Posting your rating...
El Dorado 8-Year rum

El Dorado 8-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 8-year is a medium-bodied premium rum which has been recently added to the El Dorado portfolio. Distilled from fermented molasses, it is a nice option between the heavier 12-year and lighter 5-year counterparts.

6.9/10 (201 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
16
40
85
45
7
3

Rate El Dorado 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


201 El Dorado 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Light mahogany color. The nose is very sweet, on caramel, coffee, butterscotch. Alcohol is present, not well integrated. In the mouth, it is pastry but very flat and short. a rum to discover the world of rum

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

This rum is tasty. Pleasuring taste, nice warmth, beautiful amber-brown colour and delicious smell. This one almost drink itself. Not so distinctive as 12yo, but it's rather complementary to it than being it's weaker brother.
It have usual taste palette for middle-aged rums, nothing distinctive, but all well balanced and sugarcoated with some kind of delicious molasses sweetness. For this, it's one of my favourite benefit-cost rums here.
Well, isn't the rating here beautiful? I generally like this one, and rate (in it's category its well above average rum) by seven (and a 3/4). Other fella rather dislikes this one and regrets his 18 EUR purchase, all that for rating 7...

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 73 ratings

Even though this El Dorado is good enough as a sipper, I think where it really shines is as a mixer and is the primary one I always use when mixing drinks. Also, unlike some of the other ED's this one doesn't have much added sugar so if you're making Tiki drinks you don't have to worry about them becoming overly sweet. At this price point really the perfect rum!

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 447 ratings

This is a decent rum, but it's not as smooth as the El Dorado 12 (this is a bit harsher).

Smells and tastes of molasses, honey, spice, tobacco, with a light touch of oak. Pretty good, but if you want a sipping rum, I recommend paying just a bit more for the 12.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Jeffrey Levi Palmer from United States with 10 ratings

not so excited about this rum. go with the 12... the more sophisticated and handsome cousin.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Preben from Denmark with 15 ratings

Forholdsvis billig. God smag. Lad den få luft 5 min. Det vinder den på.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This 8yo rum is pretty smooth until the finish, which is a bit boozy. Smoky burned butter and leather predominate. I prefer it straight up, followed by an ED 12 chaser to remind me that age matters. I wouldn't mix the 12, but this 8 might likely make good cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by David from Germany with 74 ratings

The El Dorado 8 Years is considerably spicier than it's 12 year counterpart but equally sweet. It feels lighter and less smooth.

In my opinion this a superb very well tasting mixing rum. I would give it a rather high 6/10 score as a straight up sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 51 ratings

Flavour profile resembles 12 year but this is much more dry.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Decent demerara´s younger brother of El Dorado 12. Sweet, smooth, drinkable.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 241 ratings

The nose is characteristicly Guyanese, which is a very positive thing in my book. It fills your nostrils with oily leather, barrel, tobaco, sweet molasse and a hint of citrus. Love it. The medium bodied palette is smooth and lovely with notes of leather, light liqourice, molasse and a bit of oak. I find that this rum places itself very neatly between the 5 and 12 year old siblings. It feels like an uncomplicated ED 12. Easily enjoyed as a sipping rum, and a monster in cocktails like daiquiri and dark n' stormy. (7,5)