Posting your rating...
El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum is crafted from 15 to 25 year old rums that are then blended and married together in bourbon oak casks. Prior to blending the original batches are distilled using 4 unique stills - the Enmore and Diamond Coffey stills, the Port Mourant double wooden pot still, and the Versailles single wooden pot still.

The bottle of El Dorado Special Reserve 15-year was inspired by the the old hand-blown flasks used by sugar planters on the banks of the Demerara river.

Rate El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


720 El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Ce rhum est très bon. Il est très boisé avec une note de cannelle et vanille comme son frère de 12 ans. On peut faire la différence pour les amateurs mais c est très subtile. Pour le prix, le 15 ans ne vaut pas vraiment la peine. Je le classe néanmoins supérieur pour sa complexité.

Posted over 7 years ago by RhumsTeq from France with 32 ratings

I've just received a mini bottle of this rum from RumRatings, so that I had the chance of tasting it: I liked it indeed :) !

The colour is a copper red gold.
The aroma has notes of caramel and banana. There are some notes of wood also but fairly discreet.
Oak flavors are predominant on the palate but the rum remain sweet and very pleasant.
Edit April 25, 2014: Now that I've been able to compare this rum with its older brother 21 yo, I can say that this rum is my favorite one. Note raised to 10.

Posted 7 days ago by Keith Brockmiller from United States with 26 ratings

Seriously good rum. This was my 2nd choice when my plantation 20th anniversary was sold out. I didn’t expect to get more of what I like the plantation for. Now I drank the whole bottle and don’t have a review 🤪

Posted about 2 years ago by Greg from United States with 3 ratings

Don’t taint this liquid elixir with anything other than ice. Nice clean finish. Brings to mind sweet molasses. Light burn.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jeff Grant from United States with 8 ratings

Had this as part if a flight including Appleton 12 year and Pyrat XO reserve 15 and found this to be the sweetest of the three, least influenced by oak. The description provided said "Dark coffee,candied orange,dark chocolate and vanilla"...all of which did a nice job of explaining what I was trying to distinguish when I smelled the drink. This was Bevens favorite of the three.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Viktor from United States with 16 ratings

What a beautiful rum! This one has a sweet almost fruity aroma when you pour it. The tasting is full of different experiences for your mouth. It starts sweet then blends into vanilla and Carmel, finally finishing with oak and wine taste. The 15 year is the smooth that the 12 year doesn't have, and it has the depth that is missing from its younger brother as well. A must try even though it is a bit pricy.

Posted about 3 years ago by Ari from Barbados with 15 ratings

This rum offers the full experience; excellent aroma, smooth rich taste, great mixer & sipper. Personally this is the first rum i've come across that I can sip, comfortably, on the rocks. Truly great, my rum of choice, and go to gift.

Posted about 3 years ago by Tony from Sweden with 14 ratings

The colour is medium depth of gold. In nose it is nose packed with dark coffee, candied orange, almonds, dark chocolate, pepper and rich vanilla.
On the palate it has a beautifully rounded with a great spread of flavours across the mouth. Flavours of smoke and oaky spice, of course a consequence of 15 years aging process, as well as rich fruit develop slowly over time. The finish is long and smooth.

Posted over 3 years ago by Toast from United States with 39 ratings

Was able to grab this when the state shipped two bottles to the local wine and spirits shop as a special order and the guy who ordered it only wanted one. I think it's one of the last bottles in PA. Anyway, pours a deep mahogany color. A little alcohol on the nose but I also pick up dark fruit. At first taste I get a candied orange flavor along with some pepper and cinnamon. After a while that fades a bit and that dark fruit returns along with tobacco. Nice depth of flavor on this one. I expected it to be a bit sweeter based on many of the tasting notes I read but very nice nonetheless. Slight warming of the throats upon finish without the harsh burn. This bottle won't last long.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jacob Darrah from United States with 16 ratings

This is another one i would reserve to be drank by itself

Posted over 3 years ago by NutterSipper from United States with 20 ratings

I love the el Dorado 12 year. The 15 year on the other hand seems like it was over done. Instead of rum to me it tastes closer to a cognac and if that is what you are expecting it would be a great cognac, but my expectation with rum is rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Visna from Slovakia with 6 ratings

Chuť, vôňa, dojem všetko za 9.
Doposiaľ najlepší rum čo som pil. Jeho chuť je presne pre mňa, trochu výraznejšia a drevitejsia ako el Dorado 12. Za mňa lepší rum. Ako Zacapa 23.

