Posting your rating...
Mezan 2004 Panama rum

Rate Mezan 2004 Panama

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


11 Mezan 2004 Panama ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Mezan comes up with another solid choice, this time rum from Panama. A bit fiery despite its modest 80 proof, loaded with aromas and flavors of prunes, dates, black currants and bananas. No age statemement, but it was distilled in 2004, so...10 years maybe? Very tasty straight up. As with all Mezan rums, this is advertised as being un-colored, un-sugared and un-Frankenstein'd with any additives. Compare it with Abuelo rums, also from Panama, which are more expensive and are clearly sugared and likely doctored with who knows what. Thanks, I'll stick with Mezan's products. All winners so far.

0698afe69a8fca557ca9da7203b4d607.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Aylesby from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

It is no added sugar, caramel and no CF. Smooth with some alchol burn. Easy drinking with fruity flvousr. Similar to an older Armagnac but good for sipping. £40 delivered though.

C8ec1dc162ffe17ecaad0fd3dfed538b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Samurdavidov from Latvia with 60 ratings

Mezan Panama 2004, 40%
79/100 score

Price: ~55 euro per bottle in Europe

MEZAN is a limited edition collection of rums. Unsweetened, uncolored, lightly filtered and aged in casks until they reach their optimal maturity.
Mezan also is independent bottler from United Kingdom. Today you can find a lots of ‘independent bottlers’, who buy different rums from around the world, with different quality and with different company politics and marketing part. MEZAN, Plantation, SBS, Samaroli and much more... some of this rums you can buy for 30 euros, the others for 3000.

This Mezan Panama 2004 is almost gone on market, but you can find new versions from Panama. But different, never the same as this 2004.
This one is 13 years old, multi-column distillation.

If you take a look on design of Mezan bottles, they are just quite simple, but they keep they style and I really like it.

Nose: it’s sweet enough, molasses, brown burned sugar, vanilla. Less dry notes, and it’s oak for sure, wood dryness. Some notes also from fruitiness, orange and mandarins. It’s not sour.

Palate: dryness absolutely priority (8-10). Lot of wood, burned wood, oak. Sweetness, some delicious home baked cake, vanilla and honey. Also nutmeg, and just small, gentle spiciness notes.

Aftertaste is not to long, and still dry.

I found this Rum little bit “heavy”. Its well balanced, no alcohol burn at all, but you can’t say about this Rum “fresh”.

2c8defa6a7a6638b0c9f7017fa5d1d87.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by plukybrewster from Canada with 9 ratings

This rum has everything I want. It’s complexity of flavours delights and it’s smoothness is like silk. It’s sweet but Ina quiet way and it hints at the barrels it’s aged in without tasting too much like a whiskey. This could easily be my house rum if it didn’t fetch such a steep price of $55 usd

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2575 ratings

Mezan Panama 2004 bottling is quite an interesting one. Bottle looks very nice, color is surprisingly light amber. Typically the rums hailing from Panama are not sweet, so this Mezan hits the spot. Hardly any burn at the end and sweet notes from the smell test to the taste test. Very well done indeed.

F7d3175f31cd02224b356ba0a37894b9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

OK, it has a bit of extra age, but this Panama is possibly their best one I have had. Before that, it seemingly was going the other way. The first one I had was the 1995 (42%) and it was great. The 1999 wasn't quite so good and then the 2006 was nice but a tad disappointing.

I have to admit that the Panama was the first of their bottlings that I came across - I was going through a Panama stage due to Abuelo - so I have a soft spot for it. I am not a great fan of their other rums, nothing bad about them, but it doesn't excite me like the Panama, so it makes me happy that this is such a nice one.

So then they pull out the 2004, which I guess is 3 or 4 years older at the time of bottling than the 2006. A distinctly Panamanian nose that isn't overly dry and dirty like Abuelo can sometimes be. Rich and spicy. There is a wonderful richness on the palate, married to a good soft dose of oak. Sweet. smokey fruit gives a fantastic mouth feel and gives legs to the finish.

A really good rum, and nice to see Mezan's Panama back on track.If I was to be hyper-critical, then it is ever so slightly too sweet and too oaky.........but I LOVE IT.

A09ef3ba12319215824b4d095e0acd79.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 175 ratings

A pleasant taste. Quite oaky, even burn oak perhaps. Might go higher as I sample more.

765d463d24808816e2ba832885f5695f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 387 ratings

This is amazing I its own delicious and full of flavour decent rum from Jamaica

4eee588e2e669fe83adefd40dd119241.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Johnny from Belgium with 10 ratings

As this is my second rum, I got some advice from the liquor shop owner. I am truly grateful for the advice, because this is something else compared to my first one...
A long lasting full taste to be enjoyed on a quiet evening.
Love it!

72177fb7f32be433169ec568cd2d4359.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

I like this one more than the 2006 but not enough to give it a 9.

Very pleasant aroma and flavors.

Maybe my palate is not developed enough to differentiate between all of the flavors.

I really like Mezan not adding sugar or colors and only lightly filtering their rums.

I would recommend this to my friends.