Posting your rating...
Foursquare 2004 Bourbon Cask Strength 11-Year rum

Foursquare 2004 Bourbon Cask Strength 11-Year

Barbados | Aged

8.5/10 (67 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
6
18
33
7

Rate Foursquare 2004 Bourbon Cask Strength 11-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


67 Foursquare 2004 Bourbon Cask Strength 11-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Brian from United States with 11 ratings

This was my first Foursquare experience and it did not disappoint! The nose explodes with chocolate dates fibs and berries! Not overly sweet and what I have come to love even more is nothing added!! They are doing it right down in Barbados and have converted me back to rum from Whiskey! Cheers to you Mr. Seale and Co.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

It seems that every single rum coming out of Foursquare can be rated as at least very good. Many of them are among the best that you can buy at any price. This is clearly one of those - it's among the best rums produced by RL Seale. Bottled at cask strength and bursting with flavors and aromas of sun-dried fruit, spice, wood, cocoa...and more...it's very strong but immensely enjoyable when sipped straight. So many rum reviews - on this site and others as well - will describe a rum as being good for whiskey-lovers or cognac-drinkers. Well, this one is a real treat for rum-lovers!

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

200th review.

This rum has a heavy bourbon flavor. Very strong at 59%abv, but good. I prefer this over more expensive straight bourbons, as it includes a nice rum sweetness.

I'd rate it even higher if I were a bigger fan of bourbon aged rum. :-)

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 71 ratings

I almost held off writing this review since I'm still discovering so much more from this rum each and every day that I drink it. You really have to respect that so much is going on without the added sugar and additives that so many other rum producers are creating. Don't get me wrong, I love and drink sweet rums as much as the next guy but it's also very special to drink a rum that's only standing on the distiller's genius(Thank you, Richard Seale!) I'm now excited and can't wait to try the Port and Zinfandel bottles.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

There is not much to say here. Bottled 59% full proof lets you choose how straight or thinned out you like it. Pot and Column blend plus 11 years bourbon barrel aging gives full depth of flavors and nose. Tropical fruits, black cherries and almonds, tobacco, chocolate, slight hints of funk.... it's all in there. No added sugar and flavors. Only the basic process of distilling and aging and then bottled at cask strength!! Priced right too. This is what rum is. Not some watered down flavored overly sweet easy and smooth piss.
True pure Bajan rum. If thats what you are looking for than you simply can not go wrong here.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 357 ratings

Schönes Bernstein mit Gold Reflektionen im Glas.
In der Nase eine wunderbare Palette von Düften, frisch getoastetes Eichenholz mit Kakaopulver bestreut, weisse Früchte liegen in einem aus Gras und Moos geflochtenem Korb, alles frisch und leicht und sehr komplex.
Im Gaumen wird es noch komplexer, die 59% tragen die Aromen von mit dunkler Schokolade übergossenen Früchten, mit Marzipan gefüllte Kokosnüsse, geröstetes Karamell in Vanille Sauce , Kardamom und Pfeffer mit Holz zerstossen sehr sanft über die Zunge. Ein Traum !
Im Abgang nimmt man zum ersten Mal für kurze Zeit die Fassstärke wahr. Kakao und Pfeffer bleiben präsent, Früchte und Vanille runden das Ganze ab. 9+
Ein absolutes Muss für Liebhaber von Bajan Rum, auch für full proof Einsteiger sicherlich eine gute Wahl. Für Süss-Rum Geniesser nicht zu empfehlen, Barbados ist immer ohne Zucker.

Beautiful amber with gold reflections in the glass.
In the nose a wonderful palette of scents, freshly toasted oak wood sprinkled with cocoa powder, white fruits lie in a grass and moss braided basket, all fresh and light and very complex.
The palate is even more complex, the 59% bear the aromas of dark chocolate-infused fruits, marzipan-filled coconuts, toasted caramel in vanilla sauce, cardamom and pepper with wood crush very gently over the tongue. A dream !
In the finish you take the cask strength for the first time for a short time. Cocoa and pepper remain present, fruits and vanilla complete the whole. 9+
An absolute must for lovers of Bajan rum, even for full proof beginners certainly a good choice. For sweet-rum connoisseurs not recommended, Barbados is always without sugar.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Norup from Denmark with 60 ratings

Barbados is Called the birthplace of rum, and i am easily convinced that this is how rum is meant to be. Mr. Seale deserves the highest recognition and respect for releasing this masterpiece without adding colours, sugar and not even water. Pure cask strenght rum. And unlike many other "golddigger" editions this is not a limited, numbered edition only for the collector, but accessable for every true pirat out there at an extremely reasonable price.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by EvilAFI from Canada with 2 ratings

My first rum that caught me, vanilla, brown sugar, banana, caramel, light oak and spice, sweet but not sugary or cloying. Abv is hidden. I know it is bourbon finished and I am coming from a whisky drinking background so I am “supposed” to like this, but..... holy damn does it ever scratch the itch well for a enjoyable pour that isn’t whisk(e)y

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Samurdavidov from Latvia with 60 ratings

Price ~70 euro per bottle

Foursquare - it’s important name in today’s Rum history. When worlds rum market industry fallows demand and add different flavors and sugar to make “rum” much sweeter - Foursquare keep they own way and still making amazing Rum. RUM - pure and clean, without sugar and flavorings and put they product on very high level.

This Foursquare 2004 from Barbados is really outstanding. It’s 59%, but you can use it easily straight. And it is only right way how to sampling this Rum.

Heavy rums, cask strength, full proof rums is for people who love “massage». In your mouth. Spirits with less ABV just can’t give it to you.

So...

Nose: put your nose in glass and close your eyes. Amazing! Simple and great. Pleasant sweetness. Very appetizing. Oak, leather, hazelnuts, hint of fruitiness.

Palate: long and lasting. Full body, it slowly opened in your mouth. Complex, well balanced. Woody, leather again, little dry, crispy baked tropical fruits.
Second sip. Larger sip.
Much more dryness. Spiciness. Oh... and here come my massage.

Aftertaste is very long. You can feel a long time this spicy dance. And when it’s over, and music stops you can feel weak tingling like after anesthesia.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jmknight20 from United States with 1 rating

I am fairly new to the rum community, I’m currently trying various Rum’s that I enjoy, not necessarily rated highly. This Rum has been one of the best so far. Great taste, easy through the mouth and enjoyable from start to finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Alaska Joe from United States with 34 ratings

A manly expression coming out of Barbados, if you sip this bad boy too deep into the night, he will kick your ass! I’m really loving the high quality rum coming out of the Foursquare distillery, clearly I’m not the only one. I like this but don’t love it, but would very much recommend it especially to bourbon lovers.