken vaten.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Remy Chevalier from United States with 34 ratings

As promised, Rum Ratings send me a nip of this rum in the mail for joining the site and writing reviews. It's not bad, although I suspect it's probably harder to tell drinking it from a miniature bottle. It's smooth, good taste, but to be honest it's not going to take me away from my favorites. I'd like to try other vintage from El Dorado, as they strike me as the genuine article. Hope I don't get lynched here...

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Eric O from Canada with 16 ratings

You can't go wrong with any of the El Dorado rums but this one is awesome.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by ZTrain1177 from Canada with 55 ratings

This is an outstanding rum. It's subtly sweet with hints of vanilla and caramel. Enjoyable on it's own or with your favorite mix. Highly recommended!

Small 20201229 185402

Posted 8 months ago by Christian from Luxembourg with 28 ratings

The El Dorado Special Reserve 15 Year is for me the rum that gives me the most pleasure each time I take a sip. It's difficult to compare rums, because they are all so different and there are no existing quality standards. So, in the end, the rating is decided by the taste of the customer. And this one is my favorite so far. Very nice aromas of caramel, vanilla and a hint of chocolate. In the mouth with sweet but not too sweet taste, smooth and not burning. The price is about 60€ a bottle, but worth it with every drop.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Flurk from Belgium with 11 ratings

El Dorado 12 years is a popular rum. Probably a lot buying it when starting discover rum, yes like me.. el dorado 12 is a good rum for its money so I decided to pick up the 15 year old. It’s a disappointment. Maybe less sugar and more alcohol. But the taste didn’t improve. The smell is really good. You smell a lot of oak and vanilla. But if u taste a strong alcohol taste. Then it’s become really odd. ( like is that rum?!) then the oak and vanilla comes slowly but it ends with sugar, to much sugar for me with some oak.
I gave the 12 a 7/10. The 15 year old I give 6/10 because it is less rum for more money.. (27€ for the 12 and 37€ for the 15)
and i took the plantation 2005 barbados next to it with the same alcohol in it and the same price of the 15 year old dorado. And the plantation is more soft. So more alcohol doesn’t mean more alcohol taste..