Posting your rating...
El Dorado 2002 Versailles rum

El Dorado 2002 Versailles

Guyana | Aged

7.9/10 (16 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
3
2
3

Rate El Dorado 2002 Versailles

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


16 El Dorado 2002 Versailles ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

On the nose, notes of nuts are released on the almond and walnut. It is nevertheless very fresh with perhaps a little orange aroma. In the mouth, alcohol is present but the sweet side makes for a good balance. Very complex with a super long finish. It is a beautiful rum but like his brother Enmore, it is just as expensive.

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 237 ratings

A very nice nose that needs to breathe a bit (63% vol). I pick up tobacco, homemade caramel, leather, vanilla and wooden planks with sap-like overtones. There’s no denying the pot still character. In the mouth the rum hit’s me intensely with the same lovely notes found in the nose, but it also feels a little sharper than other cask strength rums in this category. The finish is fairly subtle given the initial flavour explosion, but lingers for a while with a little woody caramel. Very nice. The slight lack of refinement and high price, holds this otherwise wonderful bottle from achieving a 9 in my book.

12ed51c119d70dc15b5191208ed82060.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Really delicious Demerara. Complex, deep flavours, spices, raisins, plum, coffee, no added BS (sugar etc) - Amen. Love it.

Bd0cba92b39dde93faef8f135320e303.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Top rum van El Dorado. Met een abv van 63℅ zijn de smaken en aromas erg sterk. Caramel, tabak, tropisch fruit, kaneel.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 25 days ago by Joola69 from United States with 2651 ratings

Rum tasting in the Finnish wilderness with my good old friend continued with El Dorado 2002 Versailles. Beautiful bottle and label design. Golden color. Oak mixed with orange to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Hot ending.

4eb36190a963506e34b5496e45e2d86e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Helena Tiare from Sweden with 110 ratings

Very good rum and how El Dorado should be, without added sugar and with a great punch!

A1fe2aa8ab593703e4f33edb37c79fa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Interestingly as well intensely made. Squeezing whole of uncut passion-fruit, breath in the distant fragrant of the fruit with hint of earth. Well lay with rich cafe mocha in the middle and welcoming fume-y notes. Long lasting and evolved well to roasted peppercorn with tinge of brown syrup. (89/22)

P- Mouthwatering, burst of dried fruits of raisin, hawthorn and bitter chocolate. Authentic, earthy, spicy and semi aggressive with refine richness. Dry, tannin with raising fume of charred strength to flex its muscle, just the way how I like my rum. (93/23)

F- Long, alluring mouth coat, dry, herb-y, rum soaked dried fruits sweetness and reasonable depth to mesmerize. In the sea of rum, to encounter a genuine flavours like this are cheer-able. (92/33)

B/B- 92/23

Weighted Rate- 91pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Ebc8a98110a85a80e7bd31ef0aa5d056.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by AndReginald from Italy with 43 ratings

My only problem with this rum is that it's too sweet for me, I would give it a solid 8 but that sugar was too much. Nice vanilla and caramel taste, sweet in the ending. Zero burn, and with 63% looks suspicious (how much added sugar? Didn't found anything online).

Fcb51af3549a7dc9d8eff4adbc11db2a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Rumstick from Germany with 1 rating

I had this rum as an old fashioned. The taste was really good and complex. Starting with a chocolate flavor in the first place I experienced a very intense note of coffee in the aftertaste.
A delicious rum which is unfortunately not one of the most affordable ones.

6636b563bb1760a62d7598d3dab39fba.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Örjan from Sweden with 60 ratings

Strong, sugar-coated almond, coffee bean, damson, milk chocolate, black pepper and thick molasses.