Posting your rating...
Foursquare Zinfandel Cask Blend 11-Year rum

Rate Foursquare Zinfandel Cask Blend 11-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


91 Foursquare Zinfandel Cask Blend 11-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

No added sugar or flavors. Everything is coming from distilling and barrel aging. I am interested to learn where foursquare is getting their zin barrels from. The nose is extremely heady and floral. In a blind tasting I would probably never guess wine but knowing it's there sends you searching and it is indeed detectable, floating up top in the back of the nose. The palate is rich and thankfully it's bottled at 43%. I can't help but wonder how the blender came to this ratio of bourbon and zin and how the line can be tipped one way or the other.
I bought this along with the amazing 2004 so I could gain side by side perspective. The zin has far less charred white oak that so dominates the 2004! This gives it a multi dimentional quality and would be perfect pairing with a well rounded charcuterie platter.

Bottom line, these R.L. Seale rums in the Foursquare line are stellar.
Unless your favorite rum is El Dorado 12, in which case I'm truly sorry for you, your going to want to get this.
A note on packaging... It's bare bones no frills screw cap bottling and thats okay. Whats inside truly speaks for itself.

Posted over 2 years ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

I bought this after reading all the rave reviews claiming this rum to be amongst the best available. I have to say on my first tasting, I couldn’t see what all the fuss was about. I almost thought it was bland.
Having made no secret that DF Res is my personal favourite, this was a million miles away.
However, after the second visit, I hope that I am truly now appreciative of what this “ true rum” offers.

It’s naturally sweet, has little burn, leaves a long warming aftertaste that makes the throat glow.

I do not add my normal 1 ice cube, just take it as it’s meant to be, nothing added.
The more I try it the more it grows on me.

43% and still exceptionally smooth, nothing added, as natural as it can be.

I’m converted.
Graham.

Posted about 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

Zinfandel Cask Blend has a stunning continuity between aroma and taste. No additives allow the master blender's art to shine, revealing a wealth of rich and complex flavors.

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I like Port more than I like Zin, and I love the Foursquare Port, so I thought for sure I'd like that more. But this is even better (imho) than the Foursquare Port!

This has a wonderful pepper spice to it, and though not too sweet, it's not too dry either. Smells and tastes of molasses, pepper, toffee, marzipan, oak, and cinnamon. I also noticed a little Zin flavor after looking for it (because well it is a Zin rum).

This is another fantastic aged rum from Foursquare. I'm REALLY impressed with the quality of their aged rums - especially for the low price of under $50 ($49.99 at Mission Liquor).

Posted over 3 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This is Seale's Zin-Cask rum and it is out of this world. Whereas the port-finish offering from last year overpowered the rum rather than added to it, this Zin finish marries so easily with the rum to produce a luscious bouquet and delicious flavor throughout the tasting. It's very dry, yet full of fruity overtones and spicy goodness. Excellent product. Straight up all the way.

Posted about 1 year ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 136 ratings

Deep brown sugar nose. Smooth molasses flavour with the Zinfandel cask coming through well - quite an interesting wine-type initial hit, but I’m not an enormous fan of it. Serious spice lasts forever with smokey and woodsy tones. Unique for sure, just not my cut of tea

Posted almost 3 years ago by nealc from United States with 2 ratings

Rum was one of my first favorite spirits.. However for past decade or so I haven't really had much, looking into other things. Recently I thought I should get back into rum but came across so many different unfamiliar labels and didn't really know what to be looking for and what was just hype. So I was at TJ and saw this one, and the price was decent and a quick phone websearch showed it was supposed to be OK. Brought it home and wow - balance, beautiful fruit aroma (maybe a slight suggestion of black cherry from the zin), smooth flavor, alluring sweetness, and balance again. blown away, and brought me back to rum.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

I loved the port cask and was looking forward to trying another Foursquare classy rum. It didn't disappoint... Beautiful fruity aroma upon opening , then after leaving in the glass for 5 mins my first sip... amazing taste , fruit , wine cask and a little pepper. Its dry but not too dry and the aftertaste is the best I've experienced so far... just great rum ! Vintage cask next.

Posted about 3 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Took more than 20 minutes for the big alcohol aroma to dissipate.
I find this common with new bottles. That's not a detriment, just an observation. Nutty, oak, a little hot in a good way; the grapes are there, on the sides of the tongue.
Long finish at the back of the mouth. Walnuts? A solid pick, if you like them dry.

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

I am in love with this rum. I first tried it at the 2016 California Rum Festival, along with the Port Cask Finish and a couple other Foursquare offerings (connected with R L Seale, so you know it's good right off the bat).

Pour this in a large snifter or cabernet glass, and take in the aromas of wine barrels. If you've never visited a winery's barrel-aging room before, this may be the next-best thing. The double-aging in bourbon (first) and zinfandel (last) casks works really, really well.

In the mouth, this rum is smooth, with a satisfying oak bite. The flavor is complex, with characteristic Bajan sweetness, but off-dry overall. It strikes a really nice balance. I've read that some caramel color was added, but no other additives or sweeteners, allowing the rum to shine on its own.

And shine it does! I've given this as gifts to two special folks for the holidays, and only wish I had one for myself—but I've got several other bottles to get though, first :).

