Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve rum

Rate Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


144 Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 72 ratings

Dobrý, běžně dostupný, levný rum. Pokud jste dosud netušili, odkud se kdysi dávno vzala chuť tresti v lihovině, přejmenované na příkaz kulturtrégrů 4. říše na "tuzemák" (a která se v pravých rumech jinak prakticky nevyskytuje) zde máte možnost na to přijít.
Lehký, příjemný, voňavý a asi moc nedoslazovaný destilát, v němž sice nepochybně nenajdete nic whiskařsky sofistikovaného, ale zase také naprosto nic nepříjemného.
K pravému potěšení někdy může být třeba několika panáků, abyste se vpili, ale rozhodně nebudete litovat.
Litrové balení kupodivu není o nic horší než sedmička (jak bývá u podobných "budget" verzí často špatným zvykem), takže s cenou kolem 600 Kč je v poměru cena/výkon asi tím nejlepším, co je v rumech standardně na našem trhu k dostání.

Posted over 3 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Well, this rum is nothing superior. But also, it doesn't make itself something, it isn't. And yet, it becomes great rum. And great friend. It have very very smooth taste with little sweetness, very simple but understanding palate of taste, rather light and fruity and very pleasant spring smell. And that makes it excellent relaxing sipper. Kick-less, friendly, familiar, soothing. At room temperature diluted with small drip of water, it could accompany you for hours, leaving you relaxed. My favourite blend but soothing sipper. As sipper for common relaxing occasions - excellent. As complex rum for tasting and deep enjoying - hardly no. AS mixer - any drink kill it's perks, especially Cola. So no. take a word from my review and turn another cheek for this friendly fellow.

Posted over 1 year ago by pmcl from Canada with 7 ratings

The title says it all. Hard to believe that you can buy a ‘good’ sipping rum for under $30 (Canadian). Very smooth on it’s own with just a hint of alcohol astringency. At the price there’s no shame in mixing it either if that’s your thing.

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris from Netherlands with 60 ratings

I really just started to explore rum so not a lot to compare but this is one you should get at least once! Good taste, nice price and just a good drink overall!

Posted over 2 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

This rum changed me from being a single malt whiskey drinker to a rum sipper. I got my eyes on it in the local liqueurstore and I thought to myself why not try something new and not spend a fortune on a single malt whiskey bottle. For the price it cost i thought if it taste like crap i could use it for cleaning the wounds on my neighbours dog after being attacked by wild cats and dont feel bad about it. After this plantation rum i dont feel the need for expensive whiskey anymore when you can get this so much cheaper. It smells like raisins and banana with an inviting note. The taste is great, sweet and tones of vanilla, raisins and banana. A bit young in taste, 3 years altogether on casks give it a more sharpness to the taste instead of roundness. Although i cannot give more then a 6 because of me being a rookie in the rum world. I need to try more rums first to compare it with, can't give a ten on my first rum. Then i can maybe bring up the score on it.

Posted 10 months ago by MikeyA53 from Canada with 33 ratings

Very good rum for the price. Smooth, light and tasty, close but not has good as Plantation XO 20th Anniversary.

Posted 11 months ago by Boris from Slovenia with 40 ratings

Sugary caramelly with little scents of vanilla in a nose. Seeeter roasty smokey start with vanilla scents and body. ABVish but not annoying. Softer at end. Not very rich... 20years version is much better...

Posted almost 2 years ago by Elbert Bakker from Netherlands with 12 ratings

smell is a bit dull, but the taste and flavor is quite OK

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joel from Canada with 6 ratings

After an escapade with the fantastic El Dorado line, I was doubtful there were rums that could match them (El Dorado) in cost-to-quality. However, I decided to give this Plantation a go because I heard great things about its more expensive counterparts, and am happy that I did!

As far as the taste goes, it's pleasantly light and extremely approachable--much like what Japanese whiskey is to its respective genre. I catch mild hints of lemon, cinnamon and tropical fruits on both the nose and palate. It's very smooth going down. Flavor does dissipate instantly once swallowed, which I find interesting.

Overall, Plantation Grande Reserve is better than the El Dorado 5-Year, and about on par with the 8-Year as the best rum in its price bracket. Great sipper, great mixer, and should appeal to both the experienced and inexperienced rum drinker.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dandy_G from Czech Republic with 3 ratings

Great rum for the prize. Smooth, tasty exotic fruits (mostly citruses). Light vanilla ending.

Posted almost 3 years ago by HammerHead from Netherlands with 22 ratings

Overwelming sweetness in the nose, a bit too much actually, which runs right into the taste and finish. All in all a good sweeter rum especially for the price. Personally I like some more character in a rum, but that would be a bit too much to ask from an only 5 year old rum, I guess.

