Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra rum

Rate Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


106 Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Purchased a sample from Master of Malt.

Lovely sipping rum from Zacapa. Bags of coffee and cacao on the nose. The same in the mouth with hints of spice and oak.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jose Segura from Germany with 20 ratings

Compared to "Zacapa Etiquette negra" I the Edition Negra is more smoky and spicy .
this rum is also very harmonious and has the typical Zacapa caramel flavors .

Im Vergleich zum Etiqueta negra empfinde ich den Edition Negra rauchiger und auch würziger.
Auch dieser Rum ist sehr harmonisch und hat die typischen Zacapa Karamell-Aromen.

Posted over 2 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

A good smooth rum. It is very similar to the original with extra char and ash on the finish. I prefer the regular 23 solera. This rum is an 8 but i down graded it to a 7 because of the price.

Posted over 2 years ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Nice smell and taste full of chocolate and smoke. Very complex with long aftertaste. Much better than Zacapa 23y but still under Zacapa XO.

Posted about 3 years ago by Mike Flaherty from Ireland with 6 ratings

Lots going on here, great sipper. Really like it. Much better than the regular 23 Solera

Posted over 3 years ago by Daniel from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

This has all the good stuff from the 23 with more on top. More alcohol burn but so much more complexity. Smokey, oaky and delicious. The flavours stay in your mouth and develop for ages. Let it sit in the glass for a few minutes for optimum enjoyment.

Posted 12 months ago by James from United States with 20 ratings

Great aroma with a smooth, lingering taste that doesn’t disappoint. A bit sweet at the onset which keeps this from being rated higher but the flavors come through in the end. Dark color helps to make this a total package of sight, smell, and taste. Another great edition to my collection.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Bryan from United States with 1 rating

Wow what a flavor profile it definitely has those chocolate notes I have come to expect from Zacapa and hints of cinnamon any smother and you would be drinking water this is some Great stuff my new favorite go to

No rum collection should be without this one again Wow

Posted almost 3 years ago by nealc from United States with 2 ratings

I haven't tried the 23, but my understanding is that this is similar but aged in 2 different heavily smoked barrels. It has a very complex set of flavors and aromas, and when I first tried it, I didn't like it much and I even thought it had some kind of a smoked tomato-y hint which I thought was offputting. However as I've tried it more over the past few weeks, I have found many interesting nuances, and the initial impression has given way to a real appreciation. It is a different rum from any I've tried, and that took some time to get used to. Now I look forward to it, it has a beautiful precise sweetness, a flare of smoke, easily and nicely balanced.

Posted about 3 years ago by paaf from Czech Republic with 49 ratings

There is nothing really special in this rum, it is bit stronger then Zacapa 23.

Posted about 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar:est 18-20 GPL. In terms of flavour and rating the Edicion Negra his sits right between the Solera 23 and the Zacapa XO. A dark sipping rum with a taste profile contains the well known Caramel, oak, and vanilla flavours associated with the Zacapa line of rums. The Edicion Negra kicks it up the taste with some smoke from the charred barrels it is aged in, plus there are strong traces of leather, tobacco,and spice. This rum is a bit lower in the sweetness factor. When I first tasted this, I thought wow, this is good, perhaps equal to the Zacapa XO. However an immediate taste test concluded that it's not as good as the XO. Still damned good and well worth having in your collection.

Posted about 3 years ago by Ken from United States with 2 ratings

I love the color, the smell and most importantly the taste. Fresh, smooth and smoky with just the right sweetness for my palette.

Posted about 3 years ago by hacogolf52 from Austria with 1 rating

Liegt angenehm in der Nase,Gaumenfüllend
Schoko, Vanille, Trockenfrüchte, Banane, Rosinen

Posted about 3 years ago by Chri$$ from Austria with 18 ratings

Ein recht typischer Zacapa, für Guatemala recht schwerer Rum mit einer klaren Süße, Schokolade und getrockneten Früchte als Hauptnote. Der Abgang wird von Vanille und einer leichten Phenolnote begleitet. Gut und gerne wieder.

Posted over 3 years ago by Ryan from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

Refined and delicious with a sweet after taste with smokey tones. I'm a massive fan of the 23 but this trumps it.
If you can find one buy it.

Posted 7 days ago by Willem from Netherlands with 8 ratings

Find it a bit sharp, spicy, but that fades away. Aftertaste is very light and it fades away, but a nice drink.

Posted 16 days ago by SveinMagnus from Norway with 21 ratings

The Zacapa Edicion Negra is a darker and more full flavour version of the original Zacapa 23 Solera. It has the same spiced treacle-flavour, but it is more intense and full bodied while being less intense at the same time, which makes it feel more balanced and enjoyable.
It is neck and neck however, so either one is a perfect drinking companion.

Posted 18 days ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

I had this at Rumba in Seattle as at the time you couldn’t get it here in Canada. I have a bottle now. It’s very good as good or better than the 23 but has that charcoal hint to it.

Posted 21 days ago by locorican68 from United States with 24 ratings

If you like the regular expression of Zacapa Solera 23, this edition will also hit you in the right places. Not as sweet as the regular 23, but very smooth and tasteful. A must in your collection.

Posted about 1 month ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

This is a great Zacapa. Much better than the 23. It's more matured, more intensive and heavier.
It's not like XO, but it's between the old Zacapas and the XO. It's not as balanced as XO, but it's very intensive.
The taste is like a sweetened Ron Botran 1893 because of the mandarine. There also the typical Zacapa herbs. It's a good limited edition.

Smell: oak, caramel, date, mandarine, some herbs, dry fruits (plum), some smoke
Taste: caramel, barrel/wood, dry fruits, tropical fruits, some herbs
Finish: spice, date, wood and some smoke

Sweetness: 3/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruits: 3/5
Mildness: 3.5/5

My top 10 Zacapas:
Aniversario 30
Zacapa XO
Edition Negra
Royal
Limitada 2019
Zacapa 23

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

Très beau rhum de dégustation, pour ceux qui aime le goût fumé, ils vont beaucoup l'apprécier.

Posted 2 months ago by zapatero from Spain with 3 ratings

This Zacapa Edición Negra is more balanced than the Zacapa 23. Less sweet! Although stronger in alcohol percentage, you hardly taste that.

Posted 3 months ago by Andreasx from Canada with 24 ratings

it has a pleasant nose that hints of a little sweetness but has some bite. Taste is strong and smooth with a little tangy bite but not very sweet. Not much heat, but the tangy bite stay quite long in the aftertaste and has just a little heat that builds really late after swallowing. Late in the aftertaste I'm getting a little bit of fruity taste after a long fade. Tried this one neat. After the initial 2 tastes, the nose became even more pleasant and a little sweeter. Letting it sit a little longer allowed it to be dryer with a more complex flavor and heat that my palette is unable to define.

Posted 4 months ago by Per71 from Sweden with 35 ratings

A typical Zacapa, but with smokey notes.
A great choice for the whisky fans out there...

Posted 4 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 81 ratings

this one is really near to the Zacapa 23, with slightly different notes of flavor i like it