Posting your rating...
El Dorado 8-Year rum

El Dorado 8-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 8-year is a medium-bodied premium rum which has been recently added to the El Dorado portfolio. Distilled from fermented molasses, it is a nice option between the heavier 12-year and lighter 5-year counterparts.

6.9/10 (201 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
16
40
85
45
7
3

Rate El Dorado 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


201 El Dorado 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Light mahogany color. The nose is very sweet, on caramel, coffee, butterscotch. Alcohol is present, not well integrated. In the mouth, it is pastry but very flat and short. a rum to discover the world of rum

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Olivier27 from Canada with 18 ratings

I enjoyed this rum for mixing. Less sugar than the original El Dorado Original Dark.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by jfmurcia from Colombia with 60 ratings

Had it with ice: it is not as sweet and it has a higher alcohol taste than the 12yr and 15yr (haven’t tried the 21 and 25 yet), but I did not find it strong. Toffee and spicy notes dominate. Mild and oaky finish. A lot of alcohol in nose. I am thinking that it could be a great mixer (and an ok sipper).

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Cedar, banana leaf, raisin with lifting toasts nuance, caramel whirling on with some feint in the form of floral, herbal liqueur and botanical. Get nutty, rubbery as it breath with velvet creaminess. (86/20)

P- Much the same as the aroma, crisp, more sour fruits, citrus peel emerged with fullness even at diluted strength. This stuff could be amazing at cask strength. (86/20)

F- Medium-long, dry, clean, highly sippable with lingering citrus, well nurtured by fine oak, earthy and pleasant. (87/21)

B/B- 86/20

Weighted Rate - 81pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Myran from Sweden with 31 ratings

Tydlige händer allt sista fyra åren om man jämför med Eldorado 12 som är toppen och inom 10 i topp, denna hamnar inte i närheten. Dåligt försök till att skapa en blandrom. Mycket besviken då man jämför med andra som är 8 och tror att de ska finnas någon likhet med Eldorado 12 eller 15.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Daskeryna from United States with 5 ratings

I don't have a lot of rum tasting experience, but this is a bottle I'll savor.

Nose: not quite as much an olfactory joy as I remember Brugal 1888, nor as full of delightful funkiness as the agricole overproof rums I've tried. I wouldn't hold this, unzipped for pleasure the way I would with some other rums.

Taste: every bit as enjoyable as my reference, Brugal 1888. Lots of flavor, nice depth.

Aftertaste: linger nicely, but not as many notes as the agricoles I've had. Those are probably an unfair comparison, though.

Alcohol: very smooth. Not much heat, really delightful for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by KaemonAwa from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

At first, I was rather dissapointed by the bottle, but after having a few sips, I was intrigued enough to empty the bottle with several friends over night. Honestly, the taste is quite smooth but not sweet as is the case with many rums, but still delivers a very distinct rum flavour, with vanilla oak and maybe hints of tobacco hitting my palate. It lacks greater some depth, but as it is, this 8-year rum doesn't really need it and given the age and the price, to me this is as good as it gets. Really very close to perfect in the category, as it is a quality sipping experience and tastes great in cocktails (Tried a few basic ones, including Daiquiri, A rum old fashioned, Mojito and Mary Pickford, although they all call for a white rum)

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

Surprised, like this better than the 12. Not the best nose but could pass as a shot, not quite a sipper as it is a little tough on the back of the tongue. As a mixer this was a nice find with a full body, not too sweet but not real dry. Think this was a very nice blending rum too, I look forward to trying it as this becomes a stocking rum for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Skegga from Sweden with 29 ratings

Have to use it for drinks. Try to drink it bare one time and what was no pleasure

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jamesshaffer (PREMIUM) from United States with 24 ratings

This is a great starter rum if you're exploring aged rums for the first time, like me. It's not super expensive and provides a great, aged flavor. As always, I prefer my rum over ice with a healthy splash of Coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by fitnesscoach from United States with 2 ratings

At the price point, it is very hard to justify another even at $10 or 15 more. Smooth vanilla, toffee, and caramel notes. Great ED after work sipper. Makes a mean top shelf daquari too.