Posting your rating...
Foursquare 2004 Bourbon Cask Strength 11-Year rum

Rate Foursquare 2004 Bourbon Cask Strength 11-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


66 Foursquare 2004 Bourbon Cask Strength 11-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Dennis E Vang from Denmark with 89 ratings

Denne rom bære meget præg af Bourbon fadet og en rigtig god styrke. Den er skal smages et par gange, mens en vokser med tiden.
God rom med masser af smag.

Posted over 3 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

It seems that every single rum coming out of Foursquare can be rated as at least very good. Many of them are among the best that you can buy at any price. This is clearly one of those - it's among the best rums produced by RL Seale. Bottled at cask strength and bursting with flavors and aromas of sun-dried fruit, spice, wood, cocoa...and more...it's very strong but immensely enjoyable when sipped straight. So many rum reviews - on this site and others as well - will describe a rum as being good for whiskey-lovers or cognac-drinkers. Well, this one is a real treat for rum-lovers!

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

200th review.

This rum has a heavy bourbon flavor. Very strong at 59%abv, but good. I prefer this over more expensive straight bourbons, as it includes a nice rum sweetness.

I'd rate it even higher if I were a bigger fan of bourbon aged rum. :-)

Posted over 3 years ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

I almost held off writing this review since I'm still discovering so much more from this rum each and every day that I drink it. You really have to respect that so much is going on without the added sugar and additives that so many other rum producers are creating. Don't get me wrong, I love and drink sweet rums as much as the next guy but it's also very special to drink a rum that's only standing on the distiller's genius(Thank you, Richard Seale!) I'm now excited and can't wait to try the Port and Zinfandel bottles.

Posted over 3 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

There is not much to say here. Bottled 59% full proof lets you choose how straight or thinned out you like it. Pot and Column blend plus 11 years bourbon barrel aging gives full depth of flavors and nose. Tropical fruits, black cherries and almonds, tobacco, chocolate, slight hints of funk.... it's all in there. No added sugar and flavors. Only the basic process of distilling and aging and then bottled at cask strength!! Priced right too. This is what rum is. Not some watered down flavored overly sweet easy and smooth piss.
True pure Bajan rum. If thats what you are looking for than you simply can not go wrong here.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 341 ratings

Schönes Bernstein mit Gold Reflektionen im Glas.
In der Nase eine wunderbare Palette von Düften, frisch getoastetes Eichenholz mit Kakaopulver bestreut, weisse Früchte liegen in einem aus Gras und Moos geflochtenem Korb, alles frisch und leicht und sehr komplex.
Im Gaumen wird es noch komplexer, die 59% tragen die Aromen von mit dunkler Schokolade übergossenen Früchten, mit Marzipan gefüllte Kokosnüsse, geröstetes Karamell in Vanille Sauce , Kardamom und Pfeffer mit Holz zerstossen sehr sanft über die Zunge. Ein Traum !
Im Abgang nimmt man zum ersten Mal für kurze Zeit die Fassstärke wahr. Kakao und Pfeffer bleiben präsent, Früchte und Vanille runden das Ganze ab. 9+
Ein absolutes Muss für Liebhaber von Bajan Rum, auch für full proof Einsteiger sicherlich eine gute Wahl. Für Süss-Rum Geniesser nicht zu empfehlen, Barbados ist immer ohne Zucker.

Beautiful amber with gold reflections in the glass.
In the nose a wonderful palette of scents, freshly toasted oak wood sprinkled with cocoa powder, white fruits lie in a grass and moss braided basket, all fresh and light and very complex.
The palate is even more complex, the 59% bear the aromas of dark chocolate-infused fruits, marzipan-filled coconuts, toasted caramel in vanilla sauce, cardamom and pepper with wood crush very gently over the tongue. A dream !
In the finish you take the cask strength for the first time for a short time. Cocoa and pepper remain present, fruits and vanilla complete the whole. 9+
An absolute must for lovers of Bajan rum, even for full proof beginners certainly a good choice. For sweet-rum connoisseurs not recommended, Barbados is always without sugar.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Norup from Denmark with 60 ratings

Barbados is Called the birthplace of rum, and i am easily convinced that this is how rum is meant to be. Mr. Seale deserves the highest recognition and respect for releasing this masterpiece without adding colours, sugar and not even water. Pure cask strenght rum. And unlike many other "golddigger" editions this is not a limited, numbered edition only for the collector, but accessable for every true pirat out there at an extremely reasonable price.