If there's room on your shelf, don't pass this one up! (Or any of the Exceptional Cask Series offerings from Foursquare.)

10-

(Update 8/17 - I had demoted to this to a 9 for several days after a re-tasting. The flavor and sweetness profile of this rum seems to vary dramatically depending on what I have before it. Immediately followed by a super-dry rum, it's a bit too sweet. Followed by an off-dry rum or, especially, a nice red wine, this bottle shines. Especially with a little time to breathe—I can get lost in that wine barrel nose for ages! This stuff may be a 9 or 9+—nothing to scoff at—but I'm returning it to a 10 for the pure beauty of what Richard accomplished, with the hope that he will continue to release more of the same (rumors of petite sirah barrels have me very excited...). This rum also holds sentimental value to me, which is worth at least a half point :). Enjoy!)

Posted over 3 years ago by IvoK from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

I like Foursquare Port cask 9yo,this one is one step more mature,the Zinfandel adds touch of specialty.

Color:medium caramel color
Nose:vanilla,caramel
Body:hot(rum alcohol shot-which I really like),oak
Tail:long,proper rum taste
9/10

Posted almost 4 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

A rich sweet nose but no real hints of Zinfandel. The palate is unctious, smooth, long with a wonderful touch of alcohol. Dry but with a richness of fruit presumably from the Zin, but it is no way winey. There is sometimes a criticism some (but not me) level at the 9yo Port Finish, that it has too much influence of Port, but there is no problems with this one. A really superb rum at a reasonable price. I used to bemoan the fact that there weren't enough good rums from Barbados, but RL Seale is showing that there are some absolute stunners. Bottled at 43%, while the Port is at 40%

Posted about 2 years ago by Michael N from United States with 69 ratings

I was apprehensive to give this a try. No added sugar or flavors, sounds bland. Wow was I wrong. Subtle taste, great aroma, smooth finish. Overall a excellent rum to drink neat.

Posted about 2 years ago by Jan Mynar from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

Foursquare Zinfandel Cask Blend is very impressive rum masterpiece. Simply brilliant rum for the price, but just remember that it is different from “standard” rums and I would say it is only enjoyable for experienced drinkers. The Zinfandel influence is very prominent and adds some real intrigue. If you like British style rums go ahead and give a try to this Bajan rum.

read more on my blog:
http://www.rumtips.com/2018/02/foursquare-zinfandel-cask-blend-bloody.html

Posted over 2 years ago by Hans-Durstig from United Kingdom with 43 ratings

The 4th in the Foursquare special cask editions, the Zinfandel cask aged is another winner. Blended between pot and column still, and Zinfandel and bourbon casks it has not been sweetened or coloured.
It comes in the same bottle as its predecessors and the Doorley's rums, meaning it has a screw cap, belying the quality in the bottle.

Colour: deep golden
Nose: delicately spiritedy with a bunch of fresh fruit notes
Mouth: gorgeously warming, fruity notes from the Zinfandel with warm woody tones and a hint of bourbon.
Sweetness: 2-3/5; hard to call, it is all from the bourbon casks, no added sugar, but it does not feel dry.
Burn: gentle, lasting

Summary: As a specialist rum this is a total bargain. Drier than most "top sippers" it excels in purity and quality.
It is a limited edition - get some while you can!!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Glen from United States with 50 ratings

He is King Midas, in my opinion. I will buy anything he makes and almost certainly love it.

Whoever said walnuts at the end nailed it.

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

I liked their Port finished rum and wanted to give this one a try as well.

I like it better than the Port and I really like the Port finished.

Posted about 3 years ago by guewen from France with 97 ratings

1er rhum découvert de chez foursquare, après un nez déroutant, une explosion de saveur en bouche, du miel, du fruit et une final sèche et relativement longue...que demande le peuple ? Du rhum bien sûr. ..

Posted about 3 years ago by Bill Mitchell from Australia with 14 ratings

A real surprise here. lovely bold and traditional rum flavour with just a hint of the pepper from there zin. Ver well balanced rum, I will be using this again for sure. Better than the Doorley XO and the Seale 10 if that helps.

Posted about 3 years ago by Niklas from Sweden with 69 ratings

Helt utan socker tydligen. Jättegod och söt, men inte för söt.

Posted about 3 years ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

This is combined of two rums: one aged for five years in bourbon and then six years in ex-Zinfandel wine casks, and an 11-year-old matured full term in bourbon casks. These were then blended together and bottled in September 2015. Fruity and full of vanilla notes. Drier with no added molasses or sugar. Great rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Henrik from Denmark with 53 ratings

My second kind of a Foursquare / Richard Seale Rum (first one was the port finish).
This rum just taste awesome and is interesting and well balanced.
I am going to buy more of the rums from Foursquare, and then its just great that they are reasonibly prized aswell.

Posted over 3 years ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

I've been waiting for this one to come to the states after loving the 2004 Single Barrel and the Port Cask and I wasn't disappointed. It shows how you can make a smooth and complex tasting rum without adding tons of sugar and additives and just letting the cask give the rum its smoothness. I'll definitely be buying this one again.

Posted 21 days ago by Jan from Netherlands with 10 ratings

The Foursquare Zinfandel is an excelent and tasty Rum! Love the zinfandel cask blend! Lucky i got two bottles when it was still available.