Posting your rating...
El Dorado 5-Year rum

El Dorado 5-Year

Guyana | Gold

The blend of El Dorado 5-Year rum's is distilled in a both column and wooden stills before maturing for five years in bourbon oak casks.

El Dorado 5-year rum is produced by Demerara Distillers Ltd. of Guyana. Sharing its name with the Demerara River, Demerara Distillers first started production in 1670.

6.2/10 (127 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
19
49
31
14
3

Rate El Dorado 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


127 El Dorado 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Aee277faeabc8740a5d74e73e62e7b0a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Kevin Green from Canada with 6 ratings

this is a good house rum for mixing. I prefer a stronger taste .

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This has only a little bit of the good flavors and body which make ED 12 and 15 so enjoyable to so many fans. You'll taste the smoky sweetness which is common to El Dorado rums thanks to their practice of sugaring their products, but the flavors compete with an alcohol aftertaste that isn't very pleasant. This is not terrible rum, but there are so many better ones out there. Glad I tried it, but I won't ever be buying a second bottle.

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 191 ratings

Sugar: 12 gpl. It's better than Bacardi Gold for mixing but it's not a sipping rum like the older brothers in the El Dorado line. At the Duty Free shop I was tasting it when a chap from Guyana told me it was Peasant Rum. Ouch, that is harsh! Similar taste profile as with the 12 but not as sweet or complex. Tastes of Oak, Vanilla, and Caramel and starts off with some heat but it passes quickly. I have enough mixing rums so I passed on it this time. Good value mixer.

Bc216938f4fd16ea632366898103e92b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by Brendan S from Canada with 55 ratings

When buying rum from Guyana you expect that sweet dark molasses Demerara taste, which this just does not have.

Nose: Not much except alcohol.
Body: Non existent. A little harsh but nothing you wouldn't expect at this price point.
Taste: Little sweet at the start but very boring. Has almost the least amount of aftertaste of any rum I have reviewed.

If you want a rich Demerara at this price point then I would recommend Lemon Hart (also not affiliated) over this any day for any purpose.

6d0ac8f009548fee7ed7fe5e69217e69.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Stuart from Australia with 8 ratings

I have spent a lot of time in North Queensland and this rum took me straight back there! I can understand how some people would see it as harsh or unrefined, but it is these very qualities that have endeared to me. A sip of this rum takes me straight back to when I was a child and my parents would give us " me and my sisters" a piece of sugar cane to chew on while we were traveling the long distances of Queensland. The taste of this rum is so reminiscent of the smells that were eminating from the many sugar mills and refineries that we would drive past that it is a real emotional experience drinking it.
At the end of the day , it may be pure emotion, but I really enjoy this rum.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I tried this alongside some of the more aged El Dorado's (12, 15, and 21), and (no surprise) this was my least favorite. It's a fair step down from the 12 as it lacks in sweetness and complexity. The smell is weaker, and the taste is harsher.

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 232 ratings

Im a big fan of the ED 12, and though the ED 5 does not come close to that level of quality, its very obvious that these rums are related. The Aromas are very much alike in character. The palate is also with the same robust demerara fingerprint. The ED 5 Has a medium melasse sweetness, that rolls off into a spicy and slightly edged oaky, tobaco finish. Only tried it neat so far, but i imagine that its robust and nice character would compliment a cocktail extremly well. Nice value

0b027afc02e6f0da79e33c0f25f81e86.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Amauri from United States with 29 ratings

My firsyt incursion in Demerara rum. Ver good, smooth and really good to sip. one of my favorites rums.

4e77a4bf1b56d1563734c51bce198ad7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by beetleguise from United States with 10 ratings

This is a fine rum, but doesnt quite have the demerara qualities you may be looking for. Not overly sweet, and fine in a cocktail. You could drink it neat, but it's not overly memorable. I recommend spending a few dollars more and getting the 8-year.

5c26b984c205edfefc831cd90c78a140.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Toast from United States with 39 ratings

Very smooth. Nice toffee flavor. Sweet but not overly done. Would recommend.

36cd9dca36777d7b6e9b37817da07d59.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by David from United States with 11 ratings

From the outside it may seem uninspiring, but don't judge a book by its cover. It may be just aged for 5-years, but those were years well spent. This is a delectable choice for casual rum connoisseurs. It is a superb choice for young novices. And a distinguished choice for us Captains! El Dorado 5-year has a nice saffron goldeness that warms your heart right up. Smooth every drop. Down the hatch like a champ! Paraded with a mild sweetness with a faint note of silky vanilla-orange, and a quick rum punch that gently lingers... if only for a while longer. Enjoy! And Rum to ya!!