Posting your rating...
Foursquare 2004 11-Year rum

Foursquare 2004 11-Year

Barbados | Aged

8.5/10
76 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
18
40
7

Rate Foursquare 2004 11-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

76 Foursquare 2004 11-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Brian from United States with 11 ratings

This was my first Foursquare experience and it did not disappoint! The nose explodes with chocolate dates fibs and berries! Not overly sweet and what I have come to love even more is nothing added!! They are doing it right down in Barbados and have converted me back to rum from Whiskey! Cheers to you Mr. Seale and Co.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Jmknight20 from United States with 1 rating

I am fairly new to the rum community, I’m currently trying various Rum’s that I enjoy, not necessarily rated highly. This Rum has been one of the best so far. Great taste, easy through the mouth and enjoyable from start to finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 400 ratings

I finally got my hands on a bottle of this highly praised rum with no additives. Since it is cask strength at 118 proof, sipping neat will only burn your mouth along with obliterating the flavors. Adding about a teaspoon of spring water to the snifter toned down the burn and brought out some flavors. Unfortunately, this was the bitter oak after taste in addition to caramel and vanilla. These flavors can be found on almost any rum. Adding still another teaspoon of spring water to the snifter basically brought out no more flavors while completely eliminating the burn and having it almost taste like a very good mixer.

After three different trials, my conclusion was "What's the point?" There are so many other dry rums with similar flavors, no burn, and cheaper pricing. At $66 for one bottle with a very, very cheap screw cap, you are paying for the name. I won't rave about it based upon my own foolish expense. Hey, I just had to try and it won't go to waste.

After sampling two small snifters of my new Foursquare, I found myself reaching for my bottle of Don Q 2005 Single Barrel, which blows this one away for a little more than half the price. I also compared Kirk & Sweeney 18 to both. After the other two just tested, the K&S 18 does taste better than this Foursquare, but it is also not 100% dry with 4 gpl of added sugar instead of 0 gpl of added sugar like the Don Q and Foursquare. Stick with Don Q 2005 Single Barrel for 100% dry over this Foursquare 2004 Single Blend. If you don't mind a very tiny bit of added sugar, then go for the K&S 18.

After note November 5, 2018: Since this one has few flavors and no hangover penalty, it only qualifies as one very expensive drunk. With that in mind, one could buy at least 7 bottles of Cruzan Gold that all have more flavor than this one as well as have no hangover penalty.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Alaska Joe from United States with 41 ratings

A manly expression coming out of Barbados, if you sip this bad boy too deep into the night, he will kick your ass! I’m really loving the high quality rum coming out of the Foursquare distillery, clearly I’m not the only one. I like this but don’t love it, but would very much recommend it especially to bourbon lovers.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Robert eisen from United States with 12 ratings

This overproof rum is too strident for my taste. I prefer smoothness. It is better with an ice cube but still not great.

Also, screw cap instead of cork takes away from the experience.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Dave77 from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

I bought this at the same time as El Dorado 15 year, which was far superior.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

A blend of pot & Column still bottled at cask strength 59%abv. Apparently the first cask strength release by Foursquare itself.

Typical Bajan aroma with surprisingly little alcohol fumes. very pleasant aroma with usual bourbon notes of vanilla, spice and a bit of liquorice. Taste is very intense & hot at cask strength. Sweet & spicy with vanilla & dark chocolate. A very long finish with plenty of oak tannin that leads you to want more.

A very good value unadulterated cask strength rum. Deserves to have the label “exceptional”

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

R.L. Seale has another winning rum. A friend of mind presented me with this as a gift and I am grateful for it. Fourquare rums are not sold anywhere in this area so I was pleasantly surprised to receive one.

The aroma in my snifter is quite delightful. Crisp and clean. It has a rich amber/golden hue and excellent legs. It is a "single blended rum" that has been aged for 11 years.

Let me warn you up front...this is not a rum for the faint of heart. It is 118 proof (59% ABV) thus an intense rum. Albeit not technically an overproof rum it is still rather close (referred to as a "full strength rum" . It will knock you on your booty is you are not careful. Just before the burn hits there is a noticeable tannin bitterness from the oak and a slight sweetness. It has a peppery bite and a touch of vanilla and caramel. A sipping rum for bourbon lovers and rum drinkers looking to raise the bar.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Alan from United States with 87 ratings

Explosion of flavors is the best way to describe this rum. A whiff of cinnamon tempers the 59% full strength nose. The taste reveals a complex blend of fruit and spice, with hints of leather and cocoa. This is a truly outstanding sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 325 ratings

I purchased this to be my top-shelf sipper, and am not disappointed. This is a rum for rum drinkers who are tired of syrupy, additive-laden concoctions, as well as adventurous whiskey drinkers looking to try something on the sweeter side. It's a dry rum, but still unmistakably rum. Foursquare have crafted a spirit that is well-balanced and bursting with aromas. At 59%, it's not the most approachable rum out there, and benefits from a few drops of water to open it up a bit, though I wouldn't hide it in ice. And don't you dare mix it with cola!

A fine rum, indeed. Keep up the good work, Richard!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 139 ratings

I wondered whether I shouldn't dilute this one down a bit, but then realised that if I did that, I might just as well drink the 9yo or 11yo that Foursquare have at 40%. While the nose is a tad fiery even over the oak, the body really isn't overly so. Sure there is a burn, that is to be expected. But it is not harsh in any way. Softened out by the oak, and there is plenty of it. Rich fruit, plenty of oak, plenty of alcohol.....what's not to like?

At 59% this is too strong for me, but it will be absolutely fine in the cupboard and will be drunk more slowly than other bottles.