Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Botucal Reserva Exclusiva rum

Rate Diplomatico Botucal Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


97 Diplomatico Botucal Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

Delicate flavour lovely chocolate taste afterwards amazingly sweet on the rocks to mix with any mixer would be sacrilege. THis is a genuine favourite.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jan from Germany with 1 rating

This is my favorite rum. And the best thing is his price :)

Posted over 1 year ago by Duke22 from Germany with 1 rating

Als Einsteiger für mich bisher der beste Rum den ich probiert habe, unglaublich mild. Faszinierender Geschmack nach Toffee, oder auch dunkler Schokolade.
Einfach klasse.

Posted over 1 year ago by kmpiast from Poland with 41 ratings

It is one of those rums that you definitly want to go back and drink it again. I bought this botlle and I am sure I will repeat this purchace someday. Great rich taste, fruits and some wodden flavour, one of better rums I have tasted, as for flaws it is litlle bit too sweet in my opninion.

Final verdict: Maybe some day I will give it another shot

Posted over 1 year ago by kleinloud from Germany with 5 ratings

Very good classic taste. Chocolate and vanilla, but smokey. Probably the best for this price.

Posted over 1 year ago by AS2018 from Germany with 1 rating

Honig, Vanille, Weich, warm, süß, Mandel/Karamell, Trop. Früchte, Schoko, orange

Posted over 1 year ago by scoot555 from United States with 21 ratings

Hey this is what rum is supposed to taste like. Tremendous flavor all the richness you would expect. Buy this, drink this. One of my favs.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Tried the Botucal Reserva Exclusiva while vacationing in Caracas last year and it is very close to my favorite Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva, but the taste and flavor are a bit stronger on the Botucal. Maybe the local taste requires a bit stronger flavor profile than the import version. Very strong 9 rating nevertheless.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 9
10/100 Color of this rum 9
15/100 Nose test 12
20/100 Palate test 17
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 13
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 3
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 78

Here's my top 30 list:
1. Ron Tres Loco de Vinos from Vinoble Skanderborg
2. Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength
3. Legendario Gran Reserva 15y
4. Cubaney Centenario 25-30y
5. Companero Panama
6. Ron Esclavo XO
7. Ron Millonario XO and 15y
8. Plantation Barbados XO 20th Anniversary
9. El Dorado 25y
10. Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva and Single Vintage
11. Presidente Marti 23y and 19y
12. Cubaney 18y
13. Pusser's 15y
14. Black Tot
15. El Pasador de Oro XO
16. Bavaro Black Ultra Premium
17. Punta Cana Esplendido
18. Edmundo Dantes 15y
19. Pampero Aniversario
20. Bacoo 12y
21. Ron Esclavo 15y and 12y
22. El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva
23. Brugal Leyenda
24. Exquisito 1990 and 1995
25. Koloa Kaua'i Coconut
26. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize
27. Unhiq XO
28. Ron Hero 21y Solera
29. Punta Cana XOX
30. Ron Cartavio XO

Posted over 3 years ago by Celia Miner from United States with 30 ratings

Smooth and aromatic without the alcohol bite or astringency.

Posted 10 days ago by Cjbspender from Germany with 32 ratings

Smooth, great balance, sweet but finishing with potential for more sips...

Posted 16 days ago by Devilpig from Denmark with 1 rating

Chocolate and vanilla, what’s not to like :) one of my favorites!

Posted 22 days ago by tomson (PREMIUM) from Germany with 3 ratings

Until now, my favorite rum. Tastes mild, chocolate and fruits. Balanced sweet.

Posted about 1 month ago by Tom Vlaic from Croatia with 6 ratings

I prefer sweeter rums over dry ones but this is just too much for me.

This botucal feels like an already sweet rum received a hefty dose of sugar as well.

Too sweet, way too sweet.

Posted about 2 months ago by Jaydee01 from Germany with 25 ratings

Mein persönlicher Einstieg in die Rum Welt dank Botucal. Tolles Vanillearoma.

Posted 3 months ago by Martin Wicke from Germany with 17 ratings

Definitely a good rum but it has a smoky taste in it which I am generally not very fond of.

Posted 4 months ago by Philinarium from Russian Federation with 22 ratings

Аромат очень насыщенный приятный, мягкий, но простоватый - фрукты, дерево, немного шоколада, спиртяги мало. Вкус - благородный, яркий и очень мягкий. Доминирует карамель, присутствует слива и, опять же, немного шоколада и дерева. Спиртяги чуть-чуть и она не портит великолепный вкус, а лишь добавляет пикантности. Очень долгое карамельное послевкусие, которое не хочется ничем перебивать.

Aroma is rich and pleasant, mild, but a bit simple: fruits, wood, some chocolate and a bit of spirit harshness. Taste is noble, saturated and very smooth. Flavour is dominated by caramel with plum and again some chocolate and wood. Spirit roughness is low and it only adds a zesty note to this wonderful taste. Aftertaste is long and filled with caramel - so good that you don't want to break it in any way.

Posted 4 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

taste light, fruity, it si not so sweet, but there is something wrong with smell, i fell a bit of nafta.

anyway it is fair rum i fair price

big plus for design and quality of bottle

i recomand to buy even for that :)

Posted 5 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

A great rum, good standard in the rum world. It's sweet and pleasant.
It's not a typical natural rum, but if you are new to rum, try this one. Maybe it opens the door to the rum world for you.

Smell: It starts with caramel, dried fruit (plum), wood, some vanilla, sweetness, ripe banana.
Taste: sweetness, caramel, banana, burnt sugar, spice (all in good proportion).
That's what makes it so popular. A nice rum for sweet rum lovers. Price is also very good.

Sweetness: 3.5/5
Spice: 1.5/5
Fruit: 3/5
Mildness: 4/5

Posted 5 months ago by Jleveille from Canada with 17 ratings

Really love it, smooth as a baby’s bottom. I don’t pollute this one with pop!

Posted 5 months ago by Luca from Switzerland with 2 ratings

Rum you like to drink every day. Very nice flavor and sweet.

Posted 6 months ago by DerMassi from Germany with 20 ratings

In the field under 40€ one of the best, rich and complex, sweet and tasty.

Posted 6 months ago by Lutz536 from Germany with 9 ratings

One of my best rum - together withthe Flor de Cana 12

Posted 6 months ago by Mateusz from Poland with 2 ratings

Definitely have to try! It's my favourite rum at a reasonable price.
Fun fact - Botucal edition (in Poland) tastes better than its equivalent - Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva.

Posted 6 months ago by jancewicz from Poland with 27 ratings

I prefer more dry flavours but this one is definitely worth of trying. Sweet but sweetness doesn't kill it's complexity. There occur bittery flavous, leather, tobacco. Very nice and smooth sipper.