Posting your rating...
Foursquare 2004 Bourbon Cask Strength 11-Year rum

Foursquare 2004 Bourbon Cask Strength 11-Year

Barbados | Aged

8.5/10 (67 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
6
18
33
7

Rate Foursquare 2004 Bourbon Cask Strength 11-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


67 Foursquare 2004 Bourbon Cask Strength 11-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

1ff5b6cf5a65436737f083200dd896c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

Very well made, with layers of complexity that open more with water and time.

This is a fairly relaxed spirit, with hints of fruit and spice. The burn is mostly gone, even for an overproof... such exceptional aging can be appreciated by any individual that savors a nice dram. Show this one to your whisky drinker friends, and watch as they convert to rummies.

414f4d5ba4b70d47f4e1beb09fb7a3d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

A blend of pot & Column still bottled at cask strength 59%abv. Apparently the first cask strength release by Foursquare itself.

Typical Bajan aroma with surprisingly little alcohol fumes. very pleasant aroma with usual bourbon notes of vanilla, spice and a bit of liquorice. Taste is very intense & hot at cask strength. Sweet & spicy with vanilla & dark chocolate. A very long finish with plenty of oak tannin that leads you to want more.

A very good value unadulterated cask strength rum. Deserves to have the label “exceptional”

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

R.L. Seale has another winning rum. A friend of mind presented me with this as a gift and I am grateful for it. Fourquare rums are not sold anywhere in this area so I was pleasantly surprised to receive one.

The aroma in my snifter is quite delightful. Crisp and clean. It has a rich amber/golden hue and excellent legs. It is a "single blended rum" that has been aged for 11 years.

Let me warn you up front...this is not a rum for the faint of heart. It is 118 proof (59% ABV) thus an intense rum. Albeit not technically an overproof rum it is still rather close (referred to as a "full strength rum" . It will knock you on your booty is you are not careful. Just before the burn hits there is a noticeable tannin bitterness from the oak and a slight sweetness. It has a peppery bite and a touch of vanilla and caramel. A sipping rum for bourbon lovers and rum drinkers looking to raise the bar.

019476c071fd9a9e14faec5003bbcec3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

Explosion of flavors is the best way to describe this rum. A whiff of cinnamon tempers the 59% full strength nose. The taste reveals a complex blend of fruit and spice, with hints of leather and cocoa. This is a truly outstanding sipping rum.

E64bf7e26e7537f100b622b2dca6cba5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

I purchased this to be my top-shelf sipper, and am not disappointed. This is a rum for rum drinkers who are tired of syrupy, additive-laden concoctions, as well as adventurous whiskey drinkers looking to try something on the sweeter side. It's a dry rum, but still unmistakably rum. Foursquare have crafted a spirit that is well-balanced and bursting with aromas. At 59%, it's not the most approachable rum out there, and benefits from a few drops of water to open it up a bit, though I wouldn't hide it in ice. And don't you dare mix it with cola!

A fine rum, indeed. Keep up the good work, Richard!

F7d3175f31cd02224b356ba0a37894b9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

I wondered whether I shouldn't dilute this one down a bit, but then realised that if I did that, I might just as well drink the 9yo or 11yo that Foursquare have at 40%. While the nose is a tad fiery even over the oak, the body really isn't overly so. Sure there is a burn, that is to be expected. But it is not harsh in any way. Softened out by the oak, and there is plenty of it. Rich fruit, plenty of oak, plenty of alcohol.....what's not to like?

At 59% this is too strong for me, but it will be absolutely fine in the cupboard and will be drunk more slowly than other bottles.

736590314cfb41ca7ad84b543834a1a4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Mr Seale, I'd have to take my hat of for this rum. Nothing added, just a quality product. True Bajan rum for true rum lovers.

748970cca3e0174b64c14b78eadf96bb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

molasses. dry rum.

great taste. powerhouse due to its strength. typical barbados taste. with bold mouthfeel.
spicy. some notes of vanilla. smoke.

great! 9/10

52fee49bde77e0e1895e2802c0fd79a9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 62 ratings

Joyful to drink ! Another masterpiece from Richard Seals.

10025d4670ff50de5c2b9a20aec4c8d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

Foursquare have gained quite a name in the rum world with their great quality rums. Especially the cask finish series have been praised, so I decided to taste some of them. This is the 3rd edition in the series.

Nose: Brown sugar, vanilla, raisins, smoky oak and bourbon
Taste: Molasses, spicy fruit, oak, vanilla and raisins
Overall: This is really an exceptional rum. The overall taste is great. The mouth get coated with flavor, that lingers for very long. The ABV enhances the rums qualities without leaving a burning sensation. This rum is not easy to find anymore, but if you do, then buy it instantly.

11a203ba777bfefd5e73791cb635b442.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by randycous (PREMIUM) from United States with 14 ratings

Really nice. Smooth and complex flavor. My best, so far.