Posting your rating...
El Dorado 8-Year rum

El Dorado 8-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 8-year is a medium-bodied premium rum which has been recently added to the El Dorado portfolio. Distilled from fermented molasses, it is a nice option between the heavier 12-year and lighter 5-year counterparts.

6.9/10 (197 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
15
39
86
42
7
3

Rate El Dorado 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


197 El Dorado 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by LucMichaud from Canada with 20 ratings

Le rhum eldorado 8 ans est bon et goûte le bon demerara mais pour quelque sous de plus le 12 ans est a mon avis meilleur.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Kair from Canada with 17 ratings

Same at the 5 years. A little sweeter. The molasses flavor starts to come through. Still the alcool burn. Go for the 12 or 15 if you wanna sip it. Better yet. Kirk and sweeney !

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Not a bad rum in itself at all but overshadowed by the 12/15/21.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Miny.666 from Slovenia with 18 ratings

At first it has quite a sharp alcohol so it needs to sit for a while to develop the taste and aroma. Afterwards it has a nice wooden aroma, quite sweet but you can still sense the alcohol strength in it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by philipws from Sweden with 5 ratings

Probobly the best budget rum from what i have tasted and in my opinion. This rum has a good complexity for the price, nothing special yet more complex than what i would expect for the price.

Notes i get from this rum are: molasses, vanilla, oak(barrel), dark fruits and a tiny hint of spice.

This is a must try rum after you have tried the el dorado 12

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 140 ratings

I think, this is one of the good rum in the El Dorado series.
Of couse, 12 years and 15years are tasty rum, however, this 8years have different nice taste.
Suger cane, brown suger flover is stronger than old brothers.
For me, this is as good as 15 years.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by SickBoy82 from United States with 23 ratings

I snagged a bottle of this as it was only $3 more than the 5 year, and it was noticeably better, though not extremely so. A solid cocktail/everyday rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 37 ratings

Solid rum. Nice on its own, but it’s probably worth dropping a few quid more to get the 12 or 15 if that’s what you’re after. A with ice kind of rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jd from France with 41 ratings

Un rhum à l'excellent rapport qualité prix.
Se rapproche d'un rhum agricole antillais

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jpotocki from Hungary with 26 ratings

I love drinking this rum on the rocks. It has a delightful taste and has so much of the fruity complexity of the 12 and 15 but simply not that sweet. It is a great day to day sipper because of the hearty flavour and the friendly price. Obviously it is fantastic in mixed drinks as well, particularly fond of it in a Rum Manhattan with Lillet Rose and orange bitters.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Adam from Poland with 91 ratings

Jak za tę cenę na prawdę poprawny rum. Fajny ciemnawy kolor. Lekko słodki, troszkę ostry, czuć melasę, lekko wyczuwalna kawa... trzeba docenić cena/jakość.