Posting your rating...
Malecon 1996 Rare Proof 20-Year rum

Rate Malecon 1996 Rare Proof 20-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


15 Malecon 1996 Rare Proof 20-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Beautiful bronze color with flavors of oak, molasse, chocolate. Good sweet fruity taste and complex with minerals flavor.With a normal finish it's a nice discovery.

Posted 20 days ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

OK, I admit it. I love a smooth flavorful lingering finish. This rum might have the best finish it has ever been my pleasure to savor. Outstanding! I have read other reviews marvel at the color of a particular rum. This one has a great deep mahogany color. The nose is not pronounced. The taste is. Cinnamon, oak, vanilla, with white pepper and raisin notes. Smooth with a nice subtle alcohol smolder on the pallet. Deep and complex.. But it is the finish that makes this rum soar. It is so rich and smooth and stays for a long time. If this is indicitive of Panamanian rum I am definitely going to find more of them. Great rum! Solid 9.1 for me with the finish 9.9

Posted about 2 months ago by Belec from Belgium with 23 ratings

Son vieillissement, opéré dans des fûts de chêne américains ayant contenu du Bourbon, lui a donné cette robe ambrée, feu profond, que vous ne vous lasserez pas de contempler !

Nez
Ce Rare Proof 20 ans ans affiche un nez intensément marqué par les senteurs boisées. Parfums de caramel et noisette complètent cette première sensation.

Bouche
La dégustation dévoile un profil chaleureux et structuré, qui déploie des saveurs de fruits mûrs mêlés à la gourmandise de généreuses notes de nougat. Dans un second temps, la dégustation s'oriente sur des saveurs vanillées et chocolatées

Posted 8 months ago by Rulirrendo from Canada with 1 rating

The Malecon rum is the first time I try it and I can compare it with the quality of the Santiago Cubano Rum, the Malecon super rich rum.

Posted 9 months ago by Alfonso from Hungary with 5 ratings

Overproof rum 48,4 % alc
Full flavour, dense, very good.
Molasse, chocolate, honey.

Posted 10 months ago by Tomas Venturi from Sweden with 17 ratings

Väldigt god och smakfull rom som jag verkligen kan rekommendera.

Posted about 1 year ago by Hedlund from Sweden with 36 ratings

En helt suveränt god rom, med toner av choklad och melass

Posted about 1 year ago by Marco Rubin from Switzerland with 37 ratings

El padao price di del cucha prima busla figgare best

Posted about 1 year ago by Schnatterer from Switzerland with 20 ratings

Best Malecon of all!!! Great balance of sweetness, wood and smoke...

Posted almost 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 149 ratings

Tested this on Birka Cruises rum cruise on the Baltic Sea, and have now bought me two bottles together with two bottles of the 18 year old Rare Proof.
The aroma is sweet, nutty and fruity. In mouth the aromas is still there but together with some spicy notes.
It’s a complex blend that’s quite sweet but well balanced with the high strength of 48,4%.
It seems that Panama is my favourite country when it comes to Spanish styled “Ron”. This is definitely my favourite brand together with Ron Zafra, also from Panama.
I have also understand that “Don Pancho” is involved in both brands.
Picture: My Malecon shelf.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jan ottosson from Sweden with 2 ratings

A complex and sweet rum, it is one of the must haves in my cabinet.

Posted over 2 years ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

It's a good rum. Not so sweet as moat rums but really nice to drink straight up

Posted about 3 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

Long lasting flavour that lingers wonderfully in your mouth!

Posted about 3 years ago by Tobias Hansen from Denmark with 96 ratings

En rom der folder sig mere og mere ud og ændrer smag og nuancer hele tiden mens den står i glasset. Ikke en sød rom, men flasken har en duft af portvin.

Posted about 3 years ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 66 ratings

Das Beste was Malecon bisher abgeliefert hat,für jeden Süssrum Liebhaber ein Muss.
Trotz der 48% sehr angenehm zu trinken,nach eine kurzen Explosion im Mund folgen wunderbare Noten von Malz,Schokolade,Gewürzen,Melasse und etwas Holz,schwer und schon fast ölig.Sehr schöner langer Abgang,Top zu einer guten Zigarre.Wer den Unhiq XO mag ,das hier ist die Steigerung.Das ganze wunderschön gemacht in einer tollen Holzbox.
Etwa 65 Euro(Stand März 2017 in Deutschland) sind eine Witz für eine Small Batch Fassabfüllung mit echten 20 Jahren.Wenn da Zacapa draufstünde wären schon alle verkauft,aber ich erinnere mich an die Zeiten als Zacapa den white Label für 60-70 Euro auf den Markt warf.