Posting your rating...
El Dorado 8-Year rum

El Dorado 8-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 8-year is a medium-bodied premium rum which has been recently added to the El Dorado portfolio. Distilled from fermented molasses, it is a nice option between the heavier 12-year and lighter 5-year counterparts.

6.9/10 (197 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
15
39
86
42
7
3

Rate El Dorado 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


197 El Dorado 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by LucMichaud from Canada with 20 ratings

Le rhum eldorado 8 ans est bon et goûte le bon demerara mais pour quelque sous de plus le 12 ans est a mon avis meilleur.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Russ from United States with 71 ratings

Even though this El Dorado is good enough as a sipper, I think where it really shines is as a mixer and is the primary one I always use when mixing drinks. Also, unlike some of the other ED's this one doesn't have much added sugar so if you're making Tiki drinks you don't have to worry about them becoming overly sweet. At this price point really the perfect rum!

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This is a decent rum, but it's not as smooth as the El Dorado 12 (this is a bit harsher).

Smells and tastes of molasses, honey, spice, tobacco, with a light touch of oak. Pretty good, but if you want a sipping rum, I recommend paying just a bit more for the 12.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Jeffrey Levi Palmer from United States with 10 ratings

not so excited about this rum. go with the 12... the more sophisticated and handsome cousin.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Preben from Denmark with 15 ratings

Forholdsvis billig. God smag. Lad den få luft 5 min. Det vinder den på.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This 8yo rum is pretty smooth until the finish, which is a bit boozy. Smoky burned butter and leather predominate. I prefer it straight up, followed by an ED 12 chaser to remind me that age matters. I wouldn't mix the 12, but this 8 might likely make good cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by David from Germany with 74 ratings

The El Dorado 8 Years is considerably spicier than it's 12 year counterpart but equally sweet. It feels lighter and less smooth.

In my opinion this a superb very well tasting mixing rum. I would give it a rather high 6/10 score as a straight up sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 49 ratings

Flavour profile resembles 12 year but this is much more dry.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Decent demerara´s younger brother of El Dorado 12. Sweet, smooth, drinkable.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 239 ratings

The nose is characteristicly Guyanese, which is a very positive thing in my book. It fills your nostrils with oily leather, barrel, tobaco, sweet molasse and a hint of citrus. Love it. The medium bodied palette is smooth and lovely with notes of leather, light liqourice, molasse and a bit of oak. I find that this rum places itself very neatly between the 5 and 12 year old siblings. It feels like an uncomplicated ED 12. Easily enjoyed as a sipping rum, and a monster in cocktails like daiquiri and dark n' stormy. (7,5)

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

I have not found any figures on added sugar for this one, I suspect there is some though minimal compared to its older brethren. This has become my favorite in the lineup.

Edit : This one has around 15 grams/ltr of added sugar, which is a fair amount but only 1/3 as much as the 12 yr and half as much as the 15 - neither of which will I buy any more. Why should I when I could pay $15 for this and add some sugar, resulting in pretty much the same flavor profile?