Posting your rating...
El Dorado 8-Year rum

El Dorado 8-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 8-year is a medium-bodied premium rum which has been recently added to the El Dorado portfolio. Distilled from fermented molasses, it is a nice option between the heavier 12-year and lighter 5-year counterparts.

6.9/10 (201 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
16
40
85
45
7
3

Rate El Dorado 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


201 El Dorado 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Light mahogany color. The nose is very sweet, on caramel, coffee, butterscotch. Alcohol is present, not well integrated. In the mouth, it is pastry but very flat and short. a rum to discover the world of rum

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rob from Canada with 17 ratings

Huge fan of El Dorado, the 12 year being my go-to sipper. Just tried the 8 and it's also excellent. Not quite as sweet as the 12, and a little more burn, but for the price it's a steal and I will be buying this one again. A great rum to keep on hand!
Edit: I'm on my second bottle now, it's really growing on me. Fantastic value, ($4 more than bargain barrel bottles), I think this will be my new go to over ED12. Highly recommended, I drink neat and it's awesome. Huge fan of El Dorado.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 63 ratings

Nose: traditional el dorado, chocolate, dark sweet molasses, toffee
Taste: chocolate, toffee, hint of smoke, vanilla and baking spice, not as cloyingly sweet as the 12 yo which is a great thing
Finish: semi sweet sugary smoothiness with a perfect amount of oak, ends with dark chocolate. Not as smooth as the 12 yo but that is a good thing since the 12 yo is syrupy smooth because the added boatload of sugar. This 8 yo has just the right amount of kick and spiciness.
Overall: I like this rum quite a lot, it has most of the good qualities of the 12 yo except the excess sugar, this still has some sugar im sure but not too much like the 12 yo.
Mixability is slightly better in the 12 yo since its bit heavier in profile but overall I would still pick this rum over the 12 yo (price is also lower).

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

Smooth caramel and molasses aroma, sweetness and alcohol. Hints of smoky character. Sweetness upfront but dries through the middle and in the finish. Warming alcohol as well but not harsh or medicinal. Nice warmth and light fruity character as well as a bit of smoky character. Molasses and toffee. Nice medium body, warming and smooth. This is a nice surprise for an 8 year. According to some sources about 8 g/l of added sugar so nowhere near the 12 year. Nice rum flavor. Easy sipper and will be nice in cocktails. Good value in my book. If you don't like it bone dry or overly sweet this is a good choice. A solid 7+ in my book.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

Again this is one of the rums I didn't mark as the first entry in my 2nd passport. that is on of the issues with tasting rums in one of the best rum clubs is sometimes you don't remember to do things. i will have to go back and rate it again.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kair from Canada with 17 ratings

Same at the 5 years. A little sweeter. The molasses flavor starts to come through. Still the alcool burn. Go for the 12 or 15 if you wanna sip it. Better yet. Kirk and sweeney !

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Not a bad rum in itself at all but overshadowed by the 12/15/21.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Miny.666 from Slovenia with 18 ratings

At first it has quite a sharp alcohol so it needs to sit for a while to develop the taste and aroma. Afterwards it has a nice wooden aroma, quite sweet but you can still sense the alcohol strength in it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by philipws from Sweden with 5 ratings

Probobly the best budget rum from what i have tasted and in my opinion. This rum has a good complexity for the price, nothing special yet more complex than what i would expect for the price.

Notes i get from this rum are: molasses, vanilla, oak(barrel), dark fruits and a tiny hint of spice.

This is a must try rum after you have tried the el dorado 12

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

I think, this is one of the good rum in the El Dorado series.
Of couse, 12 years and 15years are tasty rum, however, this 8years have different nice taste.
Suger cane, brown suger flover is stronger than old brothers.
For me, this is as good as 15 years.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by SickBoy82 from United States with 23 ratings

I snagged a bottle of this as it was only $3 more than the 5 year, and it was noticeably better, though not extremely so. A solid cocktail/everyday rum.