Posting your rating...
El Dorado 5-Year rum

The blend of El Dorado 5-Year rum's is distilled in a both column and wooden stills before maturing for five years in bourbon oak casks.

El Dorado 5-year rum is produced by Demerara Distillers Ltd. of Guyana. Sharing its name with the Demerara River, Demerara Distillers first started production in 1670.

Rate El Dorado 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


125 El Dorado 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 6 years ago by John from United States with 16 ratings

This rum is one of my favorites for under $20. It has a floral spiced flavor that is slightly sweet. Just right for sipping on ice on those hot summer nights in south Florida.

Posted 5 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

It's harsh, I couldn't enjoy the taste.
Noticed some caramel and vanilla. ElD 15 is a much better rum.
I think it could be ok for cocktails.

Posted 5 months ago by Sheff Ma Zi from Russian Federation with 13 ratings

Very strong alco aftertaste, that can't open the true horizons of demerara toffieness
Very good with cola, unusual and nice with ginger beer but common - this one is TOO expensive to mix it with sodas and try to imitate the joy

Posted 5 months ago by FaithMonax from Canada with 13 ratings

Decent, but I would rather go with the 12-years for the difference in taste.

Posted 7 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

This is just a No! Has nothing that satisfies my taste buds!

Posted 8 months ago by Leo K from Canada with 51 ratings

Its flavor is not terrible, but overall its rather harsh straight and even on ice. I don't mix rum but perhaps that is what this is primarily for.

Posted 9 months ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Presents of wood that always a welcoming signs, nutty, grassy with mineral. Chocolate milk and some caramel underlay. Sort of cafe mocha and kahlua. Soft, gentle and harmless, like a stroll in the woods with comfort earthiness. (85/19)

P- Coffee, kahlua on rocks, bitter chocolate, nutty with trace of sourness. Not much going on, remains gentle and soft. (82/17)

F- Short, relaxing and laid back, sourish caramel with vanilla sweetness from the oak. Nothing to wow but you will not mind sipping this, quite clean actually (83/18)

B/B- 84/18

Weighted Rate - 72pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted 11 months ago by Kair from Canada with 17 ratings

Don't sip it. Mix it ! Best in a mix. For sipping go for the 12 years at least !!

Posted at Hale Pele 11 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Has some flavor, but could use more, Eldorado doesn't disappoint.

Posted about 1 year ago by m keating from United States with 31 ratings

So age does make a difference. But at this price not a all bad. you could sip it but let it air first. best to mix and enjoy

Posted about 1 year ago by SickBoy82 from United States with 23 ratings

A well balanced Guyanese rum for around $20 a bottle. Makes a damn fine daiquiri too.

Posted about 1 year ago by dsrum from United States with 4 ratings

This rum is nothing special, the aroma is a bit off putting. Although it mixes well, the flavor and aftertaste are not great. Absolutely fine in a cocktail, but not worth drinking straight.

Posted about 1 year ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 135 ratings

A rum can be good or bad in the mouth of the taster, but it is almost worse, when a rum is boring. Unfortunately this is something, that can be said about this rum.

Nose: Oak, burned suger and caramel
Taste: A small hint of spiced wood mixed with caramel and burned sugar
Overall: This is just a boring rum. There is no character, and there is nothing else to say about it.

Posted about 1 year ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 86 ratings

Ikke noget sindsoprivende rom, mangler nok nogle år på bagen ift dens navnebrødre

Posted about 1 year ago by Capt. Rick from United States with 3 ratings

Unlike his older brothers, El Dorado 5 Yr is not a sippable rum. But is a very good rum to enhance your favorite mixed rum drink. Definitely would use this over and again for that purpose. And will say a lot better than most of its mass-marketed competitors.

Posted about 1 year ago by EmfiniGee from United States with 21 ratings

Don’t expect this to be a great sipping rum but El Dorado 5yr does deliver in countless cocktails!

Posted over 1 year ago by Kubit from Czech Republic with 32 ratings

Mám vyzkoušeno El Dorado 12 a nyní i 5, rozdíl pozná i kojenec, tento rum je velmi podobný Pampero Especial, vůně i chuť, dokonce když je mám vedle sebe ve sklenkách a hraju si jakože kterej je jakej, tak si je celkem pletu. Pětku už si nekoupim.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 67 ratings

Not a terrible rum for the price. Also not an awful sipper.
Nose: butterscotch and alcohol
Taste: caramel, vanilla, and oak
Finish: slight alcohol burn
Not quite as good as it's older brothers, but good if you're in a bind.

Posted over 1 year ago by Andero from Estonia with 63 ratings

Vanilla, burnt sugar, some oak. Strange sweet rum, like a sugared one. Does not feel good straight but hammered a bottle away mainly with coke and lime nonetheless. Ok as a free gift, would not buy again.

Posted over 1 year ago by Blobbo from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

This is E Dorado 5 year old: my 2nd favourite rum (afterAngostura 1919) - smooth, warming, with a bit of a kick.

Posted over 1 year ago by Rumpirate from Canada with 3 ratings

That dumb grab when you just want some rum.
Cheap. Cheerful. Well decent.

Posted over 1 year ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Weak body, strong alcohol taste, short aftertaste. Only for mixing. Save you money for 12y or 15y

Posted almost 2 years ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 95 ratings

K pivu je to výrazný parťák, není to na vychtnávání, ale pít se bez problémů dá. Hezkých 7. Kdo nechce riskovat, přeskočte 5tku, 8čku a jděte rovnou po 12y, která je v poměru ceny a požitku za 9b. Speciale 15y mně nepřesvědčil, asi by to chtělo mít víc času si ho vychutnat a poznat.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Glenn from United States with 20 ratings

Found a bottle for around $20, heard a lot or rave about Demerara rums, I've had Hamilton 151 but wanted to try a normal proof. Upon first taste I was expecting something special but found the this to be very familiar. Reached in my cabinet pulled out Pusser's, nope Pusser's has a darker taste. Next I tried Doorly's XO, yeah that's the one. Very similar.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

This one took me by surprise, certainly not as sweet as I expected, in fact I found it quite dry.
Good colour, legs that cling to the snifter, and warms you all the way down.
For the price I can't think of many that would best it.
Not tried it with any mixer, to be honest I don't think I will, just sip it neat and enjoy it.
Enjoy, Graham.