Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve rum

Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve

Caribbean | Aged

6.4/10 (150 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
6
19
34
67
16
4

Rate Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


150 Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9dd3124ef03cf6997545b601067a259e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Well, this rum is nothing superior. But also, it doesn't make itself something, it isn't. And yet, it becomes great rum. And great friend. It have very very smooth taste with little sweetness, very simple but understanding palate of taste, rather light and fruity and very pleasant spring smell. And that makes it excellent relaxing sipper. Kick-less, friendly, familiar, soothing. At room temperature diluted with small drip of water, it could accompany you for hours, leaving you relaxed. My favourite blend but soothing sipper. As sipper for common relaxing occasions - excellent. As complex rum for tasting and deep enjoying - hardly no. AS mixer - any drink kill it's perks, especially Cola. So no. take a word from my review and turn another cheek for this friendly fellow.

5a2d1a7f9beae1d0a7df6bda89946a9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by pmcl from Canada with 7 ratings

The title says it all. Hard to believe that you can buy a ‘good’ sipping rum for under $30 (Canadian). Very smooth on it’s own with just a hint of alcohol astringency. At the price there’s no shame in mixing it either if that’s your thing.

45d2fa389d8976e6cec15315ed3d77c2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris from Netherlands with 60 ratings

I really just started to explore rum so not a lot to compare but this is one you should get at least once! Good taste, nice price and just a good drink overall!

A65d48d927c8df776a88a8a333a07348.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

This rum changed me from being a single malt whiskey drinker to a rum sipper. I got my eyes on it in the local liqueurstore and I thought to myself why not try something new and not spend a fortune on a single malt whiskey bottle. For the price it cost i thought if it taste like crap i could use it for cleaning the wounds on my neighbours dog after being attacked by wild cats and dont feel bad about it. After this plantation rum i dont feel the need for expensive whiskey anymore when you can get this so much cheaper. It smells like raisins and banana with an inviting note. The taste is great, sweet and tones of vanilla, raisins and banana. A bit young in taste, 3 years altogether on casks give it a more sharpness to the taste instead of roundness. Although i cannot give more then a 6 because of me being a rookie in the rum world. I need to try more rums first to compare it with, can't give a ten on my first rum. Then i can maybe bring up the score on it.

0b441dd47f79396ea37500b0253f7198.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 233 ratings

Plantation umí příjemně překvapit, za malé příjemné pití
- vůně nasládlá, vanika, tropické ovoce, závan broskve
- chuť nasládlá, tropické ovoce, vanilka, závěr jemně štiplavý, hodně mne baví

271e857ef8b669d2544f00e0e5d5fdbb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by MikeyA53 from Canada with 34 ratings

Very good rum for the price. Smooth, light and tasty, close but not has good as Plantation XO 20th Anniversary.

D9c87b898ee280fb92151cc9d61835d1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Boris from Slovenia with 40 ratings

Sugary caramelly with little scents of vanilla in a nose. Seeeter roasty smokey start with vanilla scents and body. ABVish but not annoying. Softer at end. Not very rich... 20years version is much better...

0c7e82a27a08e84862ca3846e9f38922.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Elbert Bakker from Netherlands with 12 ratings

smell is a bit dull, but the taste and flavor is quite OK

1349ca1b713f187e6101a4cc83b392c5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Joel from Canada with 6 ratings

After an escapade with the fantastic El Dorado line, I was doubtful there were rums that could match them (El Dorado) in cost-to-quality. However, I decided to give this Plantation a go because I heard great things about its more expensive counterparts, and am happy that I did!

As far as the taste goes, it's pleasantly light and extremely approachable--much like what Japanese whiskey is to its respective genre. I catch mild hints of lemon, cinnamon and tropical fruits on both the nose and palate. It's very smooth going down. Flavor does dissipate instantly once swallowed, which I find interesting.

Overall, Plantation Grande Reserve is better than the El Dorado 5-Year, and about on par with the 8-Year as the best rum in its price bracket. Great sipper, great mixer, and should appeal to both the experienced and inexperienced rum drinker.

7e4db0cab535bf11ec05c2e6060c8b11.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dandy_G from Czech Republic with 3 ratings

Great rum for the prize. Smooth, tasty exotic fruits (mostly citruses). Light vanilla ending.