Posted 3 months ago by EvilAFI from Canada with 2 ratings

My first rum that caught me, vanilla, brown sugar, banana, caramel, light oak and spice, sweet but not sugary or cloying. Abv is hidden. I know it is bourbon finished and I am coming from a whisky drinking background so I am “supposed” to like this, but..... holy damn does it ever scratch the itch well for a enjoyable pour that isn’t whisk(e)y

Posted 5 months ago by Samurdavidov from Latvia with 60 ratings

Price ~70 euro per bottle

Foursquare - it’s important name in today’s Rum history. When worlds rum market industry fallows demand and add different flavors and sugar to make “rum” much sweeter - Foursquare keep they own way and still making amazing Rum. RUM - pure and clean, without sugar and flavorings and put they product on very high level.

This Foursquare 2004 from Barbados is really outstanding. It’s 59%, but you can use it easily straight. And it is only right way how to sampling this Rum.

Heavy rums, cask strength, full proof rums is for people who love “massage». In your mouth. Spirits with less ABV just can’t give it to you.

So...

Nose: put your nose in glass and close your eyes. Amazing! Simple and great. Pleasant sweetness. Very appetizing. Oak, leather, hazelnuts, hint of fruitiness.

Palate: long and lasting. Full body, it slowly opened in your mouth. Complex, well balanced. Woody, leather again, little dry, crispy baked tropical fruits.
Second sip. Larger sip.
Much more dryness. Spiciness. Oh... and here come my massage.

Aftertaste is very long. You can feel a long time this spicy dance. And when it’s over, and music stops you can feel weak tingling like after anesthesia.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jmknight20 from United States with 1 rating

I am fairly new to the rum community, I’m currently trying various Rum’s that I enjoy, not necessarily rated highly. This Rum has been one of the best so far. Great taste, easy through the mouth and enjoyable from start to finish.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Alaska Joe from United States with 33 ratings

A manly expression coming out of Barbados, if you sip this bad boy too deep into the night, he will kick your ass! I’m really loving the high quality rum coming out of the Foursquare distillery, clearly I’m not the only one. I like this but don’t love it, but would very much recommend it especially to bourbon lovers.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

A blend of pot & Column still bottled at cask strength 59%abv. Apparently the first cask strength release by Foursquare itself.

Typical Bajan aroma with surprisingly little alcohol fumes. very pleasant aroma with usual bourbon notes of vanilla, spice and a bit of liquorice. Taste is very intense & hot at cask strength. Sweet & spicy with vanilla & dark chocolate. A very long finish with plenty of oak tannin that leads you to want more.

A very good value unadulterated cask strength rum. Deserves to have the label “exceptional”

Posted almost 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

R.L. Seale has another winning rum. A friend of mind presented me with this as a gift and I am grateful for it. Fourquare rums are not sold anywhere in this area so I was pleasantly surprised to receive one.

The aroma in my snifter is quite delightful. Crisp and clean. It has a rich amber/golden hue and excellent legs. It is a "single blended rum" that has been aged for 11 years.

