Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve rum

Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve

Caribbean | Aged

6.5/10 (162 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
18
38
72
19
4

Rate Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


162 Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 21 hours ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 57 ratings

Der Plantation Barbados Grand Reserva ist ein Blend aus Melasse Rums welche ca. 5 Jahre gelagert wurden. Es gibt auch den Grand Reserva 5 Jahre. Ich hatte von beiden mehrere Flaschen und es ist kaum ein Unterschied zu erkennen. Der Rum ist zum sippen nicht optimal geeignet, da er neben seiner angenehmen süßen Karamel Note mit leicht fruchtigen Tönen wie z.b. Orange auch noch eine deutlich wahrnehmbare Schärfe hat und der Alkohol mit der Zeit zu präsent wirkt. Zum Mixen für Cocktails oder einfach in Cola ist der Rum aber absolut Top. Hier entfaltet er sich richtig gut. Mit der Beste Rum den in gemixt habe. Klare Havana Club Konkurrenz.

Ich bewerte eigentlich keine Rums zum Mixen, da ich es schwierig finde diese zu bewerten. Der Grand Reserva von Plantation kann aber auch problemlos pur getrunken werden wenn man nicht viel ausgeben will oder kann. Für unter 20 Euro ist er allen Konkurrenten dieser Preisklasse wie Bacardi und Co klar vorzuziehen.

The Plantation Barbados Grand Reserva is a blend of molasses rums that were stored for about 5 years. There is also the Grand Reserva 5 years. I had several bottles of both and there is hardly any difference. The rum is not ideal for sipping, as in addition to its pleasant sweet caramel note with slightly fruity tones such as orange, it also has a clearly perceptible sharpness and the alcohol seems too present while drinking. For mixing cocktails or simply in cola, the rum is absolutely top. Here it unfolds really well. One of the best rums that i have used for mixing. It makes some competition for Havana Club.

I don't really rate rums for mixing, as I find it difficult to rate them. The Grand Reserva from Plantation can also be drunk pure without many problems if you don't want or can't spend much money. For less than 20 euros, it is clearly preferable to all competitors in this price range, such as Bacardi and Co.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Well, this rum is nothing superior. But also, it doesn't make itself something, it isn't. And yet, it becomes great rum. And great friend. It have very very smooth taste with little sweetness, very simple but understanding palate of taste, rather light and fruity and very pleasant spring smell. And that makes it excellent relaxing sipper. Kick-less, friendly, familiar, soothing. At room temperature diluted with small drip of water, it could accompany you for hours, leaving you relaxed. My favourite blend but soothing sipper. As sipper for common relaxing occasions - excellent. As complex rum for tasting and deep enjoying - hardly no. AS mixer - any drink kill it's perks, especially Cola. So no. take a word from my review and turn another cheek for this friendly fellow.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by pmcl from Canada with 7 ratings

The title says it all. Hard to believe that you can buy a ‘good’ sipping rum for under $30 (Canadian). Very smooth on it’s own with just a hint of alcohol astringency. At the price there’s no shame in mixing it either if that’s your thing.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Chris from Netherlands with 60 ratings

I really just started to explore rum so not a lot to compare but this is one you should get at least once! Good taste, nice price and just a good drink overall!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

This rum changed me from being a single malt whiskey drinker to a rum sipper. I got my eyes on it in the local liqueurstore and I thought to myself why not try something new and not spend a fortune on a single malt whiskey bottle. For the price it cost i thought if it taste like crap i could use it for cleaning the wounds on my neighbours dog after being attacked by wild cats and dont feel bad about it. After this plantation rum i dont feel the need for expensive whiskey anymore when you can get this so much cheaper. It smells like raisins and banana with an inviting note. The taste is great, sweet and tones of vanilla, raisins and banana. A bit young in taste, 3 years altogether on casks give it a more sharpness to the taste instead of roundness. Although i cannot give more then a 6 because of me being a rookie in the rum world. I need to try more rums first to compare it with, can't give a ten on my first rum. Then i can maybe bring up the score on it.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by TheoAu from Norway with 3 ratings

So, I'm pretty new with drinking rum. Specially with drinking different types of rum.
I got a bigger salary a few months ago, and wanted to try something with a higher quality than Captain Morgan Spiced gold. At the local liquerstore they had either this og Havana club 3yo. I chose this bottle and opened it some days later.

Short story, I thought it tasted great, but I liked the smell of it better than the taste.
Tried to mix it and drink it neat.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by SebLeGrand from France with 3 ratings

From memory : powerful vanilla aroma followed by lasting exotic fruits, very smooth

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by cK from Canada with 63 ratings

This is likely the best value of a sipping rum that I've had. It's very versatile - can be used as an inexpensive mixer or a sipping rum on a similar level as the slightly more expensive El Dorado 12 or my usual go-to, the Ron Zacapa 23 at less than half the price.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 299 ratings

Plantation umí příjemně překvapit, za malé příjemné pití
- vůně nasládlá, vanika, tropické ovoce, závan broskve
- chuť nasládlá, tropické ovoce, vanilka, závěr jemně štiplavý, hodně mne baví

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by dejvix from Slovakia with 27 ratings

Vôňa nie je výrazná, farba svetlá, fľaša pekná "reprezentačná" (asi aj dôvod prečo som si ho kúpil) :). V chuti je cítiť dub (až bourbon - po zrení v sudde), trošku vanilku a pre mňa akurátnu jemnú nasladlosť. Na konci to prechádza až na jemné trpnutie jazyka, úst a hrejivý pocit :) Rum som kúpil za 17€/fľaša, neurazil, stojí za ochutnanie, ale napr. Pampero Aniversario mi prišiel zaujímavejší.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by MikeyA53 from Canada with 34 ratings

Very good rum for the price. Smooth, light and tasty, close but not has good as Plantation XO 20th Anniversary.