Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve rum

Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve

Caribbean | Aged

6.5/10 (162 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
18
38
72
19
4

Rate Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


162 Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joel from Canada with 6 ratings

After an escapade with the fantastic El Dorado line, I was doubtful there were rums that could match them (El Dorado) in cost-to-quality. However, I decided to give this Plantation a go because I heard great things about its more expensive counterparts, and am happy that I did!

As far as the taste goes, it's pleasantly light and extremely approachable--much like what Japanese whiskey is to its respective genre. I catch mild hints of lemon, cinnamon and tropical fruits on both the nose and palate. It's very smooth going down. Flavor does dissipate instantly once swallowed, which I find interesting.

Overall, Plantation Grande Reserve is better than the El Dorado 5-Year, and about on par with the 8-Year as the best rum in its price bracket. Great sipper, great mixer, and should appeal to both the experienced and inexperienced rum drinker.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Pacorro from Spain with 49 ratings

Esta bueno, tiene buen sabor pero el 5 years old me parece mejor, mejor buquet, la sensación que te deja en la boca, lo he comprado porque no lo había probado, pero buscaba el XO aunque solo he gastado 19'90€, no está mal he probado más caros peores.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Krille_8000 from Sweden with 23 ratings

It's an ok rum, it works great for mixing with rum and Coke and perhaps other rum drinks.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Jim Chamberlin from United States with 10 ratings

Sweet and light, great for mixing or over ice. vanilla, toffee, honey notes.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by ccclara from Sweden with 6 ratings

Great rum to a great price. It works well in drinks even though it’s a bit strong. Would recommend!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by prezes0x50 from Sweden with 3 ratings

Tried this one on my second attempt (after excellent Barcelo Gran Anejo) with a sipping rum that is more affordable. Big disappointment, not able to sip it because of a strong alcohol taste.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by MrLargo from Sweden with 12 ratings

This was the bottle that started me down the rum trail, prior to this I only tasted cheap white rum that was only bareble with lots of Coke. Now this is not an exelent rum but it's a perfect rum for beginners, who like me (in my youth) thought that rum was like vodka with a wierd side taste. It goes well in drinks and you can use it as an avec, not a great avec but great value for the money.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 148 ratings

Rhum à boire en drink ou avec un accompagnement, peut-être avec juste une glace pour les plus intrépide.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Metalli from Finland with 12 ratings

I just don't see whats the big deal with this rum. It's kinda okay in a sense. The alcohol taste is quite strong and so are the rum notes, however it's not too enjoyable to sip. A good rum to drink straight from the bottle, but i wouldn't bother with including this in a rum tasting. As a saving factor the bottle is good looking, if you're into using bottles as a decoration.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Helle from Denmark with 5 ratings

Til trods for at det “bare”’er en Grand Reserva er den yderst interessant. Frisk og sød på een gang - tydelige citrus toner.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 35 ratings

Quite ok, but that’s it. Boozy, sweet, lick of honey.