Posting your rating...
El Dorado 5-Year rum

The blend of El Dorado 5-Year rum's is distilled in a both column and wooden stills before maturing for five years in bourbon oak casks.

El Dorado 5-year rum is produced by Demerara Distillers Ltd. of Guyana. Sharing its name with the Demerara River, Demerara Distillers first started production in 1670.

Rate El Dorado 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


125 El Dorado 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

commentaire a venir

Posted over 3 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

A touch hot, but there is a bit of that El D nuance.
sugar test - 5g

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

If some one says they like rum and then say they like captain Morgan. Then start them with this it is good enough to show them something, but not waisted the good stuff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

Ranked 7.5 on my scale, but the bottles here are never half full. A nice aftertaste. Oak flavor but not as rich as the 12.

Posted over 3 years ago by Chippy from United States with 6 ratings

A solid mixing rum. However if given the choice I would opt for the 8

Posted over 3 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Very good, for a small price. Will enhance any cocktail if you replace your base rhum by this one.

Posted over 3 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

Strong caramel smell. Harsh taste with a simple finish. Nothing fancy. Good for cocktails. Sweet regular rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Kie humphreys from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

Smooth dark gold rum. Demerara flavours come through with a hint of vanilla. A pleasant lingering flavour. Lacks a depth of flavour at the back of the throat.

Posted over 3 years ago by tobyzitz from Netherlands with 2 ratings

Drinking this rum neat, is doable but in my opinion does not reflect the quality and taste of El Dorado. The complexity is resided and a bit boring.

But with Coca Cola this rum really shines! The subtle taste compliments the sweet taste of the cola and pair perfectly together. As mixer, this is my go-to rum!

Posted over 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

I was expecting a more of a sipping rum, but it's a little rough around the edges, and bet used as a mixer.

Posted over 3 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

Pas trop mal, mais juste en mix...................

Posted over 3 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

I am big fan of ED 12 and 15 years. There is no comparison to the other.

Posted over 3 years ago by Terencio from United States with 21 ratings

Your review – you could include things like color, aroma, body, taste, finish, spice, smoothness… really anything you want! You can also share an optional picture of the drink (or better still - you enjoying it!) by attaching a photo below.

Posted over 3 years ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

I'm a big fan of all of the ED line of rums even though I know some purist don't like how they add sugar. I somewhat agree with the purist on some of the more expensive rums but this one isn't overall sweet and is perfect for mixing cocktails. It's got a nice nose of caramel and a not overly sweet taste. The afterburn is a little stronger than its big brothers (12, 15, and 21) but that's to be expected. And even though its not my first choice for a sipper it's smooth enough as one as well. Considering how cheap this can be picked up this is a great rum to always have in your cabinet.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Blacky from Austria with 79 ratings

it was a very nice evening in the Salt Whistle Bay in Mayreau when i drunk them with my sailor friends Heli, Heinz and Erich :-)

Posted almost 4 years ago by Phil Northcott from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

excellent aroma just a little let down by the taste.....

Posted about 4 years ago by Vince from Canada with 57 ratings

À venir prochainement..............................

Posted about 4 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

To date this is the worst in my collection. There is no way I can enjoy this straight; and even as a mixer it is way to sweet. I would go with the 8 year old if your looking for a good El Dorado mixer

Posted about 4 years ago by Lukas from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

cheap rum replacing party rums such as cheap pseudo Czech rums

Posted about 4 years ago by Christian Boldt from Denmark with 21 ratings

Bestemt ikke den beste rom fra el dorado 12 og 15 er betydelig bedre. Men den er helt okay til prisen

Posted about 4 years ago by tim from United States with 57 ratings

Caramel and butterscotch notes with hint of coconut.

Posted over 4 years ago by jim burnds from United States with 29 ratings

For me, it's not quite a rum to sip. Maybe more aging than 5 years would improve it. $ 18 at the supermarket.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

As far as aged rums go this one's a baby but surprisingly smooth. The aroma in the bottle is quite nice. I can't put my finger on it but the aroma hints of sweetness but not a syrupy sweetness but a fruity sweetness. This is accentuated when smelled via a snifter.

The flavor is nice. Sweet but not cloyingly. Far from it. Seems the sweet is natural. Doesn't taste like there's added sugars. Has elements of butterscotch and vanilla and a little cinnamon. A little pepperiness, too. Not harsh at all but surprisingly smooth. I can see some enjoying this as a sipping rum while others use it in mixed drinks. Very versatile. A great rum for the price.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

An excellent mixer rum.... Mix with iron bru to give a unique cocktail... I

Posted over 4 years ago by craig72 from Canada with 42 ratings

A lot like the El~Dorado 8 in terms of body and texture, but just barely misses the mark of the quality of spiciness/oaky flavors that the 8 has, making the 8 more to my liking. But still, the El~Dorado 5 makes a quality mixer, so I'd have a hearty dose of this with some pineapple juice and 7-up and ice thrown in! Cheers!