Let me warn you up front...this is not a rum for the faint of heart. It is 118 proof (59% ABV) thus an intense rum. Albeit not technically an overproof rum it is still rather close (referred to as a "full strength rum" . It will knock you on your booty is you are not careful. Just before the burn hits there is a noticeable tannin bitterness from the oak and a slight sweetness. It has a peppery bite and a touch of vanilla and caramel. A sipping rum for bourbon lovers and rum drinkers looking to raise the bar.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

Explosion of flavors is the best way to describe this rum. A whiff of cinnamon tempers the 59% full strength nose. The taste reveals a complex blend of fruit and spice, with hints of leather and cocoa. This is a truly outstanding sipping rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

I purchased this to be my top-shelf sipper, and am not disappointed. This is a rum for rum drinkers who are tired of syrupy, additive-laden concoctions, as well as adventurous whiskey drinkers looking to try something on the sweeter side. It's a dry rum, but still unmistakably rum. Foursquare have crafted a spirit that is well-balanced and bursting with aromas. At 59%, it's not the most approachable rum out there, and benefits from a few drops of water to open it up a bit, though I wouldn't hide it in ice. And don't you dare mix it with cola!

A fine rum, indeed. Keep up the good work, Richard!

Posted over 3 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

I wondered whether I shouldn't dilute this one down a bit, but then realised that if I did that, I might just as well drink the 9yo or 11yo that Foursquare have at 40%. While the nose is a tad fiery even over the oak, the body really isn't overly so. Sure there is a burn, that is to be expected. But it is not harsh in any way. Softened out by the oak, and there is plenty of it. Rich fruit, plenty of oak, plenty of alcohol.....what's not to like?

At 59% this is too strong for me, but it will be absolutely fine in the cupboard and will be drunk more slowly than other bottles.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Mr Seale, I'd have to take my hat of for this rum. Nothing added, just a quality product. True Bajan rum for true rum lovers.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

molasses. dry rum.

great taste. powerhouse due to its strength. typical barbados taste. with bold mouthfeel.
spicy. some notes of vanilla. smoke.

great! 9/10

Posted over 3 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 62 ratings

Joyful to drink ! Another masterpiece from Richard Seals.

Posted 4 months ago by randycous (PREMIUM) from United States with 14 ratings

Really nice. Smooth and complex flavor. My best, so far.

Posted 4 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

This is what I use to get bourbon lovers into rum. It is easily better than 95% of rums of this style.

Posted 4 months ago by DFW.TX from United States with 19 ratings

Huge fan of anything Foursquare. This is about as solid as it gets. Going to hold off on any descriptive review to give this a little time to open up. Not quite a "hell yes" reaction I had after uncorking 2007 so I'm going to let it sit a bit and revisit. Initially, I would rate this a point behind 2007 and about a half a point above the 2005.

Posted 6 months ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Paper ashes with strong zesty nose, molasses at the heart with arrays of bitter chocolate ganache, unsweetened vanilla and mouthwatering sour young mango. Bit of sweet and sour brine. (87/21)

P- Spicy and rubber at first, then bright fruit salad sweetness arrived. Quite drastically evolved to burnt tar with hints of industrial and dirty oil. (86/20)

F- Medium long, tobacco, herb-y and leafy. Bitter minty candy. Dry. (87/21)

B/B- 86/20

Weighted Rate- 82pt
— at Kill Devil KL.

Posted 6 months ago by Jan from Netherlands with 10 ratings

Hi All, This is my second Foursquare Rum that i am tasting (and emptying very soon ;)).
It is a cask strength rum and at 59% it isnt for the faint of hearted. I enjoyd this very much and only drinked it straight.

Posted 7 months ago by xCorporalx (PREMIUM) from Germany with 79 ratings

What a fantastic rum, I had to pour myself another glass immediately...the smell, the taste, the thickness...even the colour.. instantly fall in love with it...

So diverse, so tasty...really one of the most surprising rums I have tasted so far...almost afraid now to empty the bottle :)

It basically instantly jumped into the Top 5 best list and secured a spot!

I usually am a real fan of sugared rum, yet this treasure shows you what fine rum making is all about.

59%...***dirty smile***

☆☆☆ 9.5 to a 10 ☆☆☆




#