Posting your rating...
El Dorado 5-Year rum

The blend of El Dorado 5-Year rum's is distilled in a both column and wooden stills before maturing for five years in bourbon oak casks.

El Dorado 5-year rum is produced by Demerara Distillers Ltd. of Guyana. Sharing its name with the Demerara River, Demerara Distillers first started production in 1670.

Rate El Dorado 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


125 El Dorado 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

Strong caramel smell. Harsh taste with a simple finish. Nothing fancy. Good for cocktails. Sweet regular rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This has only a little bit of the good flavors and body which make ED 12 and 15 so enjoyable to so many fans. You'll taste the smoky sweetness which is common to El Dorado rums thanks to their practice of sugaring their products, but the flavors compete with an alcohol aftertaste that isn't very pleasant. This is not terrible rum, but there are so many better ones out there. Glad I tried it, but I won't ever be buying a second bottle.

Posted over 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 12 gpl. It's better than Bacardi Gold for mixing but it's not a sipping rum like the older brothers in the El Dorado line. At the Duty Free shop I was tasting it when a chap from Guyana told me it was Peasant Rum. Ouch, that is harsh! Similar taste profile as with the 12 but not as sweet or complex. Tastes of Oak, Vanilla, and Caramel and starts off with some heat but it passes quickly. I have enough mixing rums so I passed on it this time. Good value mixer.

Posted over 5 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

When buying rum from Guyana you expect that sweet dark molasses Demerara taste, which this just does not have.

Nose: Not much except alcohol.
Body: Non existent. A little harsh but nothing you wouldn't expect at this price point.
Taste: Little sweet at the start but very boring. Has almost the least amount of aftertaste of any rum I have reviewed.

If you want a rich Demerara at this price point then I would recommend Lemon Hart (also not affiliated) over this any day for any purpose.

Posted over 2 years ago by Stuart from Australia with 8 ratings

I have spent a lot of time in North Queensland and this rum took me straight back there! I can understand how some people would see it as harsh or unrefined, but it is these very qualities that have endeared to me. A sip of this rum takes me straight back to when I was a child and my parents would give us " me and my sisters" a piece of sugar cane to chew on while we were traveling the long distances of Queensland. The taste of this rum is so reminiscent of the smells that were eminating from the many sugar mills and refineries that we would drive past that it is a real emotional experience drinking it.
At the end of the day , it may be pure emotion, but I really enjoy this rum.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I tried this alongside some of the more aged El Dorado's (12, 15, and 21), and (no surprise) this was my least favorite. It's a fair step down from the 12 as it lacks in sweetness and complexity. The smell is weaker, and the taste is harsher.

Posted almost 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Im a big fan of the ED 12, and though the ED 5 does not come close to that level of quality, its very obvious that these rums are related. The Aromas are very much alike in character. The palate is also with the same robust demerara fingerprint. The ED 5 Has a medium melasse sweetness, that rolls off into a spicy and slightly edged oaky, tobaco finish. Only tried it neat so far, but i imagine that its robust and nice character would compliment a cocktail extremly well. Nice value

Posted about 2 years ago by Amauri from United States with 29 ratings

My firsyt incursion in Demerara rum. Ver good, smooth and really good to sip. one of my favorites rums.

Posted over 2 years ago by beetleguise from United States with 10 ratings

This is a fine rum, but doesnt quite have the demerara qualities you may be looking for. Not overly sweet, and fine in a cocktail. You could drink it neat, but it's not overly memorable. I recommend spending a few dollars more and getting the 8-year.

Posted over 3 years ago by Toast from United States with 39 ratings

Very smooth. Nice toffee flavor. Sweet but not overly done. Would recommend.

Posted over 3 years ago by David from United States with 11 ratings

From the outside it may seem uninspiring, but don't judge a book by its cover. It may be just aged for 5-years, but those were years well spent. This is a delectable choice for casual rum connoisseurs. It is a superb choice for young novices. And a distinguished choice for us Captains! El Dorado 5-year has a nice saffron goldeness that warms your heart right up. Smooth every drop. Down the hatch like a champ! Paraded with a mild sweetness with a faint note of silky vanilla-orange, and a quick rum punch that gently lingers... if only for a while longer. Enjoy! And Rum to ya!!

