Posting your rating...
Diplomatico Botucal Reserva Exclusiva rum

Diplomatico Botucal Reserva Exclusiva

Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of | Aged

8.1/10 (107 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
5
15
43
33
7

Rate Diplomatico Botucal Reserva Exclusiva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


107 Diplomatico Botucal Reserva Exclusiva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

4e07efafde1a990729c211fda20874b5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by kleinloud from Germany with 5 ratings

Very good classic taste. Chocolate and vanilla, but smokey. Probably the best for this price.

102290e3e1b8ea00c338f759d07731fe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 days ago by klotte from Sweden with 1 rating

Hints of chocolate and vanilla. Very sweet, but a bit to short taste.

16b7efff47b4a14398da54f4f1ec6940.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 days ago by Richsor from Russian Federation with 4 ratings

My first deliberately selected rum. A bright taste that you want to savor and an amazing aftertaste

512ae95311169af091a5cf434b4c37f9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 days ago by Jon from United States with 4 ratings

This is my go to...good taste, smooth, good price. I want to try diplomatico ambassador to see if it tops this.

07cd014d917dd09a8565d0abb027e4b6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 14 days ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 18 ratings

Irgendwie kommt man am Botucal Reserva Exclusiva dann doch nicht vorbei. Für 30-40 Euro ist er ein günstiger Rum und in Deutschland fast überall zu kaufen. Vorweg kann ich sagen das ich den Hype nicht verstehe. Sehr negativ ist, dass der Rum stark gezuckert ist - 44g/l.

In der Nase ist der Rum fast nicht existent. Etwas süße und Rauchnoten welche durchaus ansprechend sind machen aber Hoffnung auf mehr. Am Gaumen enttäuscht der Botucal dann doch. Viel Süße von dem beigefügten Zucker zerstören für mich die Aromen welche der Rum anbieten will. Etwas Karamel, Toffee und Rauch habe ich wahr genommen. Das meiste ist durch Zucker erzeugte Süße. Der Abgang ist, wie auch sonst, süß mit einer leichten Alkohol Note. Der Rum ist nach kurzer Zeit verschwunden und über bleibt ein klebriger Geschmack und ein Film auf der Zunge der nicht wirklich Lust auf mehr macht.

Insgesamt ist der Rum einfach total überbewertet. Ich kann das nicht verstehen. Anscheinend ist für viele noch immer der hohe Grad an Süße entscheidend für einen guten Rum. Für das selbe Geld gibt es schon viele Rums die sehr viel mehr zu bieten haben. Mich hat er nur bestätigt das ich Rums mit Charakter und Aussagekraft suche und genießen möchte. Hier kann der Botucal gar nicht punkten. Auf einer Feier als Gast würde ich ihn nicht ablehnen, einem Besucher bei mir zu Hause aber auch nicht anbieten.

Somehow you can't get past the Botucal Reserva Exclusiva. For 30-40 euros it is a cheap rum and can be bought almost everywhere in Germany. First of all, I can say that I don't understand the hype. Very negative is that the rum is strongly sugared - 44g/l.

In the nose, the rum is almost non-existent. Some sweet and smokey notes which are quite appealing but give hope for more. On the palate, the botucal disappoints after all. A lot of sweetness from the added sugar destroyfor me the flavors that the rum wants to offer. I noticed some caramel, toffee and smoke. Most of it is sweetness produced by sugar. The finish is the same sweet with a light alcohol note. The rum disappeared after a short time and over remains a sticky taste and a film on the tongue that does not really make you want more.

Overall, the rum is totally overvalued. I cannot understand that. Apparently, for many, the high degree of sweetness is still crucial for a good rum. For the same money there are already many rums that have much more to offer. He just confirmed to me that I want to look for and enjoy rums with character and expressiveness. The Botucal can't score here. At party as a guest, I wouldn't say no, but I wouldn't drink it with a visitor at my home either. There are so many better Rums to choose from.

8d9d30be7e0a68898a3c7d75e8a0f87e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 28 days ago by Alejandro F. from Germany with 31 ratings

Mi favorito, suave, dulce, pero sin exagerar, toques de chocolate, vainilla, y madera

88744d4fba83b7a4faeb826176622c68.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Lamantaalcoll from United States with 10 ratings

for the price of this, you can't exept any better, i can't wait to try the others diplomaticos

356f2077a8de8f3686d2271fa95438dc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Don burink from Netherlands with 3 ratings

Very smooth taste, nice color lightly sweet and oaky very well balanced rum ;-)

286789712ed6411939e8708a1003ecba.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by SaMiJoMa from Germany with 9 ratings

A very mild rum with fine aromas of vanilla with the typical rum sweetness

F39ee976d10c7be75e111e973e9063e4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at Yip's Place 2 months ago by BraGoo99 from Belgium with 3 ratings

Sweet, fruity aroma, drinks very smoothly and tastes way better than a smoothie.

Deb5ec712710a54d01b740a837b2183d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Cjbspender from Germany with 33 ratings

Smooth, great balance, sweet but finishing with potential for more sips...