Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra rum

Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Guatemala | Aged

7.4/10 (118 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
6
10
35
44
18
3

Rate Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


118 Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 220 ratings

This is a great Zacapa. Much better than the 23. It's more matured, more intensive and heavier.
It's between the old Zacapas and the XO. It's not as balanced as XO, but it's very intensive .
The taste is like a sweetened Ron Botran 1893 because of the mandarine. There also the typical Zacapa herbs. It's a good edition, I like it very much.

Smell: oak, caramel, date, mandarine, some herbs, dry fruits (plum), some smoke
Taste: caramel, barrel/wood, dry fruits, tropical fruits, some herbs
Finish: spice, date, wood and some smoke

Sweetness: 3/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruits: 3/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Value (47€): 4/5
Experience level: professional

My top 10 Zacapas:
Aniversario 30
Zacapa XO
Edition Negra
Royal (too expensive)
Limitada 2019
Zacapa 23

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Jose Segura from Germany with 20 ratings

Compared to "Zacapa Etiquette negra" I the Edition Negra is more smoky and spicy .
this rum is also very harmonious and has the typical Zacapa caramel flavors .

Im Vergleich zum Etiqueta negra empfinde ich den Edition Negra rauchiger und auch würziger.
Auch dieser Rum ist sehr harmonisch und hat die typischen Zacapa Karamell-Aromen.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Don from Canada with 142 ratings

Aromas of toffee, cinnamon and smokey oak; the palate boasts flavours of apple pie, vanilla bean and citrus; medium-bodied and a light burn with a moderate finish. $110 at LCBO is overpriced.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

A good smooth rum. It is very similar to the original with extra char and ash on the finish. I prefer the regular 23 solera. This rum is an 8 but i down graded it to a 7 because of the price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 322 ratings

Nice smell and taste full of chocolate and smoke. Very complex with long aftertaste. Much better than Zacapa 23y but still under Zacapa XO.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike Flaherty from Ireland with 6 ratings

Lots going on here, great sipper. Really like it. Much better than the regular 23 Solera

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Daniel from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

This has all the good stuff from the 23 with more on top. More alcohol burn but so much more complexity. Smokey, oaky and delicious. The flavours stay in your mouth and develop for ages. Let it sit in the glass for a few minutes for optimum enjoyment.

Ffffff

Posted 17 days ago by Jason from United States with 70 ratings

Rich caramel color, sweet nose, smoky and sweet flavor. This rum has a bit of a bite at the end and a lingering flavor, but solid flavor profile. Probably best served neat or on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted 23 days ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 58 ratings

While the Zacapa solera 23 I find to be amazing, the negra is just too overpowered with smokey flavour and over priced. I'm going to be sticking to the solera 23.

Ffffff

Posted 24 days ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 126 ratings

Smell is ok
Taste is ok
Aftertaste bit smoke
Not my type of rum

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by James from United States with 20 ratings

Great aroma with a smooth, lingering taste that doesn’t disappoint. A bit sweet at the onset which keeps this from being rated higher but the flavors come through in the end. Dark color helps to make this a total package of sight, smell, and taste. Another great edition to my collection.