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum has a beautiful reddish tinge to it's amber colour, and with little/no alcohol smell it's very inviting. Even when mixed with cola, you can still immediately taste a little smokiness which provides some richness to the drink. This aged rum gives some nice depth to an easy-drinking smooth rum and cola. One of my favourites.

Posted about 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

This one comes in a little lower than the others in El Dorado's line, albeit a pretty good line to be in. Certainly a contender in it's price range, if not one of the best.

Posted over 5 years ago by Pielor from Canada with 25 ratings

I went to Antigua and they gave us this bottle at the resort we were. I did not expect much, but I was surprised by the taste of this rum. Ok, it is mostly great for mixing, but nevertheless, it is a good sipping rum too. I start with this one before having some better rums, to warm my throat and palate.

Posted over 5 years ago by Danb0y from Canada with 6 ratings

Nice rum for the pricetag (around 25 $ in Canada)
Very good for mixing, a bit harsh but can be sipped on ice.

Would certainly pick this rum over Captain Morgan / Bacardi Gold (same price)

Posted about 6 years ago by John from United States with 16 ratings

This rum is one of my favorites for under $20. It has a floral spiced flavor that is slightly sweet. Just right for sipping on ice on those hot summer nights in south Florida.

Posted about 6 years ago by Banana from Italy with 10 ratings

This RVM should be the cheap version of the family, but it is a very pleasant surprise! I didn't think a distillate so refined. There is a spicy smell and a mineral taste to try, for not to mention of the good price. Strongly suggested!

Posted over 6 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

This one will be a little dry for those who love rums such as Zaya, Zacapa and Diplomatico. Nicely robust Demeraran and one of the best buys in the $15 price range.

This one has a different blend of rums from the 8 and 12 yr and is closer to the 15 in terms of flavor profile, with substantially less added sugar (12 grams/ltr vs 30 for the 15 yr). Don't be fooled into thinking the aging is responsible for the smoothness of the 15 yr, who knows what percentage of the rum is actually 15 years old? (Only the blender).

Posted 2 days ago by Cerro from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

I was expecting more from this rum, ED has a reputation for sweet (sugared) rums that while somewhat muted are otherwise nice to drink. Oddly this has very little sweetness and that makes it rougher and harsher in the finish. I think the 8 year is probably the better value / mixer rum. This rum is decent, cheap but ultimately a little dull.

Posted 14 days ago by Jleveille from Canada with 17 ratings

Tried it on the rock, yikes, best enjoyed with a little lime and some other type of pollutant like ginger ale or coke.

Posted 19 days ago by Anbaksh from Canada with 2 ratings

with this year of ED its not something you sip that's for sure and also something if its there then maybe I will drink it as a mixed drink. BUT its a great rum for a summer rum punch!!!!

Posted 27 days ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 51 ratings

This may actually be my favourite El Dorado. I have enjoyed the 12 and the 8 year olds, and this one is lovely too. Toffee and caramel are the predominant flavours, with a very subtle rum flavour, and very smooth on the palette. Lovely stuff and great value for money.

Posted about 1 month ago by Jacek Bogucki from Poland with 8 ratings

I am not a huge fan of such taste - I would definitely recommend it to people who "like whisky, but don't like Rum" - but to them I usually recommend some of Plantation's . it is smooth this way. I'd say 6.5/10 (better with Cola).

Posted about 1 month ago by kheiligh (PREMIUM) from United States with 30 ratings

Somehow this is way sweeter even than Zaya... almost too sweet, but perfect for mixing where Demerara rum is called for. The older El Dorados are lower in sugar and have more complex flavors coming through, but the price + versatility of this make it a good addition to a tiki bar, if not the best for sipping (unless you really like marshmallow sweetness in your rum).

Posted 4 months ago by Andreasx from Canada with 24 ratings

A really strong smell of caramel that is delicious. Tried it neat. Stronger and more alcohol taste then the 3 year. A little bit of burn and heat with a long after-taste. Not a bad sipper, but nicer mixed.