Posting your rating...
El Dorado 5-Year rum

El Dorado 5-Year

Guyana | Gold

The blend of El Dorado 5-Year rum's is distilled in a both column and wooden stills before maturing for five years in bourbon oak casks.

El Dorado 5-year rum is produced by Demerara Distillers Ltd. of Guyana. Sharing its name with the Demerara River, Demerara Distillers first started production in 1670.

6.2/10 (134 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
19
52
35
14
3

Rate El Dorado 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


134 El Dorado 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Andero from Estonia with 95 ratings

Vanilla, burnt sugar, some oak. Strange sweet rum, like a sugared one. Does not feel good straight but hammered a bottle away mainly with coke and lime nonetheless. Ok as a free gift, would not buy again.

Ffffff

Posted at Hale Pele over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Has some flavor, but could use more, Eldorado doesn't disappoint.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by m keating from United States with 32 ratings

So age does make a difference. But at this price not a all bad. you could sip it but let it air first. best to mix and enjoy

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by SickBoy82 from United States with 23 ratings

A well balanced Guyanese rum for around $20 a bottle. Makes a damn fine daiquiri too.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by dsrum from United States with 4 ratings

This rum is nothing special, the aroma is a bit off putting. Although it mixes well, the flavor and aftertaste are not great. Absolutely fine in a cocktail, but not worth drinking straight.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

A rum can be good or bad in the mouth of the taster, but it is almost worse, when a rum is boring. Unfortunately this is something, that can be said about this rum.

Nose: Oak, burned suger and caramel
Taste: A small hint of spiced wood mixed with caramel and burned sugar
Overall: This is just a boring rum. There is no character, and there is nothing else to say about it.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 96 ratings

Ikke noget sindsoprivende rom, mangler nok nogle år på bagen ift dens navnebrødre

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Capt. Rick from United States with 3 ratings

Unlike his older brothers, El Dorado 5 Yr is not a sippable rum. But is a very good rum to enhance your favorite mixed rum drink. Definitely would use this over and again for that purpose. And will say a lot better than most of its mass-marketed competitors.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by EmfiniGee from United States with 21 ratings

Don’t expect this to be a great sipping rum but El Dorado 5yr does deliver in countless cocktails!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Kubit from Czech Republic with 32 ratings

Mám vyzkoušeno El Dorado 12 a nyní i 5, rozdíl pozná i kojenec, tento rum je velmi podobný Pampero Especial, vůně i chuť, dokonce když je mám vedle sebe ve sklenkách a hraju si jakože kterej je jakej, tak si je celkem pletu. Pětku už si nekoupim.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 68 ratings

Not a terrible rum for the price. Also not an awful sipper.
Nose: butterscotch and alcohol
Taste: caramel, vanilla, and oak
Finish: slight alcohol burn
Not quite as good as it's older brothers, but good if you're in a bind.