Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra rum

Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Guatemala | Aged

7.5/10 (113 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
6
9
31
44
18
3

Rate Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


113 Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Daniel Lindén from Sweden with 60 ratings

Förväntningar på denna var låg inför första gången jag provade den. Men oj så fel jag hade. Många som gillar whisky sägs gilla den här och jag är inte en whiskyfantast därav de låga förväntningarna. Men rökigheten som denna bjuder på är så perfekt och lagom att den placeras sig bland royalen. Royalen är dyrare absolut, och är bättre men denna får också en 9a pga att man får 3 av denna för priset av 1 royal.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Jose Segura from Germany with 20 ratings

Compared to "Zacapa Etiquette negra" I the Edition Negra is more smoky and spicy .
this rum is also very harmonious and has the typical Zacapa caramel flavors .

Im Vergleich zum Etiqueta negra empfinde ich den Edition Negra rauchiger und auch würziger.
Auch dieser Rum ist sehr harmonisch und hat die typischen Zacapa Karamell-Aromen.

Ffffff

Posted 16 days ago by Don from Canada with 141 ratings

Aromas of toffee, cinnamon and smokey oak; the palate boasts flavours of apple pie, vanilla bean and citrus; medium-bodied and a light burn with a moderate finish. $110 at LCBO is overpriced.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

A good smooth rum. It is very similar to the original with extra char and ash on the finish. I prefer the regular 23 solera. This rum is an 8 but i down graded it to a 7 because of the price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 309 ratings

Nice smell and taste full of chocolate and smoke. Very complex with long aftertaste. Much better than Zacapa 23y but still under Zacapa XO.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mike Flaherty from Ireland with 6 ratings

Lots going on here, great sipper. Really like it. Much better than the regular 23 Solera

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Daniel from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

This has all the good stuff from the 23 with more on top. More alcohol burn but so much more complexity. Smokey, oaky and delicious. The flavours stay in your mouth and develop for ages. Let it sit in the glass for a few minutes for optimum enjoyment.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by James from United States with 20 ratings

Great aroma with a smooth, lingering taste that doesn’t disappoint. A bit sweet at the onset which keeps this from being rated higher but the flavors come through in the end. Dark color helps to make this a total package of sight, smell, and taste. Another great edition to my collection.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

I tried the Ron Zacapa Edicion Negra back to back with the much better 23y Solera aged Zacapa and I was expecting a deeper taste profile and more intense flavors than the 23 year Solera aged Zacapa, but the Zacapa Negra version is actually much more smokier than I expected. I would imagine the Negra version will appeal to whisky fans, but I'm an advocate for proper aged dark rums with deep flavors, not whisky imitations. Struggles to even make a 7 rating.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Bryan from United States with 1 rating

Wow what a flavor profile it definitely has those chocolate notes I have come to expect from Zacapa and hints of cinnamon any smother and you would be drinking water this is some Great stuff my new favorite go to

No rum collection should be without this one again Wow

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by nealc from United States with 2 ratings

I haven't tried the 23, but my understanding is that this is similar but aged in 2 different heavily smoked barrels. It has a very complex set of flavors and aromas, and when I first tried it, I didn't like it much and I even thought it had some kind of a smoked tomato-y hint which I thought was offputting. However as I've tried it more over the past few weeks, I have found many interesting nuances, and the initial impression has given way to a real appreciation. It is a different rum from any I've tried, and that took some time to get used to. Now I look forward to it, it has a beautiful precise sweetness, a flare of smoke, easily and nicely balanced.