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

This probably the best rum available in the $40-$50 class. A go-to favorite for sipping.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tim from United States with 7 ratings

Nose is sweet and licorice with cherry and molasses.
Lots of fruit and sweet on the tongue with cherry, vanilla, citrus, licorice and brown sugar.
Finishes smooth sweet then with a slight touch of dry.
This smells and tastes like a rum old fashioned.
I like this so much that I want to give this an 8, but it is a bit too sweet and lacks the depth of a 15 year old. Still a very good sipper.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

This is the first rum that really got me started to look at rums more for sipping than as something used for mixing cocktails. And even though I've tasted many great rums over the years, this is the one that I always come back to when I'm wanting to taste something truly great. It's starts off sweet but soon adds a much more complex flavor profile as it lingers. Yeah, I know that there's some extra sugar added but I don't care as much about in this case. Plus, like almost all of the other El Dorado rums it's very affordable for what you're getting. It's truly special!

Posted about 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 4 ratings

Great aroma, full body taste, best served on the rocks.

Posted about 4 years ago by royce from United States with 5 ratings

Now this is rum! The initial taste is sweet and smooth but it has so much depth as well. It has a thicker mouth feel with only a hint of molasses, honey and oak. I'd put this with the sweeter rums and definitely in my top five so far. Drink it neat or with one or two rocks.

Posted about 4 years ago by Alex from United States with 2 ratings

Smooth as can be while still full flavored. Great sipping rum

Posted about 4 years ago by Chris from United States with 10 ratings

I tried this after I bought 3 different rums to see what I like. The other 2 rums had a much more pronounced aroma and since taste and scent are bound together this rum left less of an impact than the other 2 during the tasting. I can say, however, that when we came back a couple of hours later it was the El Dorado I poured another glass of and I got a better feel for the taste of the rum.

A darker colored rum. Very little after burn but you do feel the alcohol in a pleasant warming of the chest. Very mild aroma and taste. Very smooth, would be a good sipping rum for someone who doesn't like stronger scents or flavors. It's mild flavors may not make it a good mixing rum. Very mild floral and brown sugar taste, the mild taste is kind of surprising considered the dark color.

Posted about 4 years ago by Sam W from United States with 6 ratings

Found the 15 yr after a lot of searching and was, at first, impressed but not blown away. This has changed with each new tasting. Quickly this rum has surpassed all others for its smoothness and flavor. Yet to try the 12 or 21 yr but this is a truly impressive rum

Posted about 4 years ago by Kristofer from Sweden with 11 ratings

Nice taste with a mild taste, elegante flavour. Perfect as a avec with coffe and a piece of cake.

Posted over 4 years ago by Carlos from United States with 24 ratings

El Dorado 15 is one of my favourites sipping rum more Woody flavor compared to the 12yrs old but same great taste, this rum make the perfect married with cigars. I you never tried is time for you to do it.

Posted over 4 years ago by Michael Shumaker from United States with 23 ratings

One of the best rums I have ever had. Not too expensive at around $50 and worth every scent. Ripe tropic fruit and a little bit of smoke start you off with a smooth toasted molasses finish. If the gods of Greece had to pick something other than ambrosia they would certainly pick this.

Posted over 4 years ago by jego from France with 26 ratings

Un rhum rond, fruité et légèrement sucré. Bref un rhum comme je les aime qui donne vraiment envie de tester le 21...

Posted over 5 years ago by Scott from United States with 13 ratings

Another quality rum from ED. Not as sweet as the 12 yr, and honestly a totally different animal. Quite fruity and well balanced. The finish is long and lovely. Leather and black licorice (which is a first for me). Definitely a keeper!




#