Posting your rating...
Malecon 1996 Rare Proof 20-Year rum

Malecon 1996 Rare Proof 20-Year

Panama | Aged

8.9/10 (17 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
11
3

Rate Malecon 1996 Rare Proof 20-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


17 Malecon 1996 Rare Proof 20-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

7380e70a3b2c33c98bf859ffcb92389f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 66 ratings

Das Beste was Malecon bisher abgeliefert hat,für jeden Süssrum Liebhaber ein Muss.
Trotz der 48% sehr angenehm zu trinken,nach eine kurzen Explosion im Mund folgen wunderbare Noten von Malz,Schokolade,Gewürzen,Melasse und etwas Holz,schwer und schon fast ölig.Sehr schöner langer Abgang,Top zu einer guten Zigarre.Wer den Unhiq XO mag ,das hier ist die Steigerung.Das ganze wunderschön gemacht in einer tollen Holzbox.
Etwa 65 Euro(Stand März 2017 in Deutschland) sind eine Witz für eine Small Batch Fassabfüllung mit echten 20 Jahren.Wenn da Zacapa draufstünde wären schon alle verkauft,aber ich erinnere mich an die Zeiten als Zacapa den white Label für 60-70 Euro auf den Markt warf.

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Beautiful bronze color with flavors of oak, molasse, chocolate. Good sweet fruity taste and complex with minerals flavor.With a normal finish it's a nice discovery.

07cd014d917dd09a8565d0abb027e4b6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 20 days ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 20 ratings

Der Malecon Rare Proof Small 1996 Batch ist eine limitierte Sonderedition. Der Rum durfte 20 Jahre in Eichenfässern lagern bevor er ohne Farbstoffe abgefüllt wurde. Der Rum hat 48,4% Alkohol. Die Flasche hat das Malecon typische Design, welches ich persönlich sehr schön finde. Die Flasche kommt zur Aufbewahrung in einer Show Box aus Holz. Macht es sehr edel.

Der Malecon deutet schon in der Nase an was er zu bieten hat ohne dabei aufdringlich zu sein. Am Gaumen explodiert der Rum förmlich und ist direkt sehr komplex. Es grüßt viel Süße wie Karamel aber auch Würze und etwas Holz mit einer schönen Wärme welche die 48% Alkohol mit gibt. Der Rum balanciert alles sehr gut und ist daher weich und angenehm zu trinken. Im Abgang ist mehr Holz vom Fass mit einer fruchtigen Note präsent. Hier macht der Rum eine Punktlandung. Zum Ende bleibt vor allem eine leichte süße Fassnote welche dann aber doch etwas zu schnell nachlässt. Hier ist eine Steigerung möglich. Insgesamt ist der Rum eine absolute Empfehlung und erfüllt für 65 Euro voll die Erwartungen. Ich würde behaupten das es schwer ist für weniger Geld eine ähnliche Qualität zu bekommen. Dazu ist er limitiert.

Ich war schon von dem Malecon 25 Jahre sehr begeistert, welcher eine gelungende Mischung aus Süße und Holz präsentiert. Der Rare Proof von Malecon ist für mich dabei noch eine Steigerung davon. Wobei der Schwerpunkt hier eher auf der Süße liegt. Die perfekt eingebundenen 48% Alkohol machen ihn aber zu dem komplexeren Rum der beiden.

The Malecon Rare Proof Small Batch 1996 is a limited special edition. The rum was allowed to be stored in oak barrels for 20 years before being bottled without dyes. The rum has 48.4% alcohol. The bottle has the Malecon typical design, which I personally find very beautiful. The bottle is stored in a wooden show box. Makes it very classy.

In the Nose the Malecon already hints at what he has to offer without being intrusive. On the palate, the rum literally explodes and is directly very complex. It greets a lot of sweetness like caramel but also spice and some wood with a nice warmth which comes from the 48% alcohol. The rum balances everything very well and is therefore soft and pleasant to drink. In the finish there is more wood from the barrel with a fruity touch. Here the rum makes a point landing. At the end, there is a slight sweet barrel note, which then subsides a little too quickly. An increase is possible here. Overall, the rum is an absolute recommendation and fully meets expectations for 65 Euros. I would argue that it is hard to get a similar quality for less money.

I was already very enthusiastic about the Malecon 25 years, which presents a successful mixture of sweetness and wood. For me, The Rare Proof from Malecon is an increase in that. The focus here is more on the sweetness. However, the perfectly integrated 48% alcohol makes it the more complex rum of the two.

054f6754ca1d5a5ebfb2a14462e3bd19.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 16 days ago by Richard from Sweden with 57 ratings

A little smokey, spicy and a tad sweet. Complex and just the right amount of oak. Can easily handle the higher ABV without being harsh, it just boosts the flavours

17244066c59ae18b934a356f130e728c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 80 ratings

OK, I admit it. I love a smooth flavorful lingering finish. This rum might have the best finish it has ever been my pleasure to savor. Outstanding! I have read other reviews marvel at the color of a particular rum. This one has a great deep mahogany color. The nose is not pronounced. The taste is. Cinnamon, oak, vanilla, with white pepper and raisin notes. Smooth with a nice subtle alcohol smolder on the pallet. Deep and complex.. But it is the finish that makes this rum soar. It is so rich and smooth and stays for a long time. If this is indicitive of Panamanian rum I am definitely going to find more of them. Great rum! Solid 9.1 for me with the finish 9.9

2374f5039e72484ae7e3fb65a6064e70.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Belec from Belgium with 23 ratings

Son vieillissement, opéré dans des fûts de chêne américains ayant contenu du Bourbon, lui a donné cette robe ambrée, feu profond, que vous ne vous lasserez pas de contempler !

Nez
Ce Rare Proof 20 ans ans affiche un nez intensément marqué par les senteurs boisées. Parfums de caramel et noisette complètent cette première sensation.

Bouche
La dégustation dévoile un profil chaleureux et structuré, qui déploie des saveurs de fruits mûrs mêlés à la gourmandise de généreuses notes de nougat. Dans un second temps, la dégustation s'oriente sur des saveurs vanillées et chocolatées

9f8daef9957f3a7f82ec3d4c446fe5e2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by Rulirrendo from Canada with 1 rating

The Malecon rum is the first time I try it and I can compare it with the quality of the Santiago Cubano Rum, the Malecon super rich rum.

Dbb967024949d0d991d55cbf26d2bbbc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by Alfonso from Hungary with 5 ratings

Overproof rum 48,4 % alc
Full flavour, dense, very good.
Molasse, chocolate, honey.

0dc10801d74bb11aff4e526a4a992992.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Tomas Venturi from Sweden with 17 ratings

Väldigt god och smakfull rom som jag verkligen kan rekommendera.

F3e024befd09b928c9b080fea2f1e317.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Hedlund from Sweden with 37 ratings

En helt suveränt god rom, med toner av choklad och melass

A9a5a303efb81d1f12388fe317121496.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Marco Rubin from Switzerland with 38 ratings

El padao price di del cucha prima busla figgare best