Posting your rating...
Malteco 1987 Seleccion rum

Malteco 1987 Seleccion

Guatemala | Aged

8.8/10 (13 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
4
4

Rate Malteco 1987 Seleccion

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


13 Malteco 1987 Seleccion ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This is a fabulous rum for my 250th rum review. Has a very nice sweet molasses flavor, with a beautiful spice, and a touch of oak, bourbon, and vanilla. Very smooth.

This is an exceptional rum, easily deserving of a 10.

D2b49d7b477d2802b6e9b7c2b513cae4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

- Color : Dark Amber
- Nose : Spices with litlle hints of oak ( aged at least 28y in ok barrels )
- Palate : Smokey, chocolate and vanilla
- Finish : never-ending ( :-D ) with nice spices and hints of dried fruits.

I have discovered this one in a fest in october 2016 and since then a bottle has appeared in my shelve !

0f6fb47542b6b5f2953fe642e576356a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Nice dark amber color with exotic spices and a hint of oak. The palate is complex with vanilla, chocolate and slightly smoky. A long finish with notes of spices and dried fruit. Beautiful rum aged +-30 years in bourbon cask. One of my favorite traditional rum and the best discovery from Belgium Rum Fest with Bielle 2002 & A 1710 Nuée Ardente.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2651 ratings

Started with a mini bottle of Malteco Selección 1987. Large bottle and label design are simply stunning. Very sturdy wooden case surrounds the beautiful bottle. Deep mahogany color. Super smooth dried fruits, spices and plenty of nuttiness to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Absolutely subliminal exit. Easily earns a solid 10.

Fbf24e1a2411ef95046279c167da7b88.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Jan Staněk from Czech Republic with 108 ratings

It has nice color, it is semi-sweet, alcoholic, not as balanced as I expected for it´s price. You can find same quality or better for half the price.

B7f9ef06fcee60844529e9879a21ec5a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Dimitris from Greece with 73 ratings

Taste 8.3/10. I was expected little more deep & dark flavours from a 30 years old rum. But you will not disapont it is enought dark and powerful with balance sweetnes, buttery, smooth and sophisticated. I am very happy that taste it and buy it at a good price for its age and quality, one of my favorite.

9d1130e827dc90814a23f792425330d1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Chris from Switzerland with 30 ratings

Smooth as butter. Forever lasting taste, nice and warm body.

15c7f4c5caf9da98976ef316da0ae3ad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Zane from Norway with 48 ratings

Somewhere between Single Cane, Zacapa 23 and Danish Navy rums. Smooth as hell, but with a light bite. The perfect amount of sweet. Interesting notes. Lightly citrusy?

Akurat bar, Stockholm, 2019

1b1a12c38fa40ed1c56b8a5574daa327.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Rum Luxi from Austria with 1 rating

Nice Nice Nice Nice Nice Nice Nice Nice Nice Nice Nice Nice

63460962acf5e9c183072339bb660fa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Good Rum, but very much oak, too much for me! Not for my collection