Posting your rating...
El Dorado 5-Year rum

The blend of El Dorado 5-Year rum's is distilled in a both column and wooden stills before maturing for five years in bourbon oak casks.

El Dorado 5-year rum is produced by Demerara Distillers Ltd. of Guyana. Sharing its name with the Demerara River, Demerara Distillers first started production in 1670.

Rate El Dorado 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


124 El Dorado 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 6 years ago by John from United States with 16 ratings

This rum is one of my favorites for under $20. It has a floral spiced flavor that is slightly sweet. Just right for sipping on ice on those hot summer nights in south Florida.

Posted about 2 years ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

Nice and light on the rocks. Good value. Hint of Caramel I was thinking Kahlua. A decent rum but there is so little time. Won't be in my cabinet

Posted about 2 years ago by Tamara from Netherlands with 18 ratings

The rum has character, is smoky and a little sweet.
Has a nice burn.
Not less than the other El dorado rums.

Posted about 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

Recently purchased a bottle of El Dorado 5 yr rum, which is a bargain in my area. I am not an El Dorado fan as the majority of their product is too sweet for my liking. The El Dorado 5 yr, however, which tests at 12 gpl contains 1/3 of added sugar compared to their popular ED12 and ED15 so I thought I would give it a try.
My initial perception was that it is indeed a young rum, which lacks the complexity of aged rums, however, it is nevertheless a nice change and even acceptable as a sipper once in a while. The sweetness of this rum is detectable but not overpowering. I am not likely to purchase this rum again as there are too many dry rums I prefer but I enjoyed ED5 more than I thought I would.

Posted about 2 years ago by Matt Coast from Finland with 30 ratings

Quite easy to drink. I could say that this is a good first rhum to start tasting hobby.

Can be mixed or taken neat with ice. Not so sweet but I did like the notes of toffee and nutmeg.

Posted about 2 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

Nice rum, but not a touch on the 12 year and unfortunately there are better rums for the price. It tastes rather watered down straight, but retains a little character in cocktails where I think this one will certainly shine.

Posted about 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

Light Amber in colour. The nose is of burnt sugar and some oak. The taste has a light burn but the burnt caramel taste takes over to a moderate finish. It is an excellent mixer but also not too hard to sip.

Posted about 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

At only a couple of bucks cheaper than it's 8 year old big brother, I was hesitant to even buy this one. As expected, it is paler in color. The aroma is pure demerara sugar with no alcohol vapors. On the palate is demerara and caramel, with the same flavors going down the pipe with no bitterness. There is nothing complex in this pleasant tasting rum, but also nothing at all that is offensive. Since the El Dorado 8 is a much better buy, the only reason that I can see for someone having both in their cabinet is for subtle coloring and flavor differences in complex tiki drinks. This one was $20 and not really a bargain.

Posted about 2 years ago by JRR from Canada with 37 ratings

Ok rum drinkable straight or for mixing. Nothing much but have à great taste.

Posted about 2 years ago by Nielf from Denmark with 116 ratings

Den her er efter min mening ikke en rom, som gør sig som sipperom. Den er sikkert meget god i cocktails.

Posted over 2 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 129 ratings

Nose: overripe melon, wax, even sharp, not outstanding.
Palate: bitter, sweet, harsh. This rudeness seems appropriate. Masculinity. There is a feeling that this should be the true rum.
The digestion handles perfectly, and the head feels hot and fast intoxication. Further the taste seems watery. Does not produce severe post-effects.

Posted over 2 years ago by Frank from United States with 18 ratings

Nicely balanced...good in drinks and also isnt to bad to sip...only slightly sweet.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mike on PEI from Canada with 24 ratings

I was not really impressed with this rum so I tried a little experiment. After reading how added sugar 'ages' a rum, I boiled up some demerara and made a sugar syrup. It definitely works! Very nice aperitif that my wife really liked.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

El Dorado 5 year is a far cry from the much better 12 year. If you get a 5 year El Dorado, mix it with Coke or Ginger Ale, since it is vile as a neat sipper. Best memory is from the Demerara Distilleries between Georgetown and Cheddi Jagan Airport in Guyana when I visited their rum distillery and enjoyed their entire line up in its own surroundings.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 51 ratings

Some oak, astringency.

Very light and generic.

Its only competition is other bland mass marketed rums.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Vin from United States with 12 ratings

It's alright. I wouldn't sip this. Better off as a mixer. I really think this is like a slight down grade of the 8. Similar flavor and such, but less and more burn. It's also cheaper than the 8 by maybe 4-6 dollars.. so really.. just get the 8.

Posted almost 3 years ago by James from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Pay the extra, go for the 12 if drinking straight, this one finishes a bit too harshly to be rated any more. (Or add a splash of diet coke)

Posted almost 3 years ago by Louie from Canada with 77 ratings

Not for sipping little strong for the a good mix would do just fine

Posted almost 3 years ago by Grendelite from United States with 14 ratings

I have often used this in cocktails but it's not very fun to sip on. I prefer it to the 8 year as there is less woodiness to get in the way but would probably rather use something like the Plantation 5 Year Barbados in my drinks.

Posted about 3 years ago by Fredrik from Denmark with 50 ratings

This rum works, not as a sipper, but works decently in a cocktail.

Posted about 3 years ago by Bo from DK with 59 ratings

Ikke smagt. .

Posted over 3 years ago by declan walker from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Not good on its own. You'd do better to save your money and buy a nicer bottle for a bit more money. Cheaper mixers available.

Posted over 3 years ago by Philippe Roy from Canada with 32 ratings

I really like the bottle design and the color of the rum, nice display bottle in the bar. Perfect for guess who are use to rum and coke and want something else than a captain coke.

Posted over 3 years ago by caillan from Canada with 29 ratings

a good rum for cooking with or maybe mixing with dark pop

Posted over 3 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

A touch hot, but there is a bit of that El D nuance.
sugar test - 5g