Posting your rating...
El Dorado 5-Year rum

El Dorado 5-Year

Guyana | Gold

The blend of El Dorado 5-Year rum's is distilled in a both column and wooden stills before maturing for five years in bourbon oak casks.

El Dorado 5-year rum is produced by Demerara Distillers Ltd. of Guyana. Sharing its name with the Demerara River, Demerara Distillers first started production in 1670.

6.2/10 (134 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
19
52
35
14
3

Rate El Dorado 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


134 El Dorado 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Very good, for a small price. Will enhance any cocktail if you replace your base rhum by this one.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by FunkyZebra from United States with 8 ratings

I thought I'd like this a lot more since I like the other El Dorado offerings. It's got a nice nose but I found the taste to be just okay.
Color: Golden
Nose: I get tropical fruit and molasses
Taste: Caramel and fruit

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Supreme from Canada with 33 ratings

Defiantly a good mixing rum not for enjoying on the rocks !

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Komatus from Slovakia with 34 ratings

Nothing special, but quite drinkable for 5-year version. Would rather pay little more for 12-Years one.

Ffffff

Posted at TikiCat about 1 month ago by NinjaHippo from United States with 18 ratings

After greatly enjoying the 15yr and 12yr I decided to rate this 5yr and boy am I glad I did! This bottle now has a place on my shelf for mixing as I really like the smooth buttery, toffee, caramel flavors which are NOT subtle!

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Simon_W from Switzerland with 17 ratings

Sufficient aroma intensity, somewhat fruity, typical demerara rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by alazzaro from United States with 4 ratings

Had read that this was a good value rum and can't really disagree. Comes off smokey and you definitely get a taste of caramel which is nice but doesn't do enough to overcome the alcohol aftertaste. Definitely meant for mixing and nothing more.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Cerro from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

I was expecting more from this rum, ED has a reputation for sweet (sugared) rums that while somewhat muted are otherwise nice to drink. Oddly this has very little sweetness and that makes it rougher and harsher in the finish. I think the 8 year is probably the better value / mixer rum. This rum is decent, cheap but ultimately a little dull.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Jleveille from Canada with 17 ratings

Tried it on the rock, yikes, best enjoyed with a little lime and some other type of pollutant like ginger ale or coke.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Anbaksh from Canada with 2 ratings

with this year of ED its not something you sip that's for sure and also something if its there then maybe I will drink it as a mixed drink. BUT its a great rum for a summer rum punch!!!!

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 52 ratings

This may actually be my favourite El Dorado. I have enjoyed the 12 and the 8 year olds, and this one is lovely too. Toffee and caramel are the predominant flavours, with a very subtle rum flavour, and very smooth on the palette. Lovely stuff and great value for money.