Posted about 3 years ago by Daniel from Sweden with 10 ratings

I like this rum, it is easy on the pallet and not to rough. Works both as sipping and as mixed. This is a rum you can have a little sip of everyday and not get to bored. If you are looking to get amazed and have you socks blown off, this is not it. For that you need to step it up a bit.

Posted 5 days ago by Krille_8000 from Sweden with 20 ratings

It's an ok rum, it works great for mixing with rum and Coke and perhaps other rum drinks.

Posted 15 days ago by Jim Chamberlin from United States with 7 ratings

Sweet and light, great for mixing or over ice. vanilla, toffee, honey notes.

Posted 28 days ago by ccclara from Sweden with 5 ratings

Great rum to a great price. It works well in drinks even though it’s a bit strong. Would recommend!

Posted about 1 month ago by prezes0x50 from Sweden with 3 ratings

Tried this one on my second attempt (after excellent Barcelo Gran Anejo) with a sipping rum that is more affordable. Big disappointment, not able to sip it because of a strong alcohol taste.

Posted about 1 month ago by MrLargo from Sweden with 12 ratings

This was the bottle that started me down the rum trail, prior to this I only tasted cheap white rum that was only bareble with lots of Coke. Now this is not an exelent rum but it's a perfect rum for beginners, who like me (in my youth) thought that rum was like vodka with a wierd side taste. It goes well in drinks and you can use it as an avec, not a great avec but great value for the money.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

Rhum à boire en drink ou avec un accompagnement, peut-être avec juste une glace pour les plus intrépide.

Posted 2 months ago by Metalli from Finland with 12 ratings

I just don't see whats the big deal with this rum. It's kinda okay in a sense. The alcohol taste is quite strong and so are the rum notes, however it's not too enjoyable to sip. A good rum to drink straight from the bottle, but i wouldn't bother with including this in a rum tasting. As a saving factor the bottle is good looking, if you're into using bottles as a decoration.

Posted 2 months ago by Helle from Denmark with 5 ratings

Til trods for at det “bare”’er en Grand Reserva er den yderst interessant. Frisk og sød på een gang - tydelige citrus toner.

Posted 3 months ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 32 ratings

Quite ok, but that’s it. Boozy, sweet, lick of honey.

Posted 3 months ago by Ingevar from Sweden with 5 ratings

Too smooth and gentle to be a good cheap rum, and not complex enough to be a decent mid-priced stuff. May go well in a mix, but why should you pay more for a mixer?

Posted 3 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

Yeah! Plantation rums are really good for me. It is my 8 bottle from Plantation, this one is best quality for best price.

Ok. Aroma coco and bannan, as Barbados rum should be. A bit of alcohol also present. Because this is cheap rum. Ok. Taste are good enough for sipping. Truly Barbados style of rum. There is sweetness at first, then coco, banana and after that a bit fruity cask finish. That finish making Plantation mark.

But.

Cognac barrels are not good for every style of rum! Mixed with Jamaica rum thats dosent work. Panama, Guatemala, Belize, Cuba, that's great taste. But with Barbados rum style, Cognac cask finish are greatest mix in the world! Thats truly great idea. Just Try Plantation 20. The greatest.

This one is similar version, but its much younger. They said 1 up to 3 years in Burbon cask, and 1 year in Cognac. But probably it is untrue. Could be 1 year in Burbon and half year Cognac. Any way that is still enough for rum in that price. This double aged are making the party great. But this is cheap version.

Edit:
it is a bit spicy in finish, thats great! but aroma disappear fast form glass. Still Have no idea how its taste wit ice or mixed.

Posted 3 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 135 ratings

Barbados and rum can be a thing of beauty in its most pure form, but tamper just a bit with it and you can have a mess on your hands. Plantation almost gets into hot water with this one, but saves it in the nick of time.

Nose: Ripe banana, baking spices, orange zest, vanilla and coconut
Taste: Ripe banana, chocolate, coconut, vanilla and almonds
Overall: This is not a special rum, but it can serve a good purpose. It tastes just fint and is not overly sweet or dry. If you have found a liking to the sweeter rums, but want to try something a bit more dry without goint to far, then this might be the rum for you

Posted 3 months ago by Philinarium from Russian Federation with 22 ratings

Аромат - лёгкий, коньячно-фруктовый, с примесью сахарного тростника, мягкий, но не выдающийся. Вкус тоже с коньячными (всё же это фишка Plantation - довыдержка в коньячных бочках - и лично я не сказал бы, что мне она нравится, хоть я и люблю коньяк), фруктовыми и древесными нотками, но резковат и сильно чувствуется спиртяга, которая остаётся в послевкусии.

Aroma is light, cognac-like and fruity with some sugarcane notes, smooth, but nothing special. Taste is also with cognac (well, it's a special feature of Plantation - additional ageing in cogniac casks - and I can't say I like it very much, although I like "real" cognac), fruity and oaky tones, but it's rather harsh, spirit presence is high and stays in aftertaste.