Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve rum

Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve

Caribbean | Aged

6.5/10 (162 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
18
38
72
19
4

Rate Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


162 Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joel from Canada with 6 ratings

After an escapade with the fantastic El Dorado line, I was doubtful there were rums that could match them (El Dorado) in cost-to-quality. However, I decided to give this Plantation a go because I heard great things about its more expensive counterparts, and am happy that I did!

As far as the taste goes, it's pleasantly light and extremely approachable--much like what Japanese whiskey is to its respective genre. I catch mild hints of lemon, cinnamon and tropical fruits on both the nose and palate. It's very smooth going down. Flavor does dissipate instantly once swallowed, which I find interesting.

Overall, Plantation Grande Reserve is better than the El Dorado 5-Year, and about on par with the 8-Year as the best rum in its price bracket. Great sipper, great mixer, and should appeal to both the experienced and inexperienced rum drinker.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Ingevar from Sweden with 8 ratings

Too smooth and gentle to be a good cheap rum, and not complex enough to be a decent mid-priced stuff. May go well in a mix, but why should you pay more for a mixer?

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

Yeah! Plantation rums are really good for me. It is my 8 bottle from Plantation, this one is best quality for best price.

Ok. Aroma coco and bannan, as Barbados rum should be. A bit of alcohol also present. Because this is cheap rum. Ok. Taste are good enough for sipping. Truly Barbados style of rum. There is sweetness at first, then coco, banana and after that a bit fruity cask finish. That finish making Plantation mark.

But.

Cognac barrels are not good for every style of rum! Mixed with Jamaica rum thats dosent work. Panama, Guatemala, Belize, Cuba, that's great taste. But with Barbados rum style, Cognac cask finish are greatest mix in the world! Thats truly great idea. Just Try Plantation 20. The greatest.

This one is similar version, but its much younger. They said 1 up to 3 years in Burbon cask, and 1 year in Cognac. But probably it is untrue. Could be 1 year in Burbon and half year Cognac. Any way that is still enough for rum in that price. This double aged are making the party great. But this is cheap version.

Edit:
it is a bit spicy in finish, thats great! but aroma disappear fast form glass. Still Have no idea how its taste wit ice or mixed.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 144 ratings

Barbados and rum can be a thing of beauty in its most pure form, but tamper just a bit with it and you can have a mess on your hands. Plantation almost gets into hot water with this one, but saves it in the nick of time.

Nose: Ripe banana, baking spices, orange zest, vanilla and coconut
Taste: Ripe banana, chocolate, coconut, vanilla and almonds
Overall: This is not a special rum, but it can serve a good purpose. It tastes just fint and is not overly sweet or dry. If you have found a liking to the sweeter rums, but want to try something a bit more dry without goint to far, then this might be the rum for you

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Philinarium from Russian Federation with 25 ratings

Аромат - лёгкий, коньячно-фруктовый, с примесью сахарного тростника, мягкий, но не выдающийся. Вкус тоже с коньячными (всё же это фишка Plantation - довыдержка в коньячных бочках - и лично я не сказал бы, что мне она нравится, хоть я и люблю коньяк), фруктовыми и древесными нотками, но резковат и сильно чувствуется спиртяга, которая остаётся в послевкусии.

Aroma is light, cognac-like and fruity with some sugarcane notes, smooth, but nothing special. Taste is also cognac-like (well, it's a special feature of Plantation - additional ageing in cogniac casks - and I can't say I like it very much, although I like "real" cognac), fruity and oaky tones, but it's rather harsh, spirit presence is high and stays in aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Patricebru (PREMIUM) from France with 38 ratings

Rond sans être trop sucré, un bon Plantation, j'aime beaucoup

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Andreasx from Canada with 25 ratings

A nice smoother smell then the 3 star. This one has a great taste, nice and smooth with a long pleasant aftertaste. Quite enjoyable neat.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 66 ratings

Sehr günstig und dafür schon erstaunlich gut. Für Einsteiger gut geeignet.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 79 ratings

Price wise really good, more for mixing or to take it to a party and dont care about it, if it is gone

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Domstadtkerl from Germany with 39 ratings

Has been my first Rum and a superb entry into it. Can drink it pure, but I would rather recommend it for Cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Montal from Romania with 20 ratings

Warm flavors of oak, candied oranges, dark chocolate, tobacco leaves and a splash of pepper
Plantation brand is above average