Posting your rating...
El Dorado 8-Year rum

El Dorado 8-year is a medium-bodied premium rum which has been recently added to the El Dorado portfolio. Distilled from fermented molasses, it is a nice option between the heavier 12-year and lighter 5-year counterparts.

Rate El Dorado 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


190 El Dorado 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Fdeb2cb999dea468d14dcad84c8b4bc4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Robin BERTHIER from Belgium with 21 ratings

For a medium-bodied rum, this is a very good sipper, even straight! Goes well with an ice cube during summer evenings! Class!

A57076cad9180ba567b5c079fa88a9e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Trini Yank from Trinidad and Tobago with 41 ratings

Great sipper, neat or on the rocks. Different enough from 12 that you don't mind having both in the house at the same time. As always with ED, very cheap and a great value.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

El Dorado has recently become one of my favorite brands of rum. Thus far each and every one I have tried has been a winner. This one is no exception. Albeit not as smooth as it's older brothers, this rum is outstanding for the price. About $20 for a bottle in this region. Somewhat smooth with a bit of a spicy bite. Flavors of vanilla, caramel, butterscotch, and oak with also some spiciness (minor tongue-tingler). An all-purpose rum worth seeking out.

126d7bd362319a880588f045177a537f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jelle from Netherlands with 9 ratings

Got this for a good price and was very curious how it compares to the 12 year. This one has a relatively sharp nose, just like its older brother. Somehow I just don't really like the nose on the El Dorados.

Upon tasting the rum I noticed that there is quite a bit of initial sharpness, which makes way for an oaky flavour combined with caramel. It's definitely not as smooth as the 12 year, but it has some nice warmth. There is a moderately long aftertaste, where the oaky flavour has the upper hand.

I think this is a good rum for when you just want a simple glass to relax with after work. A good "daily driver" if you will.

edit: After some contemplation it's more of a mixing rum for me. It makes for a damn fine Cuba Libre, so I use it for that.

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Guyana
Aroma: Vůně docela v pohodě. Kakao, lehce zatuchlé dřevo, bujón, závan medoviny a medové nasládlosti, je i trochu větrová. (84 b)
Chuť: Chutí jsem docela zklamaný. Takový základ, obyčejný čokoládově vanilkovo dřevitý rum, nic moc bohatého, spíš fádní, nudný, s nahořkle dřevitou dochutí, která celkový dojem sráží ještě níž, než chuť samotná. Tím nechci říct, že by to byla nepitelná břečka, ale je to na opravdu velmi nenáročné popíjení, možná bude lepší spíš do míchaných drinků nebo do cukroví nebo tiramisu. (78 b)
Shrnutí: Šel jsem do něj s tím, že se mi dostane nějaké odlehčené verze El dorada 12 yo, ale ten rozdíl je zejména v chuti mnohem víc propastný, než jsem si představoval. Přitom rozdíl mezi 8 yo a 12 yo jsem čekal, řekněme, jen o třetinu slabší. V Maneu byl za 465 korun, takže jsem neprovařil moc, ale za trochu víc bych už měl v akci Pampero Anniversario nebo Barcelo Imperial, a to je setsakra velký kvalitativní rozdíl. Kdybych dal pětikilo na charitu, udělal bych líp.
Body: 81

0a08c06dc86c13314f772c8ae0e22400.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by IceBear from Germany with 22 ratings

The 8-year El Dorado is probably the best value for the money for an everyday El Dorado. 5-year is just too hard and not that tasty while the 12-year might be too pricey for everyday consumption.

Yes, there really are worlds between this and the 12-year but if it doesn't have to be superb, the 8-year old is a good straight up rum.

A5ee0d909520bbda04c9aa2f41f90179.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

My fav went from the 12, to the 21 and then the 15. As I've moved away for the high sugar rums, I have realized that the 8 is the right one for me with it's comparatively lower sugar numbers.This is a very good mixer and a good sipper. Much smoother than the 5yo too. Updated to an 8+

edited to add sugar test results- 8-15g

3cd30a1ee0c14d6cfcee2c39ed58bd6f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 351 ratings

Sattes, helles Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase entfalten sich Düfte von Holz, Vanille, Karamell und Früchten.
Im Gaumen sehr angenehm und nicht so süss wie 12 yo oder 15 yo, Karamell, Holz, Sahnebonbon....
Im Abgang ein langes fruchtiges Karamellaroma.
Ein guter Demerara für Einsteiger und für Entdecker dieser Machart. Für Fortgeschrittene leider zu wenig "Tiefgang".

Rich, bright amber in the glass.
In the nose, scents of wood, vanilla, caramel and fruits unfold.
Very pleasant on the palate and not as sweet as 12 yo or 15 yo, caramel, wood, creamy sweet ....
In the finish a long fruity caramel aroma.
A good demerara for beginners and explorers of this style. For advanced unfortunately too little "hearty"

7447dd42610645ea043806e4152c29f0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Vin from United States with 14 ratings

Id say this is a pretty good all rounder. For the price, it's not amazing at any one thing, but it does OK with everything. You can sip this quite easily.. it won't be a luxurious sip, but it's definitely sip-able. It will mix well with sodas and other drinks too, it may not be the ideal mixer for that specific mix, but it will work.

It's a bit sweet, vanillas, and dried fruit but not too saturated, a bit of bite and burn. It's fair all around.

37888dc4222fcd1104aab5e202358377.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

I love both sweet and dry rums and have been searching for a rum that has a good balance of the two. El Dorado 8 is the closest thing I've found so far and I'm impressed with the quality and great value of this rum. It has a lot of the same flavors as the 15 year but without being too sweet and syrupy, then it's got some tobacco and tea like flavors of its own. It's excellent try it! Update: great value rum that has the classic funk of what I now understand as Demerara style, much like Pusser's blue label. I think this is better than Pusser's as it seems smoother with great buttery toffee flavor. Update 3: still good, a little less smooth than I recall. Excelllent mixed w ginger ale.

D2db8d351bf1a1fd95e11ee313625624.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Remy from Netherlands with 42 ratings

This relatively cheap bottle blew my mind, one of the better rums i have tasted. I am definitely going to buy the 12y and 15y now. Paid €17,50 for it in the Netherlands, can't buy it everywhere. 8/10