Posting your rating...
El Dorado 5-Year rum

El Dorado 5-Year

Guyana | Gold

The blend of El Dorado 5-Year rum's is distilled in a both column and wooden stills before maturing for five years in bourbon oak casks.

El Dorado 5-year rum is produced by Demerara Distillers Ltd. of Guyana. Sharing its name with the Demerara River, Demerara Distillers first started production in 1670.

6.2/10 (139 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
7
19
54
37
14
3

Rate El Dorado 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


139 El Dorado 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by MMihran from Canada with 27 ratings

Just love every single ED bottles!

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by alazzaro from United States with 4 ratings

Had read that this was a good value rum and can't really disagree. Comes off smokey and you definitely get a taste of caramel which is nice but doesn't do enough to overcome the alcohol aftertaste. Definitely meant for mixing and nothing more.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Cerro from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

I was expecting more from this rum, ED has a reputation for sweet (sugared) rums that while somewhat muted are otherwise nice to drink. Oddly this has very little sweetness and that makes it rougher and harsher in the finish. I think the 8 year is probably the better value / mixer rum. This rum is decent, cheap but ultimately a little dull.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Jleveille from Canada with 17 ratings

Tried it on the rock, yikes, best enjoyed with a little lime and some other type of pollutant like ginger ale or coke.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Anbaksh from Canada with 2 ratings

with this year of ED its not something you sip that's for sure and also something if its there then maybe I will drink it as a mixed drink. BUT its a great rum for a summer rum punch!!!!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 64 ratings

This may actually be my favourite El Dorado. I have enjoyed the 12 and the 8 year olds, and this one is lovely too. Toffee and caramel are the predominant flavours, with a very subtle rum flavour, and very smooth on the palette. Lovely stuff and great value for money.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Jacek Bogucki from Poland with 9 ratings

I am not a huge fan of such taste - I would definitely recommend it to people who "like whisky, but don't like Rum" - but to them I usually recommend some of Plantation's . it is smooth this way. I'd say 6.5/10 (better with Cola).

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by kheiligh (PREMIUM) from United States with 41 ratings

Somehow this is way sweeter even than Zaya... almost too sweet, but perfect for mixing where Demerara rum is called for. The older El Dorados are lower in sugar and have more complex flavors coming through, but the price + versatility of this make it a good addition to a tiki bar, if not the best for sipping (unless you really like marshmallow sweetness in your rum).

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Andreasx from Canada with 25 ratings

A really strong smell of caramel that is delicious. Tried it neat. Stronger and more alcohol taste then the 3 year. A little bit of burn and heat with a long after-taste. Not a bad sipper, but nicer mixed.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 246 ratings

It's harsh, I couldn't enjoy the taste.
Noticed some caramel and vanilla. ElD 15 is a much better rum.
I think it could be ok for cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Sheff Ma Zi from Russian Federation with 13 ratings

Very strong alco aftertaste, that can't open the true horizons of demerara toffieness
Very good with cola, unusual and nice with ginger beer but common - this one is TOO expensive to mix it with sodas and try to imitate the joy